Postexposure Rabies Prophylaxis in Animals
If a domestic animal has possibly been exposed to a rabid animal, contact your local animal control agency. There are different procedures to follow depending on whether or not the domestic animal was currently vaccinated. Although humane killing of the animal is offered as an option in either scenario, there are also vaccination and isolation protocols that are possible through Texas law. For instance, a currently vaccinated animal would receive an immediate rabies booster and would be kept in strict isolation for 45 days. However, if the animal was not currently vaccinated, it would receive a series of 3 rabies vaccinations (immediate and during weeks 3 and 8) and be kept in strict isolation for 90 days.
If a domestic animal bites a person, contact your local animal control agency. A biting domestic dog, cat, or ferret must be placed in quarantine until the end of a 10-day observation period that starts at the time of the bite incident. Bite scenarios involving other domestic animals need to be evaluated on a per incident basis.
"Texas Administrative Code - Chapter 169, Subchapter A, Rabies Control and Eradication" - details on vaccine requirements and protocols as mandated by the state of Texas.