• Contact this Program Search this Program
    Customer Surveys

    Please let us know how we are doing by completing our customer service survey.


Licensing of Certified Food Manager Training Programs

The Texas Department of State Health Services, Certified Food Manager (CFM) Program has been accrediting food manager training courses since 1988. Today, food manager training and certification has become a standard of the food industry as well as a regulatory standard throughout the state of Texas.

The CFM Program accredits and licenses training programs for candidates new to the food industry who may need training. The Program also licenses Test Sites that provide the food manager's examination to those who have sufficient background in the food industry and wish to take the exam with minimal or no training. Examinations offered through training programs and test sites are accredited through American National Standards Institute – Conference for Food Protection (ANSI-CFP). Certified Food Manager Certificates issued through these providers receive national reciprocity. The CFM Program also licenses online exam providers. Certified Food Manager Certificates issued through these providers receive state-wide reciprocity.

Senate Bill (SB) 1158 of the 85th legislature (2017) amends Health and Safety Code Chapter 437 to establish that a county with a population of at least four (4) million may require a certified or trained food manager to be on duty during the operating hours of a food establishment. This Bill takes effect September 1, 2017.

The Texas Department of State Health Services, Certified Food Manager Program remains dedicated to the health and safety of the citizens of the state, educating food service employees in the principles of food safety to produce safe food products for Texas consumers.


In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor temporarily suspended all necessary DSHS statutes and rules pertaining to professional and business license or certification renewal applications, including the suspension of any late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days for those programs that are listed below. 

The effects of this suspension are to:

  1. Waive any required late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days; and
  2. Extend the term of any professional and business license listed below for a period of not more than 90 days to allow license/certificate holders affected by Hurricane Harvey time to submit the appropriate documentation and renewal fee. 

The Declaration is for:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires, whichever comes first.

The current status of a license may also be verified online.


Email Updates

Sign up to receive email updates about important changes to the Certified Food Manager Program. This feature will serve as a tool to increase communication with license holders regarding new information added to the website.

Sign up for e-mail updates



Contact Information

Email: Certified Food Manager Program
Phone: (512) 834-6727
Fax: (512) 834-6741

Mailing addresses may be found on the contact page.

Last updated September 13, 2017