Budget: ZZ130
Fund: 084

STATE COMMITTEE OF EXAMINERS IN THE FITTING AND DISPENSING OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS

Mail Code: MC2003 « PO Box 149347 » Austin, Texas 78714-9347
Phone: (512) 834-6784  Fax: (512) 834-6677

E-mail: fdhi@dshs.state.tx.us

Website: www.dshs.state.tx.us/fitters

APPLICATION FORM
LICENSE HOLDER FROM ANOTHER STATE

All questions must be answered. Be sure to read the committee rules to determine what documents are
required. Application processing begins after all required documentation is received and accepted by the
committee.

Applicant’s Full Legal Name: (First, Middle, Last)

Name(s) on Transcript(s) if different:

Date of Birth: Social Security #:

Mailing Address:
City/State/Zip:

Home Phone Number:

E-mail Address:

Please note: The committee office is not responsible for lost, misdirected or undelivered forms and
fees. The committee will mail all documents to the address you provide above. (Be sure to include the
zip code.)

Be sure to notify your employer that you will be unable to practice while you wait for your
license.

Texas Occupations Code, § 402.201. LICENSE OR PERMIT REQUIRED. A person may not represent that
the person is authorized to fit and dispense hearing instruments, or use in connection with the person's
name any designation tending to imply that the person is authorized to engage in the fitting and dispensing
of hearing instruments, unless the person holds a license or is otherwise authorized to do so under this
chapter.

Prior to completing this form, you must read the law (Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 402) and the
committee rules, Chapter 141. Do not complete the applicant’s affidavit if you have not read the
committee law and rules.

FEES: $410.00 - The fee must be mailed with the application. Do not send cash. Fees are nonrefundable.
Make Checks Payable To DSHS/Fitting & Dispensing Of Hearing Instruments Program.

MAIL TO:

STATE COMMITTEE OF EXAMINERS IN THE FITTING AND DISPENSING OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
MAIL CODE: MC2003
PO BOX 149347
AUSTIN, TX 78714-9347
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LICENSURE PROCESS:

1. Application and fee is received and reviewed.

2. Once all documentation is received the application is submitted for consideration
at the next scheduled committee meeting. The committee meets three times a
year. (Dates are posted on the committee’s website).

DOCUMENTATION THAT MUST ACCOMPANY YOUR APPLICATION:

Applications will not be processed until all required documents are received. To expedite your application,

collect all documents and send them with your application. Having documents sent separately can

significantly delay the processing of an application.

= Application and the $410.00 fee

= Official diploma or official transcript indicating graduation from high school (a photocopy which has
been notarized as a true and exact copy can be submitted) or certificate of high school equivalency
issued by the appropriate education agency or an official transcript(s) from an accredited college or
university indicating a college degree was awarded.

= Copy of current Texas Driver’s License

= Written verification that the applicant is licensed in good standing as a fitter and dispenser of
hearing instruments in another state and has held the license for at least three years preceding
the date of application.

= Written verification that applicant has passed an examination approved by the committee or
holds a certification from a professional organization approved by the committee.

= Written verification from the licensing entity in the state in which the applicant is licensed that
details any disciplinary action taken by the entity against the applicant

CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION:

Name of Employer/Practice:

Business Mailing Address:

City/State/Zip:

Business Phone Number:

Business Fax Number:

EDUCATION RECORDS (List all high school/GED/colleges/universities attended and attach additional
pages if necessary) Please provide an official or notarized photocopy of education records.

Inclusive Dates Dearee Granted Date Degree
Name & Location of School From To (figl d of study) Granted
(mmlyy) | (mmiyy) Y1 (mmiddlyy)
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1. (a) Have you ever taken a written examination to fit and dispense hearing instruments? o Yes o No

If yes, give name of test, date taken and score(s):

(b) Give State(s) from which you completed the written examination in:

2. (a) Have you ever taken a practical examination to fit and dispense hearing instruments? o Yes o No

If yes, give date taken and scores:

(b) Give State(s) from which you completed the practical examination in:

3. Have you ever been issued a temporary training permit? o Yes o No

If yes, give State(s) from which the permit was issued, permit number and date issued:

