County Indigent Health Care Program - Basic Health Care Services

Basic and Optional Health Care Services


Counties must provide these basic health care services:

(1)  primary and preventative services designed to meet the needs of the community, including:

       (A)  immunizations;

       (B)  medical screening services;  and

       (C)  annual physical examinations;

(2)  inpatient and outpatient hospital services;

(3)  rural health clinics;

(4)  laboratory and X-ray services;

(5)  family planning services;

(6)  physician services;

(7)  payment for not more than three prescription drugs a month;  and

(8)  skilled nursing facility services, regardless of the patient's age.



A county may elect to provide these optional health care services:

(1)  ambulatory surgical center services;

(2)  diabetic and colostomy medical supplies and equipment;

(3)  durable medical equipment;

(4)  home and community health care services;

(5)  social work services;

(6)  psychological counseling services;

(7)  services provided by physician assistants, nurse practitioners, certified nurse midwives, clinical nurse specialists, and certified registered nurse anesthetists;

(8)  dental care;

(9)  vision care, including eyeglasses;

(10)  services provided by federally qualified health centers, as defined by 42 U.S.C. Section 1396d(l)(2)(B);

(11)  emergency medical services;

(12)  physical and occupational therapy services; and

(13)  any other appropriate health care service identified by department rule that may be determined to be cost-effective.


Last updated March 23, 2016