Stroke System Development

Sign up for e-mail updates

The Office of EMS/Trauma Systems Group works with hospitals and RACs to develop stroke facility designation, protocols, policies, and to designate stroke facilities in the state.

Quick Menu

Stroke System Development



Stroke Facility Designation





For the purposes of Comprehensive and Primary stroke facility designation, DSHS will accept Comprehensive or Primary Stroke certification issued by either The Joint Commission or DNV Healthcare.
The Joint Commission:

DNV Healthcare:


Contact Us

By mail

Send mail correspondence to:

Person's name
Texas Department of State Health Services
Office of EMS/Trauma Systems Coordination
Attn: Stroke Designation Program 
PO Box 149347 MC 1876
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Staff Contacts

Jane Guerrero, RN
(512) 834-6700

Elizabeth Stevenson, RN
Designation Program Manager
(512) 834-6700, ext. 6794

Patricia Ashton-Garcia, RN
Designation Coordinator
(512) 484-8401

Michael Murray, RN
Designation Coordinator
(512) 284-1724

Patricia Brachel, RN, BSN
Performance Improvement Designation Coordinator
(512) 834-6700 ext. 6604

Tambra Rogers
Program Specialist I
(512) 834-6700 ext. 2343
Shyriece Norris
Administrative Assistant II
(512) 834-6700 ext. 2351

Email questions or comments:
For more information, please e-mail EMS & Trauma Systems



Last updated March 3, 2017