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SUBCHAPTER I.  LICENSED CHEMICAL 
DEPENDENCY COUNSELORS.  

§140.400.  Definitions.    

Notwithstanding the provisions of §441.101 of 
this title (relating to Definitions), the following 
words and terms, when used in this subchapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Abuse--An intentional, knowing, or 
reckless act or omission by a counselor, 
applicant for counselor licensure, counselor 
intern, certified clinical supervisor, clinical 
training institution, or personnel of any such 
person that causes or may cause death, 
emotional harm or physical injury to a client. 
Abuse includes, without limitation, the 
following: 

(A) any sexual  contact, sexual 
exploitation, or indecent exposure between a 
counselor, applicant for counselor licensure, 
counselor intern, certified clinical supervisor, 
clinical training institution, or personnel of any 
such person, and a client, or as otherwise 
defined in this section;  

(B) corporal punishment or 
physical assault; 

(C) nutritional deprivation or 
sleep deprivation; 

(D) efforts to cause fear; 

(E) the use of any form of 
communication to threaten, curse, shame, or 
degrade a client; 

(F) restraint that does not 
conform with Chapter 448 of this title (relating 
to Standard of Care); 

(G) coercive or restrictive 
actions taken in response to a client's request for 
discharge or refusal of medication or treatment 
that are illegal or not justified by the client's 
condition; and 

(H) any other act or omission 
classified as abuse by Texas law, including, but 
not limited to, Texas Family Code, §261.001 
and Texas Human Resources Code, §48.002. 

(2) Accredited institution of higher 
education--An institution that holds 
accreditation or candidacy status from an 
accreditation organization recognized by the 
Council for Higher Education Accreditation. 

(3) Act--Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 504, Chemical Dependency Counselors. 

(4) Administrative Hearing--A contested 
case hearing conducted by the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings (SOAH) under Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2001, 
Administrative Procedure Act.  

(5) Administrative Law Judge--An 
individual appointed by the chief administrative 
law judge of SOAH under Texas Government 
Code, §2003.041, to preside over a contested 
case proceeding. 

(6) Administrative Procedure Act 
(APA)--Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001, 
as amended. 

(7) Adolescent--An individual 13 
through 17 years of age whose disabilities of 
minority have not been removed by marriage or 
judicial decree. 

(8) Adult--An individual 18 years of age 
or older, or an individual under the age of 18 
whose disabilities of minority have been 
removed by marriage or judicial decree. 

(9) Advanced Practice Nurse--A 
registered nurse currently licensed in Texas who 
is approved by the Texas Board of Nurse 
Examiners to engage in advanced practice. 

(10) Applicant--A person who has 
submitted an application for an initial, or for the 
renewal of, a license, certification, or 
registration. 



                                                                      

 

 

 

  
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

(11) Assessment--An ongoing process 
through which the counselor collaborates with 
the client and others to gather and interpret 
information necessary for developing and 
revising a treatment plan and evaluating client 
progress toward achievement of goals identified 
in the treatment plan, resulting in comprehensive 
identification of the client's strengths, 
weaknesses, and problems/needs. 

(12) Career School or College--An 
organization approved and regulated by the 
Texas Workforce Commission, pursuant to Title 
40, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 807 
(relating to Career Schools and Colleges), that 
offers a course of study in chemical dependency 
counseling. 

(13) Certified Clinical Supervisor 
(CCS)--A person certified by the department 
pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §504.1521 
(relating to Supervised Work Experience). 

(14) Chemical Dependency Treatment 
(treatment)--A planned, structured, and 
organized chemical dependency program 
designed to initiate and promote a person's 
chemical-free status or to maintain the person 
free of illegal drugs. It includes, but is not 
limited to, the application of planned procedures 
to identify and change patterns of behavior 
related to or resulting from substance-related 
disorders that are maladaptive, destructive, or 
injurious to health, or to restore appropriate 
levels of physical, psychological, or social 
functioning.  

(15) Child--For purposes of reporting 
abuse and neglect, a child is an individual under 
the age of 18 whose disabilities of minority have 
not been removed by marriage or judicial 
decree. For all other purposes in these rules, 
child shall mean an individual under the age of 
13. 

(16) Client--An individual who receives 
or has received services, including admission 
authorization or assessment or referral, from a 
chemical dependency counselor, counselor 
intern, applicant for licensure as a counselor, 

certified clinical supervisor, clinical training 
institution, or from a person for whom the 
counselor, intern, certified clinical supervisor or 
applicant is working on a paid or voluntary 
basis, or was working at the time the individual 
was a client. 

(17) Clinical Training Institution (CTI)--
An individual or legal entity registered with the 
department to supervise a counselor intern. 

(18) Counseling-related field--A mental 
health discipline utilizing human development, 
psychotherapeutic, and mental health principles 
including, but not limited to, psychology, 
psychiatry, social work, marriage and family 
therapy, and counseling and guidance. Non-
counseling related fields include, but are not 
limited to, sociology, education, administration, 
dance therapy and theology.  

(19) Counselor--A licensed chemical 
dependency counselor. 

(20) Counselor Intern (CI or intern)--A 
person seeking a license as a chemical 
dependency counselor who is registered with the 
department and pursuing a course of training in 
chemical dependency counseling at a registered 
clinical training institution or under the 
supervision of a certified clinical supervisor. 

(21) CSAT--Center for Substance Abuse 
Treatment, Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services Administration, United States 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

(22) Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 
of Mental Disorders (DSM)--The Diagnostic and 
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 
published by the American Psychiatric 
Association. Any reference to DSM shall 
constitute a reference to the most recent edition 
published. 

(23) Department--The Department of 
State Health Services. 

(24) Exploitation--The illegal or 
improper use of a client, or the client’s 
resources, for monetary or personal benefit, 
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profit, or gain by a counselor, counselor intern, 
or applicant for counselor licensure, or any other 
act or omission classified as exploitation by 
Texas law including, but not limited to, Texas 
Family Code, §261.001 and Texas Human 
Resources Code, §48.002.  Exploitation 
includes, but is not limited to, sexual 
exploitation, as defined herein. 

(25) Graduate--An individual who has 
successfully completed, or been exempted from, 
as applicable, the 270 hours of education, 300 
hour practicum, and 4,000 hours of supervised 
work experience and who is still registered with 
the department as a counselor intern. 

(26) Hearing--Administrative Hearing. 

(27) Indecent Exposure--Exposure by a 
chemical dependency counselor, counselor 
intern, certified clinical supervisor, applicant for 
any such license, or personnel of a clinical 
training institution or other licensee, of the 
individual's anus or any part of the individual's 
genitals, knowing a client is present; or 
compulsion or encouragement by a chemical 
dependency counselor, counselor intern, 
certified clinical supervisor, applicant for any 
such license, or personnel of a clinical training 
institution or other licensee, for a client to 
expose the client’s anus or any part of the 
client’s genitals. 

(28) Knowledge, Skills, and Attitudes 
(KSAs)--The knowledge, skills, and attitudes of 
addictions counseling as defined by CSAT 
Technical Assistance Publication (TAP 21) 
"Addictions Counseling Competencies: the 
Knowledge, Skills, and Attitudes of Professional 
Practice." 

(29) License--Unless otherwise 
specified explicitly or by the context, any form 
of licensure issued under this subchapter, 
including a CI registration, CCS certification, 
CTI registration, or licensed chemical 
dependency counselor license.  

(30) Licensed Chemical Dependency 
Counselor (LCDC)--A counselor licensed by the 
department, pursuant to Texas Occupations 

Code, Chapter 504, to engage in the practice of 
chemical dependency counseling. 

