WHAT 18 YOUR ROLE?

Health Care Providers:
« Screen all pregnant women for hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) at the
first prenatal visit and at delivery for each pregnancy
* Report all HBsAg-positive pregnant women to your local health

department or fo the Department of State Health Services

Hospitals:

o Screen all pregnant women for HBsAg at delivery for each pregnancy

« Report all HBsAg-positive pregnant women to your local health
department or to the Department of State Health Services

« Administer the Hep B vaccine birth dose to all babies within
12 hours of birth, regardless of the mother’s HBsAg status

 Administer both the birth dose of Hep B and HBIG to babies born to
HBsAg-positive mothers and HBsAg mothers of unknown status within
12 hours of birth

Pediatric Health Care Providers:
« Complete vaccine series for all babies at birth, one month, and six months
« For babies born to HBsAg-positive mothers provide post-vaccination
serology testing three months after completion of vaccine series
* Repeat vaccine series if infant does not seroconvert

Texas Laws and Rules Concerning Screening and Reporting are Summarized
as Follows:

Health and Safety Code Title 2, Chapter 81, Communicable Diseases Sub-
chapter §81.090 Diagnostic Testing During Pregnancy.

« A physician or other person permitted by law to attend a pregnant
woman during gestation or at delivery of an infant shall: take or cause to
be taken a sample of the woman's blood or other appropriate specimen
at the first examination and visit, and at delivery and submit for diagnos-
tic testing for hepatitis B infection.

Texas Administrative Code Title 25, Part 1 Chapter 97, Subchapter §97.3
» What Condition to Report and What Isolates to Report or Submit.
Hepatitis B unspecified (acute) and chronic identified prenatally or at
delivery; perinatal hepatitis B infection

Reporting forms are available online at www.TexasPerinatalHepB.org.

Gi1ivE THE BirTH DOSE

HEPATITIS B VACCINE AT BIRTH SAVES LIVES!

DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES RECOMMENDS

THAT ALL BIRTHING HOSPITALS IMPLEMENT STANDING
ORDERS TO GIVE THE BIRTH DOSE OF HEPATITIS B

VACCINE TO ALL BABIES PRIOR TO HOSPITAL DISCHARGE.

For more information regarding perinatal hepatitis B,
please contact your local health department or
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PROTECT BABIES FROM HEPATITIS B 7 LIFE

PERINATAL HEPATITIS B
PREVENTION PROGRAM



FACTS ABOUT HEPATITIS B IN NEWBORNS

« Hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection can lead to cirrhosis of the liver,
hepatocellular carcinoma, and even death.

o 80% of all liver cancer is attributed to HBV infection.

» Individuals who acquire HBV early in life have the greatest chance of

becoming chronically infected, as illustrated in the chart below.

Age at Infection Risk of Chronic Infection
Birth Up to 90%

110 5 years 30% to 50%

>5 years 6% 10 10%

 HBV transmission can occur, even when the carrier is asymptomatic.

* Because signs and symptoms of HBV are less common in children than

adults, an infected child can spread the disease for many years undetected.

Recommended Schedule for Vaccinating Infants With Monovalent
Hepatitis B Vaccine by Mother’s HBsAg Status

Infants Born to HBsAg-Positive Women

Biologic Dose Age of Infant

HBIG 0.5mL | Within 12 hours of birth*
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5mL | Within 12 hours of birth*
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5 mlL 1 month

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 6 months**

* The first dose of vaccine should be given at the same time as HBIG but at a separate site. The preferred sites are the anterolateral
thighs. If necessary, HBIG can be administered up to 7 days after birth.

* TFF\e minimum interval between dose 1 and 3 is 4 months. Infant should not receive the third dose of HB vaccine prior fo 6 months
of age.

Infants Born fo Women Whose HBsAg Status is Unknown

Biologic Dose Age of Infant

HBIG 0.5mL | If mother is postnatally found to be HBsAg-
positive, administer HBIG to infant as soon as
possible, but no later than 7 days after birth.

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5mlL | Within 12 hours of birth*
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5 mL 1 to 2 months
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 6 months**

* The first dose of vaccine should be given at the same time as HBIG but at a separate site. The preferred sites are the anterolateral
thighs. If necessary, HBIG can be administered up to 7 days after birth.

*x TFF\e minimum interval between dose 1 and 3 is 4 months. Infant should not receive the third dose of HB vaccine prior to 6 months
of age.

