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Texas Board of Orthotics & Prosthetics

ACQUIRING LICENSURE AS A UNIQUELY QUALIFIED PERSON


The following information is provided to help persons applying for licensure as an orthotist, prosthetist, or prosthetist/orthotist under the “uniquely qualified” pathway. This information should help applicants prepare their application materials, reduce the number of deficient or incomplete applications, and reduce the number of disapproved applications.

To understand the meaning of “uniquely qualified person” an applicant should completely review the Board rules.  Specifically, §821.2. Definitions, §821.15. Acquiring Licensure as a Uniquely Qualified Person, §821.17. Licensing by Examination, and §821.31. Standards, Guidelines, and Procedures for a Professional Clinical Residency. 

The Texas Board of Orthotics and Prosthetics (Board) is looking for education, training, and experience when reviewing applications. The Board has only approved an applicant if the person possessed distinctive qualities or characteristics that are unparalleled or unequaled. 

A “uniquely qualified person” should be “as qualified” to perform prosthetic or orthotic care as a person who qualifies for a license under the following traditional requirements set out in §821.17 of the Board rules:

· Bachelor’s degree in orthotics and prosthetics, 1900 hours of clinical residency in each discipline, and passing the Board’s written exam; or

· Bachelor’s degree in any subject, a certificate in orthotics and prosthetics from an accredited program, 1900 hours of clinical residency in each discipline, and passing the Board’s written exam.

In addition, the Board’s rules at §821.15 paragraph (b)(2) state that the applicant must have provided comprehensive orthotic or prosthetic care (see §821.2. Definitions).  The care must be equal to that required by the original section of the Orthotics and Prosthetics Act (Act) relating to licensing without examination, also referred to as the “grandparent” or “grandfather clause” which expired May 8, 1999, which was 180 days after the Board adopted its rules.  That section required a minimum of three years of comprehensive care experience in either orthotics or prosthetics, or six years of comprehensive orthotic and prosthetic experience at the practitioner level. Missing the May 1999 grandparent application deadline does not make an applicant “uniquely qualified.”

Below is a list of records that successful applicants have submitted to support their “unique qualifications.”  Please note that every item submitted must show the date that the record was created or completed.  Undated items and items which do not reflect the applicant’s name will not be considered.

· Official college transcripts.

· Certificates of completion from organized, planned, and approved programs in orthotics or prosthetics.

· Form DD-214, military duty documents.

· Employee evaluations and Job descriptions.

· Letters of recommendation from former supervisors and employers.

· Resumes listing all education, training, and experience in orthotics or prosthetics, showing beginning and ending dates.

· Certificates, evaluations, or other documents showing completion of a professional clinical residency of at least 1900 hours in orthotics or prosthetics.

· Certificates from a credentialing agency (ABC or BOC) that shows the applicant passed a credentialing exam in orthotics or prosthetics.

We hope this information is helpful to you.  If you have further questions or concerns, the Board office at  (512) 834-4520, or via e-mail at op@tdh.state.tx.us.
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