(31) Licensee--Unless otherwise 
specified explicitly or by the context, any holder 
of a license issued under this subchapter, 
including the holder of a CI registration, CCS 
certification, CTI registration, or LCDC license 

(32) Neglect--A negligent act or 
omission by a counselor, applicant for counselor 
licensure, counselor intern, certified clinical 
supervisor, clinical training institution, or 
personnel of any such person that causes or may 
cause death, physical injury, or substantial 
emotional harm to a participant or client. 
Examples of neglect include, but are not limited 
to: 

(A) failure to provide adequate 
nutrition, clothing, or health care;  

(B) failure to provide a safe 
environment free from abuse;  

(C) failure to maintain adequate 
numbers of appropriately trained staff;  

(D) failure to establish or carry 
out an appropriate individualized treatment plan; 
and 

(E) any other act or omission 
classified as neglect by the Texas law including, 
but not limited to, Texas Family Code, §261.001 
and Texas Human Resources Code, §48.002. 

(33) Peer Assistance Program--A 
program approved by the department pursuant to 
Texas Occupations Code, §504.057 (relating to 
Approval of Peer Assistance Programs). 

(34) Person--An individual, corporation, 
organization, government or governmental 
subdivision or agency, business trust, estate, 
trust, partnership, association, and any other 
legal entity. 

(35) Practice of Chemical Dependency 
Counseling--Providing or offering to provide 
chemical dependency counseling services 
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involving the application of the principles, 
methods, and procedures of the chemical 
dependency counseling profession, as defined by 
the practice dimensions and competencies 
identified and described in the CSAT Technical 
Assistance Publication (TAP 21) "Addictions 
Counseling Competencies: the Knowledge, 
Skills, and Attitudes of Professional Practice." 

(36) Prevention--A proactive process 
that uses multiple strategies to preclude the 
illegal use of alcohol, tobacco and other drugs 
and to foster safe, healthy, drug-free 
environments. 

(37) Private Practice--The individual 
practice of a private, licensed chemical 
dependency counselor who personally renders 
individual or group services within the scope of 
the LCDC's license and in the LCDC's offices. 
To qualify to be engaged in private practice, the 
individual LCDC must not hold him/herself out 
as an organized program, or a part thereof, that 
provides counseling or treatment. This definition 
does not prohibit the sharing of office space or 
administrative support staff. 

(38) Qualified Credentialed Counselor 
(QCC)--A licensed chemical dependency 
counselor or one of the practitioners listed 
below, if the practioner is licensed and in good 
standing in the State of Texas, and, in 
performing any activity as a QCC, is acting 
within the authorized scope of the individual's 
license: 

(A) licensed professional 
counselor (LPC); 

(B) licensed social worker;  

(C) licensed marriage and 
family therapist (LMFT);  

(D) licensed psychologist;  

(E) licensed physician;  

(F) licensed physician's 
assistant;  

(G) certified addictions 
registered nurse (CARN); or  

(H) advanced practice nurse 
recognized by the Board of Nurse Examiners as 
a clinical nurse specialist or practitioner with a 
specialty in psychiatric-mental health nursing. 

(39) Referral--The process of 
identifying appropriate services and providing 
the information and assistance needed to access 
them. 

(40) Rules--An agency statement of 
general applicability, including a state rule or 
federal regulation, that implements or prescribes 
law or policy by defining general standards of 
conduct, rights, or obligations of persons, or 
describes the procedure or practice requirements 
that prescribe the manner in which public 
business before an agency may be initiated, 
scheduled, or conducted, or interprets or clarifies 
law or agency policy. The term includes the 
amendment or repeal of a prior rule but does not 
include statements concerning only the internal 
management or organization of the agency that 
does not affect private rights or procedures. Any 
reference to a rule shall mean the rule then in 
effect and as amended, unless otherwise 
specified. 

(41) Screening--The process through 
which qualified staff, client, and available 
significant others, as appropriate, determine the 
most appropriate initial course of action, given 
the individual's needs and characteristics and the 
available resources within the community. In a 
treatment program, screening includes 
determining whether an individual is appropriate 
and eligible for admission to a particular 
program. 

(42) Services--Substance abuse services. 

(43) Sexual contact--Any intentional 
touching, or request to be allowed to touch, by a 
chemical dependency counselor, counselor 
intern, certified clinical supervisor, applicant for 
any such license, or personnel of a clinical 
training institution or other licensee, including 
touching through clothing, of the anus, breast, or 
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any part of the genitals of a client;  any 
intentional touching of any part of the body of a 
client, or request to be allowed to touch, 
including touching through clothing, with the 
anus, breast, or any part of the genitals of a 
chemical dependency counselor, counselor 
intern, certified clinical supervisor, applicant for 
any such license, or personnel of a clinical 
training institution or other licensee; or any 
compulsion or encouragement by a chemical 
dependency counselor, counselor intern, 
certified clinical supervisor, clinical training 
institution, applicant for any such license, or 
personnel of such licensee, for a client to engage 
in touching through clothing, of the anus, breast, 
or any part of the genitals of another individual, 
or for a client to touch any part of the body of 
another individual with the anus, breast, or any 
part of the client’s genitals. 

(44) Sexual Exploitation--A pattern, 
practice, or scheme of conduct by a chemical 
dependency counselor, counselor intern, 
certified clinical supervisor, clinical training 
institution, applicant for any such license, or 
personnel of any such person, that involves a 
client and can reasonably be construed as being 
for the purpose of sexual arousal or gratification 
or sexual abuse. It may include, without 
limitation, sexual contact, a request for sexual 
contact, or a representation that sexual contact or 
exploitation is consistent with, a part of, or a 
condition of receiving services. It is not a 
defense to sexual exploitation of a client if it 
occurs: 

(A) with the actual or perceived 
consent of the client; 

(B) outside of the delivery of 
services; 

(C) off of the premises used for 
the delivery of substance abuse services; or 

(D) after the client has stopped 
receiving services, where the conduct occurs 
within two years of when the client stopped 
receiving services. 

(45) State Office of Administrative 
Hearings (SOAH)--The agency to which 
contested cases are referred by the department.  

(46) Substance Abuse--A maladaptive 
pattern of substance use leading to clinically 
significant impairment or distress, as defined by 
the most recently published version of the DSM.  

(47) Substance Abuse Education--A 
planned, structured presentation of information 
provided by qualified staff, related to substance 
abuse or substance dependence, allowing for 
discussion of the material presented, and 
relevant to the client's goals. 

(48) Substance Abuse Services 
(Services)--A comprehensive term intended to 
describe activities undertaken to address any 
substance-related disorder as well as education 
and prevention activities. The term includes, 
without limitation, the provision of screening, 
assessment, referral, chemical dependency 
treatment, and chemical dependency counseling. 

(49) Treatment Plan--An individualized, 
written plan developed and implemented 
through a collaborative process between 
qualified personnel and the client and reflecting 
and identifying desired treatment outcomes and 
the strategies for achieving them. At a minimum, 
the treatment plan addresses the identified 
substance use disorder(s), as well as issues 
related to treatment progress, including 
relationships with family and significant others, 
employment, education, spirituality, health 
concerns, and legal needs. 

(50) Unethical Conduct--Conduct 
prohibited by the ethical standards adopted by 
state or national professional organizations or by 
rules established by a profession's state licensing 
agency. 

§140.401.  License Required. 

(a) An individual identified to the public 
as a chemical dependency counselor must be 
licensed or exempt under this subchapter. Except 
as provided by this section, individuals who are 
not LCDCs shall not: 
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(1) offer or provide chemical 
dependency counseling services other than 
education; 

(2) represent themselves as 
chemical dependency counselors; or  

(3) use any name, title, or 
designation that implies licensure as a chemical 
dependency counselor. 

