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Proposed Preamble

The Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors (board) proposes amendments to §§681.2, 681.14, 681.15, 681.41, 681.46, 681.72, 681.81, 681.91, 681.93, 681.112, and 681.125, and new 681.172, concerning the licensing and regulation of professional counselors.

Government Code, §2001.039, requires that each state agency review and consider for readoption each rule adopted by that agency pursuant to the Government Code, Chapter 2001 (Administrative Procedure Act).  Sections §§681.2, 681.14, 681.15, 681.41, 681.46, 681.72, 681.81, 681.91, 681.93, 681.112, and 681.125 have been reviewed and the board has determined that the reasons for adopting the sections continue to exist in that rules concerning the licensing and regulation of professional counselors are still needed; however, the rules will be amended and proposed with revisions as described in this preamble. The proposed revisions ensure that the rules reflect current legal, policy, and operational considerations; improve draftsmanship; and make the rules more accessible, understandable, and usable, to the extent possible. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The definition of “art therapy intern” in §681.2(5) is deleted for clarity as an LPC-Intern cannot hold the art therapy designation.  Paragraphs (6) - (14) of the section are renumbered to reflect the deletion of paragraph (5).

Section 681.14(a)(1) is amended to collect a fee of $90 for application, and  intern license, and a fee for $100 for a two-year initial license which replaced the $95 fee which included the $90 application fee plus the $5 Texas Online fee.  This is not an increase in fees because the fees are being collected up front instead of the rest at the time the license is upgraded to full licensure.  Subsection (a)(2) is deleted as obsolete concerning examination fees as determined by the board, as the fee has not been assessed by the board since 2005.  Subsection (a)(3) is deleted as obsolete, as the temporary license extension fee has not been collected in a number of years and required renumbering of the remaining paragraphs of the subsection.  The deletion of subsection (c) will align the section with §681.15 concerning the reimbursement of licensing fees.  

Section 681.15(b) - (d) is deleted as some fees might be refunded, depending on the circumstance.

Section 681.41(aa) is added to require a licensee to obtain a copy of the divorce decree and current custody agreement before counseling a minor and subsection (bb) is renumbered accordingly. 

Section 681.46(c) is amended to add a time limit on when an address or name change must be received in the board office. 

Section 681.72(d) is amended to show that the supervisor is responsible for submitting the supervisor agreement form for any new site or intern change. New subsection (e) further clarifies supervision hour approval and these results in renumbering of subsections (f) and (g).

Section 681.81(g) is added to limit the time between earning a degree and application must occur unless applying by reciprocity from another state.

Section 681.91 is amended to remove references to supervised experience gained prior to 1994 in subsection (b); subsection (k) restates the requirement for the supervisor to submit the supervisor agreement form to the board office for changes or additional supervisee’s or sites; and subsection (l) is amended to restate that a new supervisor agreement form must be submitted for each new supervisor or site before supervision begins.  Subsection (m) is renumbered due to the addition of the new subsections (k) and (l).

Section 681.93(c)(1) is amended to limit the number of years a supervision course is accepted prior to application of the supervisor status.  Subsection (d) is amended to require the supervisor to maintain a more detailed log of supervision.

Section 681.112 is amended for clarity regarding the required exams for licensure.

Section 681.125(e) is amended to include the ethics requirement for licensee’s returning to active status; subsection (g) is amended to require a new supervision course for LPC-Supervisors who have gone on inactive status for more than two years; and subsection (i) is amended to limit the number of years an LPC-Intern can be on inactive status.

New 681.172 outlines the due process for licensees in violation of an Agreed Order.

FISCAL NOTE

Bobbe Alexander, Executive Director, has determined that for each year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be no fiscal implications to state or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the sections as proposed.  There will be no decrease in general revenue each year of the first five years the sections are in effect. 

SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALYSIS

Ms. Alexander has also determined that there will be no economic costs to small businesses or micro-businesses.  This was determined by interpretation of the rules that these entities will not be required to alter their business practices to comply with the sections as proposed.  The rules relate to individuals who are licensed as professional counselors.  

