• Contact this ProgramSearch this Program
    Customer Surveys

    Please let us know how we are doing by completing our customer service survey.


Licensing Requirements - Private Psychiatric Hospitals and Crisis Stabilization Units

Thank you for visiting the Psychiatric Hospital & Crisis Stabilization Units Licensing program webpage. The Department of State Health Services maintains this webpage, but pursuant to Senate Bill 200, regulatory authority over Psychiatric Hospital & Crisis Stabilization Units Licensing has transferred to the Health and Human Services Commission. (HHSC) as of September 1, 2017.



The Facility Licensing Group is responsible for developing rules that establish minimum standards for licensing procedures, operational requirements, standards for voluntary agreements, enforcement procedures, fire prevention and safety requirements, and physical plant and construction requirements for private psychiatric hospitals and crisis stabilization units.

Private psychiatric hospitals provide inpatient mental health services to individuals with mental illness or with a substance use disorder except that, at all times, a majority of the individuals admitted are individuals with a mental illness. Services include psychiatric assessment and diagnostic services, physician services, professional nursing services, and monitoring for patient safety provided in a restricted environment.

Crisis stabilization units are mental health facilities operated by a community center or other entity designated by the Texas Department of State Health Services. They provide treatment to individuals who are the subject of a protective custody order.


Accreditation

Private psychiatric hospitals may be accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care Organizations (JCAHO).

Crisis stabilization units are not accredited.


Applying For An Initial License

The application process for a private psychiatric hospital or crisis stabilization unit involves several Department of State Health Services work groups:

  • Health Facility Licensing Group staff who review the application and required documents for deficiencies. Refer to the application form for fee amount, mailing address and instructions.
  • Health Facility Compliance Group staff who are responsible for conducting a pre- survey conference and surveying the facility for compliance with the provisions on Texas laws and regulations. Refer to the application form for timelines.
  • Architectural Review Group staff who are responsible for approving final construction documents, plans and specifications, as well as, conducting inspections. Click here for more information on the architectural review process.

Fees

Application fee for initial and change of ownership:
$200 per bed with a $6000 minimum
Application fees are not refundable.


Medicare Information

Private psychiatric hospitals may be certified to participate in the federal Medicare Program. The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) directs state health agencies or other appropriate agencies to determine if health care entities meet federal standards. This helping function is termed "provider certification." Health Facility Compliance Group staff is responsible for certifying hospitals. For more information on the certification process, refer to Rules/Regulation link on right-hand side menu box or contact your zone office. See the City-Region-Zone List to find your appropriate zone office.

Crisis stabilization units may NOT be certified to participate in the federal Medicare Program.

Last updated November 9, 2017