(b) The following individuals are 
exempt from LCDC licensure requirements 
when they offer or provide chemical dependency 
counseling services within the scope of their 
authorized duties and scope of practice: 

(1) counselors employed by 
federal institutions; 

(2) school counselors certified 
by the Texas Education Agency; 

(3) to the extent such licensees 
are acting within the authorized scope of their 
respective licenses, licensed physicians, licensed 
psychologists, licensed professional counselors 
(LPC), licensed marriage and family therapists 
(LMFT), and licensed social workers;  

(4) religious leaders of 
congregations providing pastoral counseling 
within the scope of their congregational duties 
and people who are working for or providing 
counseling with a program exempted under 
Texas Health and Safety Code, §§464.051 - 
464.061 (relating to Faith-Based Chemical 
Dependency Treatment Programs);  

(5) students who are 
participating in a practicum that meets the 
requirements as set forth in §140.407 of this title 
(relating to Practicum Standards) as part of a 
supervised course of clinical training at a 
regionally accredited institution of higher 
education or a career school or college, as long 
as they do not hold themselves out as, or use any 
name, title, or designation that implies licensure 
as a chemical dependency counselor or 

registration under this subchapter as a counselor 
intern; 

(6) provides chemical 
dependency counseling through a program or in 
a facility that receives funding from the Texas 
Department of Criminal Justice and who is 
credentialed as: 

(A) a certified criminal 
justice addictions professional by the 
International Certification and Reciprocity 
Consortium; or 

(B) having certified 
criminal justice professional applicant status 
issued by the Texas Certification Board of 
Addiction Professionals. 

(c) Residents of other states are exempt 
from the LCDC licensure requirements of this 
subchapter if they: 

(1) are legally authorized to 
provide chemical dependency counseling in 
those states; and 

(2) do not offer or provide 
chemical dependency counseling in Texas for 
more than 30 days in any 12-month period. 

(d) An individual who qualifies for an 
exemption but chooses to obtain an LCDC 
license from the department under this 
subchapter is subject to the same rules and 
disciplinary actions as other licensees. 

§140.402.  Scope of Practice. 

(a) An LCDC is authorized to provide 
chemical dependency counseling services 
involving the application of the principles, 
methods, and procedures of the chemical 
dependency profession as defined by the 
profession's ethical standards and the KSAs as 
defined in §140.400 of this title (relating to 
Definitions). The license does not qualify an 
individual to provide services outside this scope 
of practice. 
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(b) The scope of practice for an LCDC 
includes services that address substance 
abuse/dependence and/or its impact on the 
service recipient subject to the following:  

(1) the LCDC is prohibited from 
using techniques that exceed his or her 
professional competence; 

(2) the service recipient may 
only be the user, family member or any other 
individual involved in a significant relationship 
with a user; 

(3) the focus of an LCDC’s 
services shall be on assisting individuals or 
groups to develop an understanding of chemical 
dependency problems, define goals, and plan 
action reflecting the individual's or group's 
interest, abilities, and needs, as affected by 
claimed or indicated chemical dependency 
problems; and 

(4) LCDCs are not qualified to 
treat individuals with a mental health disorder or 
provide family counseling to individuals whose 
presenting problems do not include chemical 
dependency. 

§140.403.  Fees. 

(a) The schedule of fees is: 

(1) initial LCDC application 
fee--$25, in addition to any fees assessed under 
subsection (e) of this section; 

(2) initial LCDC licensure fee--
$75, plus a surcharge of $10 to fund one or more 
approved peer assistance programs and 
administrative costs of the department related to 
peer assistance programs;  

(3) LCDC renewal and renewal 
application fee--$115, plus a surcharge of $10 to 
fund one or more approved peer assistance 
programs and administrative costs of the 
department related to peer assistance programs, 
in addition to any fees assessed under subsection 
(e) of this section; 

(A) late renewal penalty 
fee (up to 90 days after the license expiration 
date)--$37.50; 

(B) late renewal penalty 
fee (between 91 days and one year after the 
license expiration date)--$75; 

(4) background investigation 
fee--$40; 

(5) inactive status fee--$50; 

(6) licensure certificate 
replacement or duplication fee--$10; 

(7) returned check fee--$25; 

(8) clinical supervisor initial and 
renewal application and certification fee--$20; 
and 

(9) criminal history evaluation 
letter fee--$50. 

(b) The department may contract or 
enter into a memorandum of understanding with 
a person to administer the LCDC licensure 
examination, and the fee charged by that person 
is subject to change. The current fee shall be 
printed in the examination registration form. 
Examination fees shall be paid directly to the 
contract organization administering the 
examination.  

(c) Licensure fees paid to the 
department are not refundable.  

(d) Fees shall be paid in full with a 
personal check, cashier's check, commercial 
check, or money order. 

(e) For all new and renewal applications, 
the department is authorized to collect 
subscription and convenience fees in amounts 
determined by the Texas Online Authority to 
recover costs associated with new and renewal 
application processing through texas.gov. The 
fees may be paid with a credit card when 
applying for or renewing a license online. 
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§140.404. LCDC Licensure Application 
Standards and Counselor Intern 
Registration. 

(a) Every individual seeking LCDC 
licensure shall apply for registration as a 
counselor intern and initiate the licensure 
application process with the department by 
submitting the following items in a form 
acceptable to the department: 

(1) the initial LCDC application 
fee and the background investigation fee;  

(2) the department's current 
application form that has been completed, 
signed, dated, and notarized; 

(3) a recent full-face wallet-
sized photograph of the applicant;  

(4) two sets of fingerprints 
completed according to department instructions; 
and 

(5) documentation that the 
applicant has successfully completed intern 
registration requirements in §140.405 of this title 
(relating to Requirements for Counselor Intern 
Registration). 

(b) A licensure or counselor intern 
registration applicant shall: 

(1) read the department rules in 
this subchapter;  

(2) follow all laws and rules, 
including the ethical standards;  

(3) provide to the department, or 
give the department permission to request from 
third parties, any additional information or 
references needed or requested by the 
department; and 

(4) notify the department in 
writing within 30 days of a change in name, 
address, or telephone number.  

(c) Application materials become the 
property of the department.  

(d) No determination will be made on an 
application unless it is complete. 

(1) Incomplete documents will 
be returned to the sender. The department will 
hold the remaining documents, but will not take 
action on the application until all outstanding 
documents have been completed as required by 
the department. 

(2) The application and 
background fee is not refundable and will not be 
returned. When resubmitting documents that 
were returned to the sender as incomplete, a 
second application fee is not required. 

(e) A document may be considered 
incomplete if it does not conform to the 
following standards. 

(1) All documents must be 
complete, signed, and dated. Signatures shall 
include credentials. If the documentation relates 
to past activity, the date of the activity shall also 
be recorded. 

(2) Documentation shall be 
permanent and legible. 

(3) When it is necessary to 
correct a document, the error shall be marked 
through with a single line, dated, and initialed by 
the writer. Correction fluid shall not be used.  

(f) An applicant for CI registration must 
receive written notice of registration from the 
department before accumulating any supervised 
work, holding oneself out as a registered 
counselor intern, taking the licensure 
examination, or providing chemical dependency 
services supervised in accordance with the 
requirements of this subchapter.  

(g) Within 45 days of receipt of the 
application, the department will notify the 
applicant that the application is complete or 
specify the additional information required.  
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(h) An application shall be voided after 
one year if the applicant has not provided the 
additional information necessary to process the 
application. 

(i) By signing the application, the 
applicant accepts responsibility for remaining 
knowledgeable of and abiding by the applicable 
rules of this subchapter, including revisions. 

§140.405.  Requirements for Counselor 
Intern Registration. 

(a) To be eligible for counselor intern 
registration under this subchapter, an individual 
must:  

(1) be at least 18 years of age;  

(2) have a high school diploma 
or its equivalent;  

(3) successfully complete 270 
classroom hours, or 18 semester hours (or 27 
quarter hours),  of chemical dependency 
curricula as described in §140.406 of this title 
(relating to Standards for 270 Educational 
Hours); 

(4) complete 300 hours of 
approved supervised field work practicum as 
described in §140.407 of this title (relating to 
Practicum Standards);  

(5) pass the criminal history 
standards described in §140.431 of this title 
(relating to Criminal History Standards);  

(6) sign a written agreement to 
abide by the ethical standards contained in 
§140.423 of this title (relating to Professional 
and Ethical Standards); and 

(7) be worthy of the public trust 
and confidence as determined by the department. 

