Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor Program Home Page

In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules pertaining to professional and business license or certification renewal applications, including the suspension of any late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

The effects of this suspension are to:

1.    Waive any required late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days; and

2.    Extend the term of any professional and business license listed below for a period of not more than 90 days to allow license/certificate holders affected by Hurricane Harvey time to submit the appropriate documentation and renewal fee. 

The Department has extended the expiration date of impacted licensees by 30 days.  In the last week of September, a determination will be made if further extension is warranted.

 

The Declaration is for:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

This temporary suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires, whichever comes first.

 



Welcome to the home page of the DSHS program that registers and regulates Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselors in Texas. This website contains information about these professionals including licensure requirements, how to file a complaint, how to contact our office, and more.

Special Message for Military Personnel, Spouses, and Veterans



Customer Survey Request
We value your feedback. Please take our online customer service survey at https://dshsplu.questionpro.com/  Thank you.

This program also registers Counselor Interns, and Clinical Training Institutions (CTIs), which are facilities authorized to provide substance abuse treatment in which registered Counselor Interns may gain the clinical experience needed to become Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselors. 

For all other information related to Substance Abuse, please see the DSHS Substance Abuse home page: http://www.dshs.texas.gov/sa

Attention All Applications: Background Check Process Improvements  

The process for obtaining a criminal history for applicants has changed. Effective immediately, fingerprint cards have been phased out. The licensing program has implemented the FAST, or Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas, process. This involves the electronic scanning of an applicant’s fingerprints, then submitting them electronically to the Texas Department of Public Safety for processing. A background check will be obtained more quickly, thus reducing application processing time. Also, the chance of rejection of a set of fingerprints for lack of quality is significantly reduced. For more information, please see page three of the appropriate licensure application, which can be downloaded by selecting this link.

Attention  – Online Search Verification Now Available 

Now you can perform a real-time search for licensees online, and you can even print a license verification. For more information, click the “Live Online Search Verification” link under the “Find A Licensee” heading to the left.

 Sign Up for Email Updates

Sign up for e-mail updates

Last updated September 15, 2017