ECONOMIC COSTS TO PERSONS AND IMPACT ON LOCAL EMPLOYMENT 

There are no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the sections as proposed.  There is no anticipated negative impact on local employment.

PUBLIC BENEFIT

Ms. Alexander has also determined that for each year of the first five years the sections are in effect, the public will benefit from adoption of the sections.  The public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing or administering the sections is to effectively regulate the practice of counseling in Texas, which will protect and promote public health, safety, and welfare, and to ensure that statutory directives are carried out.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

The board has determined that this proposal is not a “major environmental rule” as defined by Government Code, §2001.0225.  “Major environmental rule” is defined to mean a rule the specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state.  This proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The board has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit an owner’s right to his or her property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking under Government Code, §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Bobbe Alexander, Executive Director, State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors, Department of State Health Services, Mail Code 1982, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347 or by email to lpc@dshs.state.tx.us. When emailing comments, please indicate “Comments on Proposed Rules” in the email subject line.  Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas Register.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new rule are authorized by Occupations Code, §503.203, which authorizes the board to adopt rules necessary for the performance of the board’s duties. The review of the rules implements Government Code, §2001.039.

The amendments and new rule affects Occupations Code, Chapter 503.

§681.2. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, as used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  


(1) - (4) (No change.)


[(5) Art therapy intern--An LPC or an LPC Intern holding a temporary license with an art therapy specialty designation.]

           
 (5) [(6)] Board--The Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors.

          
 (6) [(7)] Client--A person who requests and receives counseling services from a licensee or who has engaged in a therapeutic relationship with a licensee.

     
 (7) [(8)] Counseling-related field--A mental health discipline utilizing human development, psychotherapeutic, and mental health principles including, but not limited to, psychology, psychiatry, social work, marriage and family therapy, and counseling and guidance.  Non-counseling related fields include, but are not limited to, sociology, education, administration, dance therapy and theology.


 (8) [(9)] Department‑-Department of State Health Services. 


 (9) [(10)] Health care professional--A licensee or any other person licensed, certified, or registered by the state in a health related profession.


 (10) [(11)] License--A regular license, regular license with art therapy specialty designation, provisional license, or temporary license issued by the board.

          
 (11) [(12)] Licensee--A person who holds a regular license, regular license with art therapy specialty designation, provisional license, or temporary license.

           
 (12) [(13)] LPC Intern--A person who holds a temporary license to practice counseling. 

           
 (13) [(14)] Recognized religious practitioner--A rabbi, clergyman, or person of similar status who is a member in good standing of and accountable to a denomination, church, sect or religious organization legally recognized under the Internal Revenue Code, §501(c)(3) and other individuals participating with them in pastoral counseling if:



(A) the counseling activities are within the scope of the performance of their regular or specialized ministerial duties and are performed under the auspices of sponsorship of the legally recognized denomination, church, sect, religious organization or an integrated auxiliary of a church as defined in Federal Tax Regulations, 26 Code of Federal Regulations, §1.6033-2(g)(5)(I) (1982); 



(B) the individual providing the service remains accountable to the established authority of that denomination, church, sect, religious organization or integrated auxiliary; and 

    



(C) the person does not use the title of or hold himself or herself out as a professional counselor.
  

         
 (14) [(15)] Supervisor--A person approved by the board as meeting the requirements set out in §681.93 of this title (relating to Supervisor Requirements), to supervise an LPC Intern.

§681.14.  Licensing Fees.


(a) Licensing fees are as follows: 

      
    (1) Application , intern license and initial license fee--$190 [$95.00]; 

           
  
 [(2) examination fees as determined by the board.] 


 
 [(3) temporary license extension fee--$30;]

  
    (2) [(4)] 2 year renewal fee [an initial regular license or a renewal regular license]--$100; 

  
    (3) [(5)] late renewal fee:

  

(A) 1-90 days after expiration--$125; and 

  
            (B) 91-365 days after expiration--$150.

