
 
 
 

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 
 

Mail Code 1982 
PO Box 149347 

Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
(512) 834-6658 

 
APPLICATION INFORMATION 

 
  
READ THE FOLLOWING CAREFULLY.  IF YOUR APPLICATION IS COMPLETED DIFFERENTLY THAN 
REQUIRED OR NOT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THESE INSTRUCTIONS, THE PROCESSING WILL BE DELAYED. 
PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION ON THE FORM.  DO NOT USE PENCIL.  ALL FORMS MUST HAVE 
ORIGINAL SIGNATURES. 

 
DO I  NEED TO BE LICENSED? 
Anyone providing counseling services in Texas in accordance with the definition of the practice of counseling in the 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 503 must 

(a)  hold a license as a professional counselor; 
(b) hold a temporary license to provide counseling services in Texas in pursuit of post-graduate supervised 

  experience hours; or 
(c) hold a provisional license based on endorsement, to provide counseling services in Texas in pursuit of 

meeting Texas requirements for licensure, or 
(d) provide the counseling services in an exempt setting as listed in Section 3 of the Act (enclosed). 

 
ANYONE PURSUING POST-GRADUATE SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE MUST OBTAIN A TEMPORARY 
LICENSE TO ACCUMULATE THOSE HOURS. 

 All applicants must complete the entire Application for Licensure.  Do not leave any questions or sections blank.  
Put "N/A" if a particular item is not applicable. 

 All applications materials must be submitted as a single packet.  Incomplete application packets will be returned 
without review. 

 ALL applicants MUST have submitted the Application for Licensure form.  
 ALL FEES MUST BE PAID BY, PERSONAL CHECK, MONEY ORDER, ON-LINE PAYMENT OR 

CASHIER' S CHECK made payable to the Licensed Professional Counselor Board.  DO NOT SEND CASH 
BY MAIL. 

 
PERSONS APPLYING FOR A TEMPORARY LICENSE MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING: 

(a) Application For Licensure - must be completely filled out and signed by applicant. 
(b) $200 application and license fee - must be a personal check, money order, on-line or cashier' s check; 

do not send cash. 
(c) Practicum Documentation form - must be signed by professor who supervised practicum experience or 

a representative of the graduate department in which the practicum was done;  
(d) Supervisory Agreement form - must include signatures of supervisee and supervisor and be dated; 
(e) Official Graduate Transcript - must be sent directly from the university by mail or e-script or included 

with application in a sealed university envelope. 
(f) Exam scores from the National Board of Certified Counselors showing proof of passing the National 

Counselor Exam and proof of completing  the Texas Jurisprudence exam 
 
PERSONS WITH A TEMPORARY LICENSE APPLYING FOR A REGULAR LICENSE MUST SUBMIT THE 
FOLLOWING:   

 Supervised Experience Documentation form- must be completed and signed by approved 
supervisor. 

 



PERSONS APPLYING FOR A PROVISIONAL LICENSE (REFER TO BOARD RULE §681.112 REGARDING 
ENDORSEMENT) MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING: 

(a) Application For Licensure - must be completely filled out and signed by applicant; 
(b) $200 application and license fee - must be a personal check, money order or cashiers check; 
(c) Notarized or certified letter from state where applicant currently holds a license indicating that the 

license is current and whether or not disciplinary action has been taken or is currently pending against 
the license; 

(d) Certified copy of licensing file from state or territory where applicant currently holds licensure; 
(e)  Evidence that applicant has passed the National Counselor Exam and the Texas Jurisprudence exam  
(f)  Official Transcript from university showing a Masters degree or above. 

  
 
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I  APPLY? 
After your application is opened in the central office mailroom and forwarded to Department of State Health Services 
Fiscal Division - the cashier removes the check, money order or cashier' s check and makes a record of it.  Only forms 
and the record of your payment are forwarded to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors office 
for application processing.  Your application is assigned a file number and it is reviewed for completeness.  If more 
information or documentation is needed you will be notified in writing.  YOU MUST KEEP THE LPC BOARD 
NOTIFIED OF YOUR CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS AT ALL TIMES. This process could take up to four- six 
weeks. 
 
If the application is complete and you meet the eligibility requirements for licensure you will receive the type of licensure 
you qualified for, either temporary or regular. Please be aware, all examination fees and reservations for examination are 
made directly with the testing company. 
 
FEES: 
Application fee (includes temporary license) - $200 
Regular license fee (after completing all requirements if not paid with initial application) $106.00 
Application fee for license with art therapy designation - $230.00 
Application fee if all requirements were met from another state or reapplying for full licensure- $204.00   
 
 
 

Check list for License Professional Counselors application 
 
 
_________Application (either by mail or submitted on-line) 
 
_________ Fee 
 
_________ Official Transcript 
 
_________ Practicum/Internship form 
 
_________ Supervisor Agreement form 
 
_________ Copy of supervisor’s renewal card 
 
_________ Proof of passing the National Counselors Exam 
 
_________ Proof of completing the Texas Jurisprudence Exam 
 
 
 
PASSING THE NCE DOES NOT GUARANTEE LICENSURE WITH THE STATE OF TEXAS 
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