• Contact Us

    Laboratory Services Section
    MC 1947
    PO Box 149347 Austin, TX 78714-9347
    1100 W. 49th Street
    Austin, TX 78756-3199

    Phone: (512) 776-7318
    Fax: (512) 776-7294

    Phone Us Toll Free at:
    (888) 963-7111, ext. 7318

    Mailing/Shipping Info

    Email the Laboratory

Laboratory Testing Services Manual - Specimen Receiving, Lab Hours, Holidays


Lab Hours

Business Office Hours
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday
(512) 458-7318
Fax (512) 458-7294

Specimen Acquisition Hours
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday
(512) 458-7598

  • We are located at 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756.
  • Signs directing you to laboratory specimen receiving are located at the entrances to the DSHS parking area from Grover Street, North Loop, and Sunshine Drive. 
  • Laboratory Specimen Receiving is located in a seven-story beige brick building. The specimen receiving department is on the north side of building. The entrance is at the far dock designated as “Laboratory Specimen Receiving.” 
  • After hours receipt of samples is temporarily unavailable. All packages transported through a courier (FedEx, UPS, LoneStar Overnight) will be accepted during regular business hours. Specimens submitted to Greyhound Bus Station-Austin will be picked up by laboratory staff as usual. Hand-delivered samples will be accepted only during regular business hours Monday - Friday (8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.) until further notice. If you have questions concerning this issue, please call (512) 776-7598.
Lab hours and location

Agency Status
Date Day of Week
Labor Day All agencies closed. 9-05-16
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 10-03-16 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 10-04-16 Tuesday
Yom Kippur Optional Holiday 10-12-16 Wednesday
Veterans Day All agencies closed. 11-11-16
Thanksgiving Day All agencies closed. 11-24-16
Day after Thanksgiving All agencies closed. 11-25-16
Christmas Eve Day
Christmas Day
12-25-16 Sunday
Day after Christmas All agencies closed. 12-26-16 Monday
New Year’s Day
1-01-17 Sunday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day All agencies closed. 1-16-17 Monday
Confederate Heroes Day Skeleton crew required. 1-19-17 Thursday
Presidents’ Day All agencies closed. 2-20-17 Monday
Texas Independence Day Skeleton crew required. 3-02-17 Thursday
Cesar Chavez Day Optional Holiday 3-31-17 Friday
Good Friday Optional Holiday 4-14-17 Friday
San Jacinto Day Skeleton crew required. 4-21-17 Friday
Memorial Day All agencies closed. 5-29-17 Monday
Emancipation Day Skeleton crew required. 6-19-17 Monday
Independence Day All agencies closed. 7-04-17 Tuesday
LBJ’s Birthday
8-27-17 Sunday
Holiday Schedule for Fiscal Year 2017

Last updated October 11, 2016