    (4) [(6)] 2-year inactive status fee--$50;


    (5) [(7)] license certificate or renewal card duplication or replacement fee--$10; 

  



     (6) [(8)] returned check fee--$25; 

  



     (7) [(9)] art therapy specialty designation application fee--$30 (in addition to any necessary application fees listed in paragraphs (1) -  (6) [(8)] of this subsection); and 


    (8) [(10)] criminal history evaluation letter fee--$50.


(b) (No change.)



[(c) Fees paid to the board are not refundable except in accordance with §681.15 of this title (relating to Processing Procedures).]


(c) [(d)] Remittances submitted to the board in payment of a required fee may be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money order. 


(d) [(e)] For all applications and renewal applications, the board is authorized to collect subscription and convenience fees, in amounts determined by the Texas Online Authority, to recover costs associated with application and renewal application processing through www.texas.gov. 


(e) [(f)] For all applications and renewal applications, the board is authorized to collect fees to fund the Office of Patient Protection, Health Professions Council, as mandated by law. 

§681.15. Processing Procedures.


[(a)] Time periods. The board shall comply with the following procedures in processing applications for a license and renewal of a regular license. 


     (1) The following periods of time shall apply from the date of receipt of an application until the date of issuance of a written notice that the application is complete and accepted for filing, temporary license, or notice that the application is deficient and additional specific information is required. The time periods are as follows: 



(A) issuance of temporary license - 20 working days; or 

                        (B) letter of application deficiency - 20 working days. 

                  (2) The following periods of time shall apply from the receipt of the last item necessary to complete the application until the date of issuance of written notice approving or denying the application. The time periods for denial end on the day notice of the proposed decision is mailed to the applicant. The time periods are as follows: 



(A) letter of approval for examination - 20 working days; 



(B) initial letter of approval for a license - 30 working days; and 



(C) letter of denial of a license - 30 working days. 


       (3) The period of time from the receipt of the application for renewal of a regular license until the renewal card is issued or written notice is given that the application is deficient and additional specific information is required shall be 20 working days. The regular license renewal may be issued in lieu of the notice of acceptance. The period of time from the receipt of the last item necessary to complete the application for renewal until issuance of the renewed license or notification of denial of renewal shall be 20 working days.


[(b) Reimbursement of licensing fees.] 



 [(1) In the event an application is not processed in the time periods stated in subsection (a) of this section, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular application process. Application for reimbursement shall be made to the executive director. If the executive director does not agree that the time period has been violated or finds that good cause existed for exceeding the time period, the request will be denied.]



 [(2) Good cause for exceeding the time period is considered to exist if the number of applications for a license or license renewal exceeds by 15% or more the number of applications processed in the same calendar quarter the preceding year; another public or private entity relied upon by the board in the application process caused the delay; or any other condition exists giving the board good cause for exceeding the time period.] 


[(c) Appeal. If a request for reimbursement under subsection (b) of this section is denied by the executive director, the applicant may appeal to the chair of the board for a timely resolution of any dispute arising from a violation of the time periods. The applicant shall give written notice to the chair at the address of the board that he or she requests full reimbursement of all fees paid because his or her application was not processed within the applicable time period. The executive director shall submit a written report of the facts related to the processing of the application and of any good cause for exceeding the applicable time period. The chair shall provide written notice of the chair's decision to the applicant and the executive director. An appeal shall be decided in the applicant's favor if the applicable time period was exceeded and good cause was not established. If the appeal is decided in favor of the applicant, full reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular application process shall be made.] 


[(d) Contested cases. The time periods for contested cases related to the denial of a license or a license renewal are not included within the time periods stated in subsection (a) of this section. The time period for conducting a contested case hearing runs from the date the board office mails notice of the proposed denial and ends when the decision of the board is final and appealable. A hearing may be completed within six months, but may extend for a longer period of time depending on the particular circumstances of the hearing.]
§681.41.  General Ethical Requirements.  


