Council on Sex Offender Treatment Council Information - Council Members and Advisory Committee

Per Section 14.005 Subtitle A, Title 3, Occupations Code Chapter 110, The Council on Sex Offender Treatment is composed of seven part-time members, including three members who are representatives of the general public and four members each of whom meets the Council's requirements for licensure as a sex offender treatment provider.

Members of the Council

Liles Arnold, LPC, LSOTP
Summit Counseling Center
Term Expires February 1, 2015

Liles Arnold is a Licensed Professional Counselor with a private practice in the Dallas area. He holds a B.A. in psychology from Vanderbilt University, a M.Div. from Reformed Theological Seminary and a M.S.Ed. from the University of Miami. Mr. Arnold is a clinical member of ATSA and AAMFT. He was among the first Registered Sex Offender Treatment Providers in the state of Texas and was appointed as a professional member to the Council on Sex Offender Treatment in 1998.

Aaron Paul Pierce, Ph.D, LSOTP
Term Expires February 1, 2017

Dr. Pierce has a B.A. in psychology from Stephen F. Austin State University, and an M.A. in psychology from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. Dr. Pierce also has a Ph.D. in clinical psychology, with an emphasis in forensic psychology, from Capella University. He is a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Licensed Sex Offender Treatment Provider, and has been working in the field of forensic assessment and treatment since 1995. Dr. Pierce has a private practice for providing clinical and forensic services with offices in Temple and Waco, Texas. Dr. Pierce was previously employed as a correctional therapist with the Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice Center, where he designed and implemented the facility’s Program for Juveniles with Sexual Behavior Problems. He provides training to community supervision and corrections departments, and has been a contracted treatment provider working with sexually violent predators subject to Health & Safety Code, Chapter 841. Dr. Pierce has published articles in the field of human sexual desire and arousal, and is currently involved in research with visual reaction time (VRT), and on juvenile sex offender recidivism.

Ronnie Fanning
Woodway, Texas
Term Expires February 1, 2017
Ronnie A. Fanning is Staff development Officer with the McLennan County Community Supervision and Corrections Department. Ms. Fanning has served in this capacity for approximately 6 months. Prior to this promotion, her duties were that of a probation officer for 7 years with most of that time supervising sex offenders. Her previous supervision experience includes 14 years with TDCJ-Parole division as both an officer and unit supervisor. Most of the experience at the State level also was in supervising sex offenders. Ms. Fanning started her criminal justice career as a Sheriff’s deputy in McLennan County and then Dallas County. Ms. Fanning’s formal education consists of a Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice from Abilene Christian University at Dallas complimented by a variety of training courses related to supervision and corrections. Ms. Fanning is an active member of her community and serves on the Salvation Army Community Relations Board, is a member of Rotary International, and is a volunteer firefighter for the Woodway Public Safety Department.

Elsie Allen
Term Expires February 1, 2015

Louis Gonzales, III
Term Expires February 1, 2019

Holly Miller, Ph.D
Term Expires 1, 2015

Dr. Holly A. Miller is an Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs and Associate Professor in the College of Criminal Justice at Sam Houston State University. She received her B.A. from Bethel College in St. Paul, Minnesota and her M.A. at Morehead State University in Kentucky. After receiving her M.A., she worked for the Federal Bureau of Prisons as a Psychological Specialist. Dr. Miller received her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Florida State University in 1999. Dr. Miller is a forensic psychologist who teaches, consults, and conducts research in areas that combine psychology and the criminal justice system. Specific areas of interest include malingering, sexual offender risk and treatment need assessment, psychopathy, and diversity issues within the criminal justice system. Dr. Miller is also a Licensed Clinical Psychologist and Licensed Sex Offender Treatment Provider.

Terri L. Bauer, LCSW, LSOTP
Term Expires February 1, 2019

More information will be available soon.

Interagency Advisory Committee

Per Occupations Code, Chapter 110, an Interagency Advisory Committee is established to advise the Council on administering its duties under this Act. They are:

Sam Houston State University

Texas Council on MHMR Centers

Judy Switzer
Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division

Jennie Barr, Ph.D.
Office of the Attorney General
Sexual Assault Prevention and Crisis Services

Geri Engman
Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Institutional Division

David Walenta
Texas Youth Commission

Christopher Dickinson
Texas Department of State Health Services

Ana Aguirre
Texas Juvenile Probation Commission

Carrie Lopez
Department of Family and Protective Services

Last updated February 18, 2014