TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS

Mail Code 1982

PO Box 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

(512) 834-6658

APPLICATION INFORMATION

READ THE FOLLOWING CAREFULLY. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS COMPLETED DIFFERENTLY THAN
REQUIRED OR NOT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THESE INSTRUCTIONS, THE PROCESSING WILL BE DELAYED.
PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION ON THE FORM. DO NOT USE PENCIL. ALL FORMS MUST HAVE
ORIGINAL SIGNATURES.

DO INEED TO BE LICENSED?
ANYONE PROVIDING COUNSELING SERVICES IN TEXAS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE DIFINITION OF
THE PRACTICE OF COUNSELING IN THE TEXAS OCCUPAITONS CODE, CHAPTER 503 MUST:
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hold a license as a professional counselor;

hold a temporary license to provide counseling services in Texas in pursuit of post-graduate supervised
experience hours; or

hold a provisional license based on endorsement, to provide counseling services in Texas in pursuit of
meeting Texas requirements for licensure, or

provide the counseling services in an exempt setting as listed in Section 3 of the Act (enclosed).

ANYONE PURSUING POST-GRADUATE SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE MUST OBTAIN A TEMPORARY
LICENSE TO ACCUMULATE THOSE HOURS.

All applicants must complete the entire Application for Licensure. Do not leave any questions or sections blank.
Put "N/A" if a particular item is not applicable.

All applications materials must be submitted as a single packet. Incomplete application packets will be returned
without review.

If practicing in another state while holding the Texas LPC-Intern license you must submit a change of
supervisor/site change form for approval in advance

ALL applicants MUST have submitted the Application for Licensure form.

ALL FEES MUST BE PAID BY, PERSONAL CHECK. MONEY ORDER. OR CASHIER'S CHECK made
payable to the Licensed Professional Counselor Board. DO NOT SEND CASH BY MAIL.

PERSONS APPLYING FOR A TEMPORARY LICENSE MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING:
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Application For Licensure - must be completely filled out and signed by applicant.

$200 application and license fee - must be a personal check, money order, or cashier's check; do not send
cash.

Practicum Documentation form - must be signed by professor who supervised practicum experience or a
representative of the graduate department in which the practicum was done;

Supervisory Agreement form - must include signatures of supervisee and supervisor and be dated;
Official Graduate Transcript - must be sent directly from the university or included with application in a
sealed university envelope.

Exam scores from the National Board of Certified Counselors showing proof of passing the National
Counselor Exam and proof of completing the Texas Jurisprudence exam

PERSONS WITH A TEMPORARY LICENSE APPLYING FOR A REGULAR LICENSE MUST SUBMIT THE

FOLLOWING:

= Supervised Experience Documentation form- must be completed and signed by approved supervisor.




= Current Jurisprudence exam if previous exam is over 2 years old.

PERSONS APPLYING FOR A PROVISIONAL LICENSE (REFER TO BOARD RULE 8§681.112 REGARDING
ENDORSEMENT) MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING:
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Application For Licensure - must be completely filled out and signed by applicant;

$98 application and license fee - must be a personal check, money order or cashiers check;

Notarized or certified letter from state where applicant currently holds a license indicating that the license
is current and whether or not disciplinary action has been taken or is currently pending against the
license;

Certified copy of licensing file from state or territory where applicant currently holds licensure;
Evidence that applicant has passed the National Counselor Exam and the Texas Jurisprudence exam
Official Transcript from university showing a Masters degree or above.

If approved submit the $106.00 2 year licensure fee.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER | APPLY?

After your application is opened in the central office mailroom and forwarded to Department of State Health Services
Fiscal Division - the cashier removes the check, money order or cashier's check and makes a record of it. Only forms and
the record of your payment are forwarded to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors office for
application processing. Your application is assigned a file number and it is reviewed for completeness. If more
information or documentation is needed you will be notified in writing. YOU MUST KEEP THE LPC BOARD

NOTIFIED OF YOUR CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS AT ALL TIMES. This process could take up to four- six weeks.

If the application is complete and you meet the eligibility requirements for licensure you will receive the type of licensure
you qualified for, either temporary or regular. Please be aware, all examination fees and reservations for examination are
made directly with the testing company.

FEES:

Application fee (includes temporary license) - $200

Regular license fee (after completing all requirements) $106.00

Application fee for license with art therapy designation - $230.00

Application fee if all requirements were met from another state or reapplying for full licensure- $200.00

Check list for License Professional Counselors application

Application (either by mail or submitted on-lie)

Fee

Official Transcript

Practicum/Internship form

Supervisor Agreement form

Copy of supervisor’s renewal card

Proof of passing the National Counselors Exam

Proof of completing the Texas Jurisprudence Exam
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