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Dear Applicant: 
 
Enclosed is an application packet for registration as a Code Enforcement Officer or a Code Enforcement Officer-In-Training.  Included in 

this packet you will find a copy of the Code Enforcement Officer Act, and a copy of the DSHS Rules.  Read the Code Enforcement 
Officer Act and the rules before filling out this application. Please complete the enclosed application and return it with the required 

non-refundable application (includes initial license) fee.   GUARANTEED FUNDS ONLY  
(Certified Check, Cashier’s Check or Money Order) Checks from state agencies, municipalities, counties or other   political 
subdivisions of the state are also acceptable.  NO PERSONAL CHECKS. 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS APPLICATION 
 
-Be sure to answer all questions. 

-If you are applying for Code Enforcement Officer, you must complete Forms A,B,C. 

-If you are applying for Code Enforcement Officer in Training, you must complete Forms A,B,C,D. 
-You must attach a recent photo to the designated area on the application.  No cutouts.  Place your signature on the back of the photo. 
  Minimum photo size is 1 ½” x 1 ½”.  
- Attach $57 (Code Enforcement Officer in Training - 1 year) or $111 (Code Enforcement Officer - 2 years) to the upper left hand corner 
of this application.  The fee must be in the form of a money order or guaranteed funds (see above).  

-Attach a notarized copy of your G.E.D, high school diploma, college degree, or transcript.  Notarized copies are exact copies of      
unaltered original documents notarized by a notary public.  Only notarized copies will be accepted. 
-If you have completed the Basic Code Enforcement Officer training offered by Texas A&M University, attach a notarized copy of       
your TEEX Certificate.  If not, please be aware that you will need to send a notarized copy of your certificate once you have            
completed the course before your registration will be issued. 
 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION 
 
Once DSHS has received your completed Code Enforcement Officer Registration application, we will review your file to 
determine that you are eligible to test.  Upon approval, DSHS will then send you an examination admission letter along with 
detailed information on the examination and scheduling procedures, including how to pay the $50 examination fee to Promissor. 

You must present this admission letter to the examination proctors on the day of the examination.  YOU WILL NOT BE ADMITTED 
TO THE EXAMINATION WITHOUT PRIOR APPROVAL FROM DSHS. For further information on the Code Enforcement 
Officer Registration Program, and copies of forms, please visit our website at http://www.tdh.state.tx.us/hcqs/plc/ceo.htm 
 

Please Note: You may not schedule your examination with Promissor until your DSHS application has been approved and an 
examination letter has been issued. 
 

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you.  You are 
entitled to receive and review the information upon request.  You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information 
that is determined to be incorrect.  See http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/ for more information on Privacy Notification. (Reference: 
Government Code, Section 552.021, 552.023, 559.003 and 559.004) 