(b) Applicants holding at least a 
baccalaureate degree in chemical dependency 
counseling, sociology, psychology, or a major 
approved by the department as one related to 
human behavior and development are exempt 

from the 270 hours of education and the 300 
hour practicum. The applicant must submit an 
official college transcript. 

§140.406.  Standards for 270 Educational 
Hours. 

(a) At least 135 clock hours (nine 
semester hours) of the education must be 
specific to substance use disorders and their 
treatment. The remaining 135 clock hours may 
be specific or related to chemical dependency 
counseling. Related education hours may 
include courses in psychology, sociology, 
counseling, mental health, behavioral science, 
psychiatric nursing, ethics, and rehabilitation 
counseling. 

(b) The education shall be provided by a 
career school or college, or an accredited 
institution of higher education. 

(c) Educational hours obtained at a 
career school or college must follow the 
curriculum for Transdisciplinary Foundations 
outlined in the KSAs: 

(1) Understanding Addiction; 

(2) Treatment Knowledge;  

(3) Application to Practice; and 

(4) Professional Readiness.  

(d) The department will not accept hours 
unless documented with a passing grade on an 
official transcript from the school. The applicant 
shall submit additional information requested by 
the department if needed to verify the content of 
a course. 

§140.407.  Practicum Standards. 

(a) The practicum shall be completed 
under the administration of a career school or an 
accredited institution of higher education.  

(b) The applicant must complete the 
practicum under the administration of a single 
school. 
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(c) The department will not accept a 
practicum without an official transcript from the 
school and a letter from the school's educational 
coordinator or chair verifying that the practicum 
was completed in the field of substance abuse.  

(d) Practicum hours may be paid or 
voluntary.  

(e) The practicum shall be delivered 
according to a written training curriculum that 
provides the student with an orientation to 
treatment services and exposure to treatment 
activities in each of the KSA dimensions. The 
practicum must include the intern observing 
treatment delivery and the intern providing 
services under direct observation. The practicum 
shall include at least 20 hours of experience in 
each of the KSA dimensions. 

(f) All practicum training shall be 
provided by qualified credentialed counselors 
(QCCs). 

§140.408. Requirements for LCDC 
Licensure. 

(a) To be eligible for, and to complete 
an initial application for, a chemical dependency 
counselor license under this subchapter, an 
individual must:  

(1) complete the application 
required under §140.404 of this title (relating to 
LCDC Licensure Application Standards and 
Counselor Intern Registration); 

(2) meet the requirements to be 
a counselor intern in §140.405 of this title 
(relating to Requirements for Counselor Intern 
Registration); 

(3) hold an associate degree or 
more advanced degree, with the exception of 
those LCDCs who are renewing an existing 
license; 

(4) complete 4,000 hours of 
approved supervised experience working with 
chemically dependent individuals as described in 

§140.409 of this title (relating to Standards for 
Supervised Work Experience); 

(5) pass the written chemical 
dependency counselor examination approved by 
the department; 

(6) submit an acceptable written 
case presentation to the test administrator; 

(7) submit two letters of 
recommendation from LCDCs; 

(8) submit written assurance 
that the individual has access to an approved 
peer assistance program.  The department may 
waive this requirement if the department 
determines, based upon information submitted 
by the applicant sufficient to support the 
determination, that a peer assistance program is 
not reasonably available to the individual; and 

(9) pay the initial LCDC 
licensure fee. 

(b) The department may waive the 4,000 
hours of supervised work experience for 
individuals who hold a masters or doctoral 
degree in social work or a counseling-related 
field, and have 48 semester hours of graduate-
level courses. An applicant for waiver shall 
submit an official college transcript with the 
official seal of the college and the signature of 
the registrar, and any other related 
documentation requested by the department. 

§140.409. Standards for Supervised Work 
Experience. 

(a) An LCDC applicant must be 
registered with the department as described in 
§140.404 and §140.405 of this title (relating to 
LCDC Licensure Application Standards and 
Counselor Intern Registration, and Requirements 
for Counselor Intern Registration) before 
accumulating supervised work experience. 

(b) All supervised work experience 
obtained in Texas and all chemical dependency 
counseling services offered or provided by a CI 
must be completed at a registered CTI or under 
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the supervision of a CCS.  The department will 
not accept hours from an unregistered CTI or 
from a CCS that has not been certified by the 
department. 

(c) Work experience must be 
documented on the department’s supervised 
work experience documentation form and signed 
by a CTI coordinator or a CCS. 

(1) All hours included in the 
documented supervised work experience must 
be performed within the KSA dimensions and in 
compliance with the Professional and Ethical 
Standards set forth in §140.423 of this title 
(relating to Professional and Ethical Standards 
for all License Holders). 

(2) The supervised work 
experience form must be accompanied by the 
counselor intern's job description reflecting 
duties in the KSA dimensions. 

(d) Out-of-state supervised work 
experience will be accepted only if the following 
conditions are met.  

(1) The applicant is either 
certified or licensed or in the process of seeking 
licensure or certification in the other state. 

(2) The standards for clinical 
supervision of work experience must meet or 
exceed Texas standards and be outlined in the 
governing agency's rules or standards. A copy of 
the governing rules or standards must be 
submitted with the other required documentation 
of supervised work experience. 

(3) The supervised work 
experience must be documented on the 
department's supervised work experience form 
or a comparable form used by the governing 
agency of the other state.  

(e) Supervised work experience may be 
paid or voluntary. 

(f) An individual who has completed the 
4,000 hours of supervised work experience and 
is currently eligible to take or retake the 

examination is a graduate intern and may 
continue to provide chemical dependency 
services under the auspices of a registered 
clinical training institution or a certified clinical 
supervisor during the five-year registration 
period. 

(g) It is the applicant's responsibility to 
verify the CTI or CCS holds a valid registration 
or certification issued by the department. 

(h) The department may refuse to accept 
supervised work experience hours submitted to 
the department that relate to a violation of the 
Act or this subchapter for which final 
disciplinary action has been taken against the CI 
or the CI’s registration under this subchapter. 

§140.410.  Clinical Training Institution (CTI) 
Registration. 

(a) To become a registered clinical 
training institution (CTI), a person shall: 

(1) provide activities in an array 
of the KSA dimensions, including assessment 
and counseling; 

(2) serve a predominantly 
substance-abusing population; 

(3) employ a full time QCC as 
the CTI coordinator; 

(4) be in good standing, with no 
pending disciplinary actions, with applicable 
licensing and regulatory agencies; 

(5) agree to comply with 
applicable rules in this subchapter; and 

(6) submit a complete 
application. 

(b) The program shall receive the 
registration and training program number before 
training begins. Approval allows the CTI to 
provide clinical training at any of its programs 
or sites with relevant services. 
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(c) The registration shall expire on the 
second anniversary of the date of issue.  The 
CTI shall apply to renew the registration every 
two years by submitting a completed application 
form. The department may mail a courtesy 
notice, but it is the program's responsibility to 
apply in a timely manner.  

(d) The CTI shall notify the department 
in writing within 30 days of the following 
changes: 

(1) a change in the CTI 
coordinator; 

(2) a change in the CTI's name, 
mailing address, or telephone number; and 

(3) closure of the CTI. The CTI 
shall return its registration with its notice of 
closure. Closure of the CTI and/or surrender of 
a CTI’s registration in response to a complaint 
shall be deemed to be the result of formal 
disciplinary action, as described in §140.429 of 
this title (relating to Voluntary Surrender of 
License, Certification, or Registration In 
Response to a Complaint). 

§140.411. Certified Clinical Supervisor 
(CCS) Certification Requirements. 