(a) - (z) (No change.)

  
 (aa) Prior to the commencement of counseling services to a minor client who is named in a custody agreement or court order, a licensee shall obtain and review a current copy of the custody agreement or court order, as well as any applicable divorce decree. A licensee shall maintain these documents in the client’s record.

 (bb) [(aa)] A licensee shall establish a plan for the custody and control of the client’s mental health records in the event of the licensee’s death or incapacity, or the termination of the licensee’s counseling practice.  A licensee shall inform each new client of the plan.

§681.46. Licensees and the Board.


(a) - (b) (No change.)


 (c) The licensee shall report name changes, any changes in home or business address or phone number, employment setting, or other relevant changes to the board in writing within 30 days of the change. 


[(c) A licensee shall keep his or her board file updated by notifying the board in writing of changes of name, highest academic degree granted, address, telephone number, and employment.]


(d) - (g) (No change.)

§681.72. Required Application Materials.


(a) - (c) (No change.)

 
(d) The  supervisor shall submit a supervisory agreement form [must be] completed, signed and dated by both the supervisor and the applicant.  A current copy of the supervisor’s renewal card shall be attached to the agreement form. [A supervisory agreement form must be submitted for subsequent supervisors and settings, before the supervision begins under the new supervisor or in the new setting. Supervised hours earned without an approved supervisor agreement on file with the board may not be counted toward licensure.]


 (e) A supervisory agreement form must be submitted for subsequent supervisors and settings, before the supervision begins under the new supervisor or in the new setting. Supervised hours earned without an approved supervisor agreement on file with the board may not be counted toward licensure.

 (f) [(e)] Graduate transcripts. An applicant must have the official transcript(s) showing all relevant graduate work sent directly to the board from the school(s) where the applicant obtained the course work or an official transcript may be attached to the application in a sealed envelope from the college or university.


 (g) [(f)] An applicant must submit examination results from the National Board of Certified Counselors verifying a passing score on the National Counselor Exam along with proof of completion of the Texas Jurisprudence Exam. The National Counselor Exam must have been taken no more than five years prior to the date of application. The Texas Jurisprudence Exam must have been taken no more than two years prior to the date of application.

§681.81.  General.  


(a) - (f) (No change.)


 (g) A graduate degree and graduate coursework that was awarded or earned more that 20 years prior to the application date may not be used to fulfill the requirements for licensure unless the applicant has held a license issued by another state for at least 10 years prior to the application date.
§681.91. Temporary License.


(a) (No change.)


(b) To practice counseling in Texas, a person must obtain a temporary license before the person begins an internship or continues an internship.  Hours obtained by an unlicensed person in any setting shall not count toward the supervised experience requirements.  [Supervised experience hours gained prior to June 1, 1994, may count toward licensure if all academic requirements are met at the time of application.  Hours gained after June 1, 1994 cannot count, unless the person held a temporary license while accumulating the hours.]


(c) - (j) (No change.)


 (k) The supervisor must submit a supervisory agreement form, signed and dated by both the supervisor and the applicant.  A current copy of the supervisor’s renewal card shall be attached to the agreement form. 


 (l) A supervisory agreement form must be submitted for subsequent supervisors and settings, before the supervision begins under the new supervisor or in the new setting. Supervised hours earned without an approved supervisor agreement on file with the board may not be counted toward licensure.

 (m) [(k)] An applicant coming from another state, who has earned post graduate supervised experience in another state, may submit either their application file from the other state showing their post graduate experience or have their experience documented on this  state’s [states] board forms.

§681.93. Supervisor Requirements.


(a) - (b) (No change.)


(c) A supervisor under this section must have met the following requirements.     