4. Have you ever been issued an apprentice permit? o Yes o No
If yes, give State(s) from which the permit was issued, permit number, date issued and how long the
apprenticeship was:

5. Have you been denied a professional license and/or certificate, or have you ever had any license
and/or certificate revoked, canceled, or suspended? o Yes o No
If answer is yes, briefly state the type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that

issued the license or certificate and the reason:

6. Have disciplinary proceedings been initiated against you in Texas or any other jurisdiction?
o Yes oNo
If answer is yes, please provide the following information:

Date of proceedings:

Where proceedings held:

7. Have you ever pled nolo contendere, received deferred adjudication or been convicted of crime other
than a minor traffic offense? (Do not include juvenile offenses or any misdemeanor traffic violations.
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is not a minor traffic offense) o Yes o No

If yes, please provide a copy if the charges and disposition papers.

8. Are you aresident of Texas? o Yes o No
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APPLICANT’S AFFIDAVIT
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU SIGN

In making this application to the State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing
of Hearing Instruments for the issuance of a license:
o | certify that | have read and agree to abide by the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing

Instruments Act - Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 402, and the rules and regulations
of the State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing
Instruments Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 141. Upon issuance of a permit or
license,

| agree to be bound by the Code of Ethics of the State Committee of Examiners in the
Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Instruments.

| further understand that the fee submitted with this application is non-refundable.

| further understand that materials submitted to the committee become the property of
the committee and are not returnable.

| hereby grant permission to the committee to seek any information or references it
deems fit in securing my credentials pertinent to this application.

| further agree that if issued a temporary permit, apprentice permit or license, upon the
revocation, suspension, or cancellation of that permit/license, | shall return the
permit/license card and certificate to the committee.

| further agree that if issued a license, | will keep the Committee advised of my current
mailing address and phone number.

The information which | have provided in this application is truthful.

| understand that providing false information of any kind may result in the voiding of this
application and my failing to be granted a permit or license.

| attest that | am a resident of Texas.

(Date)

Signature of Applicant
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Guidelines for Review Application by License Holder from Another State
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 402, Sec. 402.209

(a) A person licensed to fit and dispense hearing instruments in another state may apply for a license under
this chapter by submitting an application on a form prescribed by the committee

(b) An applicant for a license under this section must complete the application form completely and
accurately. The committee may not consider an incomplete application. If an applicant fails to provide any
information required on the application form, the committee shall send the applicant a notice of deficiency
that explains the additional information that must be submitted before the committee may review the
application.

(c) The committee shall require an applicant for a license under this section to provide as part of the
application:

(1) written verification that the applicant is licensed in good standing as a fitter and dispenser of hearing
instruments in another state and has held the license for at least three years preceding the date of
application;

(2) written verification that:

(A) the requirements to obtain a license to fit and dispense hearing instruments in the state in
which the applicant is licensed include passing an examination approved by the committee by rule; or

(B) the applicant holds a certification from a professional organization approved by the committee
by rule;

(3) affirmation that the applicant is a resident of this state;

(4) a written statement from the licensing entity in the state in which the applicant is licensed that
details any disciplinary action taken by the entity against the applicant; and

(5) a statement of the applicant's criminal history acceptable to the committee.

(d) The committee may deny an application under this section based on the applicant's criminal history or
history of disciplinary action.

(e) If the committee approves an application, on the next regularly scheduled examination date the
applicant may take the practical section of the examination required under Section 402.202 and a written
examination of Texas law administered by the committee. If the applicant passes the examinations required
under this section, the committee shall issue to the applicant a license under this chapter.

(f) The committee may allow an applicant under this section that satisfies all application requirements other
than the requirement under Subsection (c)(2) to take all sections of the examination required under Section
402.202. If the applicant passes the examination, the committee shall issue to the applicant a license under
this chapter.

(g) An applicant under this section who fails an examination may request in writing, not later than the 30th
day after the date the committee sends the applicant notice of the examination results that the committee
furnish the applicant with an analysis of the applicant's performance on the examination.

(h) An applicant under this section who fails an examination may not retake the examination under this
section. The person must comply with the requirements for an applicant for an original license under this
chapter.

(i) The committee may not issue a license under this section to an applicant who is a licensed audiologist in
another state. The committee shall refer the applicant to the State Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology.
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