(a) To become a certified clinical 
supervisor, an individual shall: 

(1) be a QCC, as set forth in 
§140.400 of this title (relating to Definitions), in 
good standing, with no active suspension or 
probated suspension in effect against the 
individual’s license, and no unpaid 
administrative penalties; 

(2) submit verification of 
current certification as a clinical supervisor 
issued by the International Certification and 
Reciprocity Consortium or one of its member 
boards; 

(3) submit a plan of activities, to 
be implemented for any CI the CCS supervises, 
in an array of the KSA dimensions, including 
assessment and counseling; 

(4) serve a predominantly 
substance-abusing population; 

(5) submit a completed 
application; 

(6) submit two sets of 
fingerprints completed according to department 
instructions, if the individual has not previously 
submitted fingerprints for the purposes of 
licensure under this subchapter, and pass the 
criminal history standards described in §140.431 
of this title (relating to Criminal History 
Standards); 

(7) pay the background 
investigation fee, if the individual has not 
previously paid this fee for the purposes of 
licensure under this subchapter; and 

(8) pay the application fee. 

(b) If the individual is licensed as a 
chemical dependency counselor, then the 
certification as a clinical supervisor will expire 
on the same day as the license.  If the individual 
is not licensed as a chemical dependency 
counselor, then the certification as a clinical 
supervisor will expire on the second anniversary 
of the last day of the month of issuance. 

(c) An individual may renew this 
certification by submitting the items as 
described in subsection (a) of this section. 

§140.412. LCDC Licensure Examination. 

(a) To be eligible for the LCDC 
licensure examination, an applicant shall:  

(1) be registered with the 
department as a counselor intern; 

(2) submit an acceptable case 
study to the test administrator; and 

(3) pay the examination fee to 
the test administrator.  
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(b) All required documentation and fees 
must be submitted to the test administrator by 
the specified deadlines. It is the applicant's 
responsibility to obtain testing information. 

(c) An applicant may only take the 
examination four times, and all testing must be 
completed within five years from the date of 
registration. 

§140.413.  Counselor Intern Registration 
Expiration. 

A counselor intern’s registration will expire if an 
applicant fails the LCDC licensure examination 
a fourth time or if an applicant does not 
complete one or more of the requirements for 
licensure as set forth in §140.408 of this title 
(relating to Requirements for LCDC Licensure) 
within five years from the date of registration, 
whichever date is earlier. In either case, the 
department will not issue a license. To re-
register as a counselor intern after expiration of 
a counselor intern’s registration, the individual 
must meet the requirements for subsequent 
registration set forth in this section.  

(1) An applicant whose registration has 
expired cannot offer or provide chemical 
dependency counseling services or represent 
himself or herself as a CI or graduate CI.  

(2) An individual whose CI registration 
has expired under this section may reapply for 
CI registration and licensure only after 
completing 12 semester hours or 18 quarter 
hours of course work at a career school or 
college or an accredited institution of higher 
education. The coursework must be related to 
chemical dependency counseling, psychology, 
sociology, counseling, mental health, behavioral 
science, psychiatric nursing, ethics, or 
rehabilitation counseling.  The new application 
shall not be considered complete without an 
official college transcript documenting the 
required course work, a subsequent registration 
application form with the other items required 
under §140.404 of this title (relating to LCDC 
Licensure Application Standards and Counselor 
Intern Registration), and the initial LCDC 
application and background investigation fee.  In 

addition, the applicant must pass the criminal 
history standards described in §140.431 of this 
title (relating to Criminal History Standards) at 
the time of re-registration and is subject to the 
applicable requirements of the following 
subparagraphs: 

(A) if an individual whose CI 
registration has expired applies to re-register 
within five years of the date of expiration of the 
individual's CI registration and the department 
grants the new application for CI registration, 
the individual must complete only the 
requirements for licensure that were not fulfilled 
during the individual’s previous period of 
registration, and may take the examination an 
additional three times, if needed.  The 
outstanding requirements for licensure must be 
completed within three years of the new date of 
registration. During this period, the applicant 
may provide chemical dependency counseling 
services as a counselor intern in accordance with 
the supervision requirements of this subchapter. 

(B) if an individual applies for 
re-registration as a CI more than five years after 
the individual’s CI registration expired and the 
department grants the new application for CI 
registration, the applicant must complete all 
requirements of §140.408 of this title (relating to 
Requirements for LCDC licensure) during the 
new period of registration to become licensed, 
except that the applicant may rely on a 
qualifying degree obtained prior to the period of 
registration. 

§140.414. LCDC Licensure Through 
Reciprocity. 

(a) An individual licensed or certified in 
another state as a chemical dependency 
counselor may apply for licensure as an LCDC 
through reciprocity by submitting: 

(1) a copy of the reciprocal 
license or certification, with verified information 
from the issuing authority as to any disciplinary 
history; 
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(2) the department's current 
reciprocity application, which has been 
completed, signed, dated, and notarized;  

(3) two sets of fingerprints 
completed according to department instructions; 

(4) a recent full-face wallet-
sized photograph of the applicant;  

(5) two letters of 
recommendation; and 

(6) the application fee and the 
background investigation fee; 

(7) proof of successful 
completion of a licensing examination approved 
by the department; and 

(8) an official transcript 
showing that the individual holds an associate 
degree or more advanced degree. 

(b) The applicant shall meet the criminal 
history standards described in §140.431 of this 
title (relating to Criminal History Standards). 

(c) The department will not issue a 
license based on reciprocity unless it finds that 
the licensing or certification standards of the 
state of origin are at least substantially 
equivalent to the requirements for licensure of 
the Act and this subchapter. A state that does 
not require successful completion of a licensing 
examination approved by the department or a 
degree, as set forth in subsection (a) of this 
section, does not have standards that are 
substantially equivalent to the requirements for 
licensure under the Act and this subchapter.  
Any applicant for reciprocity that has not 
successfully completed a licensure examination 
approved by the department or a degree that 
satisfies subsection (a) of this section shall be 
required to do so as a prerequisite to eligibility 
for a license based upon reciprocity. 

(d) An applicant who does not qualify 
for reciprocity may apply for licensure based 
upon the standards set forth in §140.408 of this 
title. 

§140.415. Issuing Licenses. 

(a) Absent action by the department 
against the applicant under §140.426 of this title 
(relating to Disciplinary Actions), the 
department will issue the applicable form of 
license under this subchapter when the applicant 
has met all requirements and paid all required 
fees for the license. 

(b) All licensees under this subchapter 
shall keep current versions of the certificate of 
licensure and the department's public complaint 
notice containing the current name, mailing 
address, and telephone number for the 
department, and a statement that a complaint 
against a licensee under this subchapter may be 
directed to the department, prominently 
displayed in their place of business.  LCDCs 
may apply an adhesive label issued by the Texas 
Certification Board of Addiction Professionals 
with the designation and expiration date of any 
other related certification held by the license 
holder that is approved by the International 
Certification and Reciprocity Consortium or 
another person approved by the department. 

(c) A licensee shall not duplicate a 
licensure certificate to obtain a second copy of 
the license. A licensee may obtain an official 
duplicate certificate from the department by 
submitting a written request and the fee 
specified in §140.403 of this title (relating to 
Fees). 

(d) The department will replace a lost or 
damaged certificate if the licensee provides:  

(1) the remnants of the original 
licensure certificate (if damaged);  

(2) the original licensure 
certificate and copy of legal documents (for a 
name change);  

(3) the original licensure 
certificate (for printing error); or 
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(4) a notarized statement if the 
licensure certificate has been lost, stolen, or 
destroyed.  

(e) A license replaced because of a 
printing error or mail damage will be replaced 
without cost, but all other replacements of 
licensure certificates require a fee, as specified 
in §140.403 of this title. 

(f) LCDCs and CCSs shall notify the 
department in writing within 30 days of a 
change in name, address, or telephone number. 

(g) The licensee shall return the original 
licensure certificate if it is relinquished, 
suspended, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered. 