(1) A licensee seeking approval to be a supervisor must meet the requirements of subsection (a) of this section, successfully complete 40 clock-hours of training in the supervision of professional counseling or mental health services as set forth below; and shall submit a $100.00 processing fee.  The supervision course must be taken within two years of application or reapplication for the supervisor status. Licensees who are in an accredited doctorate program are exempt from the 2 year time limit. The initial supervisor approval will expire on the day the licensee’s regular license next expires. Renewal of supervisor approval will begin and expire on the same dates as for the regular license. A renewal application must be filed with the board, accompanied by a $100  renewal processing fee. The 40 clock-hours of training shall be met through the following:





(A) - (B)  (No change.)




(2) - (3) (No change.)


(d) A board approved supervisor shall maintain and sign a record(s) to document the date of each supervision conference and document the LPC Intern's total number of hours of supervised experience accumulated up to the date of the conference.  The record shall reflect the site where the hours were accrued and the content of the session.

(e) - (l)  (No change.)

§681.112.  Provisional Licensing.


(a) The board may grant a provisional license to a person who holds, at the time of application, a license as a counselor or art therapist issued by another state, territory, or jurisdiction that is acceptable to the board. An applicant for a provisional license must:

                        (1)  (No change.)



(2) be licensed in good standing as a counselor or art therapist in another state, territory, or jurisdiction that has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the regular licensing requirements of the Act and submit documentation of such licensure including  a letter of good standing and a copy of the licensure file from the other state, territory or jurisdiction or from the National Credentials Registry [and a letter of good standing]; and 



(3) have passed the  National Counselor Exam and the Texas Jurisprudence Exam [required examinations]. 


(b) - (d)  (No change.)

§681.125. Inactive Status.


(a) - (d) (No change.)


(e) A person must notify the board in writing to return to active status. Active status shall begin after receipt of proof of successful completion of the Texas Jurisprudence Examination, completion of 24 hours continuing education  including 4 hours in counselor ethics, within the  2 [two] years preceding reinstatement of active status and payment of applicable fees.


(f) (No change.)


(g) A person previously approved as a supervisor whose  supervisor status [professional counselor license] has  expired for 2 or more years or been inactive for [more than two]  2 or more years and who wishes to resume the supervisor status or [resumes] active license status may become a supervisor by again completing  a  current supervisor course [the supervision requirements of the board].


(h) (No change.)


 (i) An LPC Intern’s license shall not exceed 4 years on inactive status. Should the Intern fail to return to active status within 4 years, the license will be considered null and void and the person will be required to reapply for licensure under current rules.
§681.172. Due Process Following Violation of an Order.

           (a) A licensee who is alleged to be in violation of a board disciplinary order shall be provided with the following due process.  The department will send a Notice of Violation of the Order to the licensee. The Notice of Violation shall include:

                         (1) a brief statement of the acts or omissions believed to constitute a violation, including information sufficient to apprise the licensee about the date and nature of the violation;

                         (2) a statement that, within 10 days of receiving the Notice of Violation, the licensee must respond in writing to explain why the licensee believes he or she did not violate the Order, or if such violations did occur, why the disciplinary action proposed in the Order should not be imposed; and

                        (3) a statement in large bold type that, if the licensee fails to respond, the disciplinary action described in the Order will be imposed, and further that additional disciplinary actions may be taken if the conduct constituting the violation of the Order also violates a board rule or statute: “FAILURE TO RESPOND.  YOUR FAILURE TO RESPOND WILL BE CONSIDERED A WAIVER OF YOUR RIGHT TO A HEARING. THE FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS IN THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION WILL BE DEEMED ADMITTED AS TRUE AND THE PROPOSED DISCIPLINARY ACTION WILL BE IMPOSED BY DEFAULT. ADDITIONAL DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS MAY BE TAKEN.”

 
    (b) When the department receives the licensee’s written response, the executive director and board chair will review the response and decide whether there are sufficient grounds to find that the Order was violated and, if so, whether the disciplinary action provided in the Order should be imposed.


    (c) The executive director and the board chair shall write and submit their decision to the board for final action.

               (d) A decision to impose or to forego imposing disciplinary action under the terms of the Order does not preclude the board from initiating disciplinary action independent of the Order if the alleged conduct may constitute a violation of statute or rules.
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