Retail Food Establishments

Food safety is serious business in Texas. Our efforts are dedicated toward elimination of food borne illness in the Lone Star State through personal and professional excellence. This endeavor requires the help of all public health regions, state and federal agencies, local and city health departments, private industry, and the public. Through teamwork and diligent effort, we can accomplish our mission, "to protect the public health through the efficient operation of a comprehensive, progressive retail food protection program focusing on education, training, and oversight, which will ultimately reduce the potential for food borne illness in Texas."


Hurricane Harvey Emergency Shelter and Retail Food Service Guidance!!


Emergency Shelter Recommendations

Emergency Shelter Guidelines

Re Opening a Retail Food Establishment after a Disaster

Guidance for Retail Food Establishments Under a Boil Order

Emergency Guidance Regarding Private Persons Offering Prepared Foods to the General Public


In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor temporarily suspended all necessary DSHS statutes and rules pertaining to professional and business license or certification renewal applications, including the suspension of any late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days for those programs that are listed below. 

The effects of this suspension are to:

  1. Waive any required late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days; and
  2. Extend the term of any professional and business license listed below for a period of not more than 90 days to allow license/certificate holders affected by Hurricane Harvey time to submit the appropriate documentation and renewal fee. 

The Declaration is for:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires, whichever comes first.

The current status of a license may also be verified online.


The NEW Texas Food Establishment Rules (TFER) went into effect on October 11, 2015.  In order to find a copy of the new Rules, please visit our Laws and Rules page, along with the Guidance and Publications page, where you will find updated Regulatory Clarifications and Guidance Documents for use with the new TFER.


Permitting

Food service establishments are classified in the following areas:

See the permitting requirements page for descriptions of each establishment type, as well as an overview of licensing options and associated fees.


Email Updates

Sign up to receive email updates about important changes on the Texas Food Establishment Rules and important changes to the Food Establishment Program. This feature will serve as a tool to increase communication with license holders regarding new information added to the website.

Sign up for e-mail updates



Contact Information

For General Program Assistance

Email: Retail Food Service Establishments Program
Phone: (512) 834-6753
Fax: (512) 834-6683


For Licensing and Permitting Assistance

Email: Foods Licensing Group
Phone: (512) 834-6626
Fax: (512) 834-6618

Mailing addresses may be found on the contact page.

Last updated September 13, 2017