(h) All licensees shall remain 
knowledgeable of and abide by applicable 
statutes and rules and their amendments. 

(i) A licensee may at any time 
voluntarily offer to relinquish his or her license 
for any reason, without compulsion. 

(1) The original licensure 
certificate may be delivered to the department by 
hand or postal delivery. 

(2) If there is no complaint 
pending against the licensee, the department 
may accept the relinquishment and void the 
applicable license. 

(3) If a complaint is pending, 
the procedures for acceptance of a license 
surrender are set out in §140.429 of this title 
(relating to Voluntary Surrender of License, 
Certification, or Registration In Response to a 
Complaint).  

(4) A license that has been 
surrendered and accepted may not be reinstated. 
However, a person may apply for a new license 
in accordance with the Act and this subchapter. 

§140.416. LCDC License Expiration, 
Renewal, and Continuing Education 
Requirements.  

(a) An LCDC license issued under this 
subchapter is valid until the expiration date 
printed on the license, which is calculated on a 
two-year renewal cycle from the date of original 
licensure. The licensee is responsible for 
renewing the license in a timely manner. The 
department will send the licensee a renewal 
notice, but failure to receive notice from the 
department does not waive or extend renewal 
deadlines. 

(b) To renew a license, the LCDC shall: 

(1) send a complete renewal 
application to the department; 

(2) pay the renewal and renewal 
application fees as set forth in §140.403 of this 
title (relating to Fees); 

(3) meet the criminal history 
standards described in §140.431 of this title 
(relating to Criminal History Standards); and 

(4) complete all required 
continuing education as described in §140.418 
of this title (relating to Continuing Education 
Standards). 

(c) An LCDC who is otherwise 
eligible to renew a license may renew an 
unexpired license by submitting a complete 
renewal application and paying the required 
renewal fee to the department before the 
expiration date of the license.  The renewal 
application and fee must be postmarked on or 
before the expiration date. 

(d) If the LCDC's license has been 
expired for 90 days or less, the person may 
renew the license by paying to the department a 
fee in an amount specified in §140.403 of this 
title (relating to Fees.). 

(e) If the LCDC's license has been 
expired for more than 90 days but less than one 
year, the person may renew the license by 
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paying to the department a fee in an amount 
specified in §140.403 of this title. 

(f) If the LCDC's license has been 
expired for one year or more, the person may not 
renew the license.  The LCDC may obtain a new 
license by submitting to reexamination and 
complying, under current standards, with the 
requirements and procedures for obtaining an 
initial license. 

(g) Notwithstanding in subsection (f) 
of this section, the department may renew an 
LCDC license that has been expired for one or 
more years without reexamination if the 
applicant was licensed in this state, moved to 
another state, and is currently licensed as an 
LCDC and in good standing in that state, with 
no pending disciplinary actions or active 
sanctions against the license or LCDC, and has 
been in practice in the other state for the two 
years preceding the date the person applies for 
renewal. The person must pay to the department 
a fee in an amount equal to two times the 
required renewal fee for the license. 

(h) An LCDC whose license has expired 
cannot offer or provide chemical dependency 
counseling services as defined by the KSAs or 
represent himself or herself as an LCDC. 

(i) An LCDC who holds a master’s 
degree or more advanced degree shall complete 
at least 24 hours of continuing education during 
each two-year licensure period. The 24 hours of 
education must include the specific courses 
required in subsection (k) of this section and, if 
applicable, in subsection (l) of this section. 

(j) An LCDC who does not meet the 
criteria in subsection (i) of this section must 
complete at least 40 hours of continuing 
education. The 40 hours of education must 
include the specific courses required in 
subsection (k) of this section and, if applicable, 
in subsection (l) of this section. 

(k) Continuing education hours must 
include at least three hours of ethics training and 
a total of at least six hours of training in HIV, 
Hepatitis C, and sexually transmitted diseases.  

(l) If an individual's job duties include 
clinical supervision, required hours of 
continuing education must include three hours of 
clinical supervision training. 

(m) An LCDC who teaches a qualifying 
continuing education course shall receive the 
same number of hours as students attending the 
course. Only one set of hours can be accrued for 
a single curriculum, and no more than one half 
of the required amount of hours of continuing 
education as set forth in subsections (i) and (j) of 
this section shall be granted for courses taught 
by the LCDC.  

§140.417. Renewal of License by Active 
Military Members. 

If an LCDC, CI, or CCS fails to timely 
renew his or her license because the licensee 
is called to or is on active duty with the 
armed forces of the United States, or ordered 
by proper authority to active duty, outside 
the state of Texas, the licensee or the 
licensee's authorized representative may 
request an additional amount of time, equal 
to the total amount of time on active duty, 
for the licensee to complete any continuing 
education or other renewal requirements. A 
written request for an extension of time to 
complete renewal requirements under this 
section must be received by the department 
by no later than 60 days after the licensee is 
discharged from active duty, but, whenever 
possible, shall be submitted before the 
commencement of active duty or the 
scheduled expiration of the applicable 
license.  

(1) If the request is made by the 
licensee's authorized representative, the 
request shall include a copy of the 
appropriate power of attorney or written 
evidence of a spousal relationship. 

(2) The written request shall include 
a copy of the official transfer orders of the 
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licensee or other official military 
documentation showing that the licensee is 
called to or on active duty. The licensee 
shall also provide documentation of the date 
of discharge from active duty, either with 
the written request or upon discharge, 
whichever is later.  

(3) If a timely request is made in 
accordance with this section, the department 
will exempt the licensee from payment of 
the late renewal fee.  

(4) The written request shall include 
a current address and telephone number for 
the licensee or the licensee's authorized 
representative. 

(5) A person eligible for an 
extension of time to complete renewal 
requirements under this section for a license 
issued under this subchapter may not 
provide services to which the applicable 
license under this subchapter applies after 
the regularly scheduled expiration of that 
person's license until such time, if any, as 
the licensee completes renewal of the license 
in accordance with this subsection. 

§140.418.  Continuing Education Standards. 

(a) The department will accept 
continuing education (CE) hours that meet the 
criteria in this section. Hours that do not meet 
these criteria may be evaluated on a case-by-
case basis. 

(b) Subject to department review, the 
department will accept continuing education 
credits approved by: 

(1) recognized state boards, 
including, but not limited to the Texas State 
Board of Social Work Examiners, the Texas 
State Board of Examiners of Marriage and 
Family Therapists, and the Texas State Board of 
Examiners of Professional Counselors;  

(2) the National Association of 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors; and 

(3) the Texas Certification 
Board for Addiction Professionals.  

(c) All continuing education hours must 
be specific to substance use disorders and their 
treatment, or related to chemical dependency 
counseling, as defined by the KSA dimensions. 
Related education hours may include 
psychology, sociology, counseling, mental 
health, behavioral science, psychiatric nursing, 
ethics, and rehabilitation counseling. 

(d) The department may accept 
continuing education hours approved by other 
state or federal agencies or organizations, 
subject to the department’s review and approval. 

(e) The department will monitor an 
LCDC’s compliance with continuing education 
requirements by the use of random audit. 
Licensees will be notified in writing if they have 
been selected for a continuing education audit. 
Individual supporting documents of participation 
in continuing education courses are not to be 
submitted to the department unless written 
notification of an audit is received informing the 
licensee that he or she has been randomly 
selected for a document audit. Upon receipt of 
written notification of an audit, the licensee shall 
submit all appropriate documentation to 
substantiate compliance with the continuing 
education and documentation requirements as 
set forth in this section and §140.416 of this title 
(relating to LCDC License Expiration, Renewal 
and Continuing Education Requirements).   

(f) Continuing education certificates 
must contain:  

(1) applicant's name and license 
number;  

(2) date the continuing 
education hours were completed;  

(3) number of hours assigned to 
each course; 
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(4) course title; 

(5) educational provider name 
and, if applicable, number; 

(6) approving agency or entity’s 
name; and  

(7) name and signature of 
instructor or coordinator. 

