• Contact Us

    Texas Heart Disease and Stroke Program
    Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section
    MC 1945
    PO Box 149347
    Austin, TX 78714-9347

    Phone: (512) 776-7111

    Email Comments or Questions

Texas Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke


2017 Meeting Dates

 •  Friday, February 24, 2017
 •  Saturday, May 6, 2017
 •  Friday, August 18, 2017
 •  Saturday, November 4, 2017

Email the CVD & Stroke Program for details.

About Us 

The 76th Legislature passed House Bill 2085 which included the creation of the Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke consisting of 11 appointed members. Activities of the Council include:

  • developing an effective and resource-efficient plan,
  • conducting health education, public awareness, and community outreach,
  • improving access to treatment,
  • coordinating activities among agencies within the state,
  • developing a database of recommendations for treatment and care, and
  • collecting and analyzing information related to CVD

Vision and Mission Statement

Vision Statement: Texans optimizing heart and brain health through education and action.
Mission Statement: The mission of the Texas Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke is to educate, inform and facilitate action among Texans to reduce the human and financial toll of cardiovascular disease and stroke.

About the Council

  • Members of the Council are chosen as representatives of relevant medical, research and policy fields, plus public members who have personal or family experience with stroke or CVD.
  • They are elected to six-year terms by the Governor of Texas.
  • Agency Representatives are selected by Agency leadership.
  • Currently there are no vacancies within the Council. Visit http://governor.state.tx.us/appointments/ for more information on how to apply to serve on the Texas Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Council.

Elected Members

J. Neal Rutledge, M.D., Chair
Licensed Physician in Stroke

Suzanne Hildebrand
Public Member

Public Member

Michael M. Hawkins, M.D.
Consumer Member

Shilpa Shamapant
Consumer Member

Bob C. Hillert
Licensed Physician in Cardiology

Sherron D. Meeks 
Registered Nurse

Floristene Johnson, MS
Licensed Dietitian

Harry "Kyle" Sheets 
Licensed Physician in Primary Care

Maricella "Marcie" Gonzalez Wilson
Public Health, Policy and Research

Public Health, Policy, Research, Practice Member

Non-Voting Agency Representatives

Diane Himmel, LPC
Program Specialist for Physical Disabilities
Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services

Last updated October 12, 2017