Infants Born to HBsAg-Negative Women

Biologic Dose Age of Infant
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5mL | Birth

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5 mL 1 to 2 months
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 6 to 18 months**

** The minimum interval between dose 1 and 3 is 4 months. Infant should not receive the third dose of HB vaccine prior to 6 months
of age.

Recommended Schedule for Vaccinating Infants with Monovalent
Dose of Hepatitis B Vaccine at Birth Followed by Subsequent Doses of
Combination Vaccine

Combination Vaccine Schedule

Biologic Dose Age of Infant

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5mL | Birth (MONOVALENT hepatitis B vaccine).
COMVAX®

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5mL | 2 months

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 4 months

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 4 0.5 mL 12 to 15 months

Combination Vaccine Schedule

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5mL | Birth (MONOVALENT hepatitis B vaccine).
PEDIARIX®

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5mL | 2 months

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 4 months

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 4 0.5mL | 6 months

Recommended Schedule for Vaccinating Preterm Infants Weighing <2000
Grams with Monovalent Hepatitis B Vaccine by Mother’s HBsAg Status

Preterm Infants Born to HBsAg-Positive Women

Biologic Dose Age of Infant

HBIG 0.5mL | Within 12 hours of birth*
Within 12 hours of birth*

Hepatitis B Vaccine-birth dose 0.5 mL (Do not count birth dose as part of the
vaccine series)

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5 mL 1 month

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5mL | 2 months

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 6 months**

* The first dose of vaccine should be given at the same time as HBIG but at a separate site. The preferred sites are the anterolateral
thighs. If necessary, HBIG can be administered up to 7 days after birth.

** T|Fe minimum interval between dose 1 and 3 is 4 months. Infant should not receive the third dose of HB vaccine prior to 6 months
of age.

Preterm Infants Born to Women Whose HBsAg Status is Unknown

Biologic Dose Age of Infant

HBIG 0.5mL | Within 12 hours of birth*
Within 12 hours of birth*

Hepatitis B Vaccine— birth dose 0.5mL | (Do not count birth dose as part of the
vaccine series)

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5 mL 1 month

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5 mlL 2 months

Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 6 months**

* The first dose of vaccine should be given at the same time as HBIG but at a separate site. The preferred sites are the anterolateral
thighs. I necessary, HBIG can be administered up to 7 days after birth.

** The minimum inferval between dose 1 and 3 is 4 months. Infant should not receive the third dose of HB vaccine prior fo 6 months
of age.

Preterm Infants Born to HBsAg-Negative Women

Biologic Dose Age of Infant
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 1 0.5 mL 1 month
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 2 0.5mL | 2 months
Hepatitis B Vaccine—dose 3 0.5mL | 6 months**

** The minimum interval between dose 1 and 3 is 4 months. Infant should not receive the third dose of HB vaccine prior to 6 months
of age.

Post-Vaccination Serology Testing

Post-vaccination serology is a critical component of perinatal hepatitis B prevention and should

be done three months after completion of the Hep B vaccine series. Testing should include the fol-
lowing markers: HBsAg and anti-HBs. The purpose of post-vaccination serologic testing of infants is
to determine if the vaccine was successful in preventing perinatal HBV infection.

Interpretation of Post-Vaccine Serology Test

HBsAg | Anti-HBs | Interpretation and Necessary Action

- + The infant is immune to HBV.

The infant is NOT immune to HBV (non-responder). In this situation, the
infant must receive a second series of hepatitis B vaccine. The first dose
should be given as soon as possible after postvaccination serology
results are known and follow the 0,1, 6 month schedule for completing
the series. The infant should be tested again for HBsAg and anti-HBs 1 to
2 months after completing the second vaccine series.

Texas Administrative Code Title 25, Part 1 Chapter 97, Subchapter
§97.101. Every person less than 18 years old shall be immunized
against vaccine-preventable diseases in accordance with the
immunization schedule adopted by the Executive Commissioner of the
Health and Human Services Commission as referenced in 97.221.

The vaccination effort failed. The infant is infected with HBV and is likely
to become a chronic carrier. Refer the child for clinical follow-up.

Health care providers may be able to enroll in the Texas Vaccines
for Children (TVFC) program. Contact the TVFCprogTamfor

information at 1-800-252-9152 or www.ImmunizeTexas.com.