(g) The department will accept 
education hours from an accredited college or 
university. 

(1) College transcripts must 
contain the official seal of the college and the 
signature of the registrar. 

(2) One semester hour of 
college credit is equivalent to 15 continuing 
education 
hours. One quarter hour of college credit is 
equivalent to 10 continuing education hours. 

(h) Independent study or distance 
learning courses must be guided and monitored 
by the instructor and include an evaluation of 
performance and/or participation verification. In 
addition, the course must be structured so that 
students have access to faculty or instructors for 
questions and assistance in the completion of 
such course work. 

§140.419.  Inactive Status. 

(a) An LCDC may request to have his or 
her license placed on inactive status by 
submitting a written request and paying the 
inactive status fee before the license expires. 
Inactive status shall not be granted unless the 
license is current and in good standing. 

(b) A person on inactive status cannot 
perform activities outlined in the KSA 
dimensions, represent himself or herself as an 
LCDC, or act in the capacity of a QCC. A 
person is subject to investigation and 

enforcement action during the period of inactive 
status. 

(c) Inactive status shall not exceed two 
years and is not renewable.  

(d) To return to active status, the person 
shall submit a written request to reactivate the 
license, a completed renewal application form, 
the renewal application fee and the license 
renewal fee, and documentation of 20 hours of 
continuing education obtained within the 
inactive status period. The continuing education 
shall include the courses described in 
§140.416(k) of this title (relating to LCDC 
License Expiration, Renewal, and Continuing 
Education Requirements). 

(e) An inactive license will 
automatically expire at the end of the two-year 
inactive period. Renewal of an expired inactive 
license shall be subject to the provisions set 
forth in §504.203 of the Act (relating to License 
Renewal). 

§140.420.  Peer Assistance Programs. 

(a) The department may issue or renew, 
as applicable, a license, registration or 
certification to an individual convicted or placed 
on community supervision in any jurisdiction for 
a drug or alcohol offense described in §140.431 
(relating to Criminal History Standards) if the 
department determines that the applicant has 
successfully completed participation in an 
approved peer assistance program. 

(b) A peer assistance program shall 
identify, assist, and monitor participating 
LCDCs whose ability to perform a professional 
service is impaired or likely to be impaired by 
abuse of or dependency on drugs or alcohol, so 
that the individuals may return to safe practice. 
An LCDC who meet the standard for 
participation shall be referred to in this section 
as an "impaired professional." A peer assistance 
program shall offer support and assistance with a 
rehabilitative emphasis rather than a disciplinary 
emphasis. 
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(c) To become an approved peer 
assistance program, a professional association 
shall: 

(1) submit an application form 
prescribed by the department; 

(2) submit a written description 
of the peer assistance program that includes: 

(A) goals and 
objectives, including criteria for successful 
completion of the peer assistance program;  

(B) target population; 

(C) the plan for 
ensuring services are available throughout the 
state; 

(D) how the following 
areas are to be addressed: 

(i) identification 
of and intervention with impaired professionals; 

(ii) assistance 
with accessing quality treatment;  

(iii) monitoring, 
support, and evaluation of participants;  

(iv) intervention 
in crises, including relapses; and  

(v) support 
during the reentry by participants to professional 
practice or instructional roles. 

(E) staffing plans, 
minimum staff qualifications by position, and 
planned staffing levels relative to numbers of 
participants. 

(F) the plan for program 
quality assurance and self-evaluation; and 

(G) the methods that 
will be utilized to promote and encourage use of 
the program. 

(3) meet the minimum criteria 
established for peer assistance programs under 
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 467 and 
Chapter 451 of this title, as well as any 
additional criteria set forth in this section and in 
Texas Occupations Code §504.057 for peer 
assistance programs for LCDCs. An approved 
peer assistance program will remain subject to 
and comply with these provisions once 
approved. In the event of direct conflict between 
any of the provisions, the provisions of Texas 
Occupations Code, §504.057 and this section 
shall govern. 

(d) A peer assistance program may seek 
department funding for its program by 
responding to a department solicitation relating 
to peer assistance programs established under 
Texas Occupations Code, §504.057.  A peer 
assistance program must be approved by the 
department to be eligible to contract with the 
department for funding of its program. Approval 
of the peer assistance program shall expire on 
the second anniversary of the date of approval. 
To renew the approval status, a professional 
association shall submit the materials as outlined 
in subsection (c) of this section. 

(e) The peer assistance program shall 
comply with applicable Federal and State 
confidentiality laws and regulations, including, 
without limitation, Code of Federal Regulations, 
Title 42, Part 2 (relating to Confidentiality of 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records) and 
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 611 
(relating to Mental Health Records).  

(f) The peer assistance program shall 
notify the department, and, if required by Texas 
Health and Safety Code, §467.005 (relating to 
Reports), the person who made the report of the 
impaired professional to the peer assistance 
program, if the impaired individual fails to 
participate in the applicable program as required 
by the department.  

(g) An impaired professional who is 
reported to a peer assistance program by the 
department or another third party shall, as a 
condition of participation in the program, give 
consent to the program that, at a minimum, 
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authorizes the program to disclose the impaired 
person's failure to successfully complete the 
program to the department, and, as necessary for 
the peer assistance program to comply with its 
notification requirements, to the person who 
reported the impaired professional to the 
program. 

(h) The department may revoke its 
approval of a program established by a 
professional association under this chapter, after 
a right to a fair hearing in accordance with 
§§1.41, 1.51 - 1.55 of this title (relating to Fair 
Hearing Procedures), if the authority determines 
that: 

(1) the program does not 
comply with the criteria established by the 
department; and 

(2) the professional 
association does not bring the program into 
compliance within a reasonable time, as 
determined by the department.  

§140.421.  Standards for the Training and 

Supervision of Counselor Interns.
 

(a) A CTI shall appoint a single training 
coordinator who is a qualified credentialed 
counselor (QCC). The CTI coordinator or a CCS 
shall oversee all training activities and ensure 
compliance with department requirements and 
rules relating to the training and supervision of 
CIs. 

(b) The CTI or CCS shall establish 

acceptance criteria for CIs.  No applicant shall 

be accepted to a CTI or accepted for CCS 

supervision without:
 

(1) documentation that the 
applicant is registered as a counselor intern with 
the department; and 

(2) a signed ethics agreement 
that is consistent with the Professional and 
Ethical Standards in §140.423 of this title 
(relating to Professional and Ethical Standards). 

(c) The CTI or CCS shall establish the 
following level system to classify counselor 
interns according to hours of supervised work 
experience: 

(1) Level I: 0-1,000 hours of 
work experience; 

(2) Level II: 1,001-2000 hours 
of work experience; 

(3) Level III: 2,001-4,000 hours 
of work experience; and 

(4) Graduate Status: over 4,000 
hours of work experience. 

(d) The CTI or CCS shall have a 
supervision structure that includes all intern 
levels. The CTI or CCS shall designate each 
intern's level in writing and provide the intern 
with a copy of the documentation. 

(e) All counselor interns at a CTI must 
be under the direct supervision of a QCC as 
described in §140.422 of this title (relating to 
Direct Supervision of Interns).  A CCS must 
directly supervise a counselor intern under the 
CCS’s supervision, as described in §140.422 of 
this title. 

(f) The CTI or CCS shall provide each 
Level I, II, and III intern with reading 
assignments and training activities for the 
supervised work experience that includes 
material in each KSA dimension. 

(g) The CTI or CCS shall use the 
department’s counselor intern evaluation forms 
to structure the intern's 4,000 hours of 
supervised work experience. The CI’s 
supervising QCC, under the oversight and 
monitoring of the CTI coordinator, shall perform 
the CTI’s responsibilities in the following 
paragraphs of this subsection. 

