

Texas Department of State Health Services

Office of Border Public Health

Task Force of Border Health Officials

Statutorily mandated	Jurisdiction	Role/voting status	Public Health
(Alphabetical order by last name)	(County/City)	56665	Region
Richard Chamberlain, DrPH Director of the Health Department	City of Laredo	voting member	11
Esmeralda Guajardo, MAHS Health Administrator	Cameron County	voting member	11
Cynthia A. Gutiérrez, MD Director of Public Health	City of Pharr	voting member	11
Shannon Harvill Director of Environmental Health	City of Harlingen	voting member	11
Steven M. Kotsatos, RS Director of Health	City of Mission	voting member	11
Hector Ocaranza, MD, MPH, FAAP Interim Director of Public Health	City of El Paso	Vice-Chair/voting member	9/10
Eduardo Olivarez Chief Administrative Officer Health and Human Services	Hidalgo County	voting member	11
Arturo Rodriguez, DNP, MPH, CPM Director of Health, Wellness and Animal Services	City of Brownsville	Chair/voting member	11
Nancy P. Treviño Director Health and Code Compliance	City of McAllen	voting member	11
Ex-officio Appointees			
Vacant	Lieutenant Governor	non-voting member	
State Representative Bobby Guerra	Speaker of the House	non-voting member	
DSHS Appointees			
Emily Prot, DO, MPH	PHR 11 RMD	voting member	11
Lillian Ringsdorf, MD, MPH	PHR 8 RMD	voting member	8
Vacant	PHR 9/10 RMD	voting member	9/10

Contact Texas Department of State Health Services for more information. Office of Border Public Health: OBPH@dshs.texas.gov or 512-865-7380

Texas Department of State Health Services

Office of Border Public Health (Updated 5/14/2024)