(1) The CCS or CTI shall set 
weekly objectives with the CI based on areas 
targeted for improvement. 
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(2) The CCS or CTI shall 
provide the CI reading, computer, and/or video 
assignments that address areas needing 
improvement.  The CTI or CCS shall allow the 
intern two hours per month to complete these 
assignments. 

(3) The CCS or CTI shall 
monitor the intern's progress and provide verbal 
and written feedback during weekly supervision 
meetings. 

(4) The intern shall complete a 
written KSA self-evaluation during the first 50 
hours of work experience. 

(5) The CCS or the CTI and the 
intern shall complete and discuss a written KSA 
evaluation at the completion of each level of 
experience (after 1,000 hours, 2,000 hours, and 
4,000 hours). 

(h) The CTI or CCS shall not allow a 
Level I, II, or III intern to accrue more than 40 
hours of work experience per week. 

(i) A graduate intern may continue to 
provide chemical dependency counseling 
services at a registered clinical training 
institution or with a CCS during that 
individual’s maximum CI registration period. 

(j) The CTI coordinator or CCS shall 
send the following documents directly to the 
department and provide the intern with copies 
within ten working days from the date the intern 
completes the required 4,000 hours or leaves the 
agency: 

(1) the department’s supervised 
work experience documentation form, fully 
completed and signed by the CCS or the CI’s 
supervising QCC and the CTI Coordinator; and 

(2) a copy of the intern's job 
description showing job responsibilities within 
the KSAs. 

(k) All activities counted towards the 
intern's supervised work experience shall be 

within the scope of chemical dependency 
counseling services as defined by the KSAs. 

(l) The CTI or CCS shall not approve 
hours for which the intern fails to substantially 
complete related activities and supervision 
assignments.  Any failure to complete 
assignments shall be documented on the weekly 
supervision form. 

(m) The CTI or CCS shall give each CI 
the department's CTI and CCS Assessment Form 
with instructions to complete the assessment and 
mail it directly to the department. 

(n) The CTI or CCS shall use current 
department forms for all training and 
supervision documentation mandated by the 
department. 

(o) The CTI shall ensure that each CTI 
coordinator and supervising QCC obtains three 
hours of continuing education in clinical 
supervision every two years. 

(p) The CTI or CCS shall inform interns 
of licensure examination requirements and 
procedures, as well as examination schedules 
and information provided by the department. 

(q) The CTI or CCS shall ensure that 
interns designate their status by using "counselor 
intern," “intern” or "CI" when signing client 
record entries, and that only registered CIs use 
this designation. 

(r) The CTI or CCS shall maintain a 
complete file for each counselor intern for five 
years from the end of the CI’s employment with 
a CTI or supervision by a CCS, as applicable, to 
include: 

(1) letter of registration; 

(2) ethics agreement signed by 
the intern; 

(3) copies of KSA evaluations; 

(4) documentation of all 
supervision activities; 
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(5) documentation of intern 
levels and accumulated hours at each level; and 

(6) copy of the supervised work 
experience documentation form. 

(s) The CTI or CCS shall give the intern 
a copy of all information contained in the intern 
file when the intern completes the required 
supervised work experience and/or leaves the 
agency. 

§140.422. Direct Supervision of Interns. 

(a) Direct supervision is oversight and 
direction of a counselor intern by a CCS, or 
either the CTI coordinator or the intern’s 
supervising QCC at a CTI, which complies with 
the provisions in this section. Nothing in this 
section or subchapter shall be construed to 
authorize the provision of chemical dependency 
treatment without a license, where a license is 
required under Texas Health and Safety Code, 
Chapter 464 and Chapter 448 of this title. 

(b) The CCS, or the CTI coordinator and 
the intern’s supervising QCC at a CTI, shall 
assume responsibility for the actions of the 
intern within the scope of the intern's clinical 
training. 

(c) If the intern has less than 2,000 hours 
of supervised work experience, the supervisor 
must be on site when the intern is providing 
services. If the intern has at least 2,000 hours of 
documented supervised work experience, the 
supervisor may be on site or immediately 
accessible by telephone.  

(d) During an intern's first 1,000 hours 
of supervised work experience (Level I), the 
CCS, or the CTI coordinator or intern’s 
supervising QCC at a CTI, shall:  

(1) be on duty at the program 
site where the intern is working; 

(2) observe and document the 
intern performing assigned activities at least 

once every two weeks (or at least once every 80 
hours of the CI’s work schedule); 

(3) provide and document one 
hour of face-to-face individual or group 
supervision each week; and 

(4) sign off on all clinical 
assessments, treatment plans, and discharge 
summaries completed by the intern. 

(e) During an intern's second 1,000 
hours of supervised work experience (Level II), 
the CCS, or the CTI coordinator or intern’s 
supervising QCC at a CTI, shall:  

(1) be on duty at the program 
site where the intern is working; 

(2) observe and document the 
intern performing assigned activities at least 
once every month (or at least once every 160 
hours of the CI’s work schedule); 

(3) provide and document one 
hour of face-to-face individual or group 
supervision each week; and 

(4) sign off on all clinical 
assessments, treatment plans, and discharge 
summaries completed by the intern. 

(f) An individual who has successfully 
completed the licensing examination may be 
supervised in accordance with Level III 
standards set forth in subsection (g) of this 
section, but is still required to complete 4,000 
hours of supervised work experience before 
achieving graduate status in the absence of a 
waiver under §140.408 of this title (relating to 
Requirements for LCDC Licensure). 

(g) During an intern's last 2,000 hours of 
required supervised work experience (Level III), 
the CCS, or the CTI coordinator or intern’s 
supervising QCC at a CTI, shall:  

(1) be available by phone while 
the intern is working; 
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(2) observe and document the 
intern performing assigned activities as 
determined necessary by the CTI coordinator or 
CCS; 

(3) provide and document one 
hour of face-to-face individual or group 
supervision each week; and 

(4) sign off on all clinical 
assessments, treatment plans, and discharge 
summaries completed by the intern. 

(h) After an intern achieves graduate 
status, the CCS, or the CTI coordinator or 
intern’s supervising QCC at a CTI, shall:  

(1) be available by phone while 
the graduate intern is working; 

(2) provide and document one 
hour of face-to-face individual or group 
supervision each week; and 

(3) sign off on all clinical 
assessments, treatment plans, and discharge 
summaries completed by the graduate intern.  

(i) A supervisor must provide, at a 
minimum, an average of two hours of 
supervision-related activity per week per intern. 

§140.423. Professional and Ethical Standards 
for all License Holders. 

(a) A licensee shall not discriminate 
against any client or other person on the basis of 
gender, race, religion, age, national origin, 
disability, sexual orientation, or economic 
condition. 

(b) A licensee shall maintain objectivity, 
integrity, and the highest standards in providing 
services to the client. 

(c) A licensee shall: 

(1) in addition to complying 
with any other applicable reporting 
requirements, promptly report to the department 
any suspected, alleged, or substantiated incidents 

of abuse, neglect, or exploitation committed by 
oneself or another licensee under this 
subchapter; 

(2) unless otherwise prohibited 
by law, promptly report to the department 
violations of Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
504 (relating to Chemical Dependency 
Counselors), or rules adopted under the Act, 
including violations of this subchapter by 
oneself or another licensee;  

(3) recognize the limitations of 
the licensee's ability and shall not offer services 
outside the licensee's scope of practice or 
licensure or use techniques that exceed the 
person's license authorization or professional 
competence; and 

(4) make every effort to prevent 
the practice of chemical dependency counseling 
by unqualified or unauthorized persons.  

(d) A licensee shall not engage in the 
practice of chemical dependency counseling if 
impaired by, intoxicated by, or under the 
influence of chemicals, including alcohol.  

(e) A licensee shall uphold the law and 
refrain from unprofessional and unethical 
conduct. In so doing, the licensee shall:  

(1) comply with all applicable 
laws, regulations, and orders;  

(2) not make any claim, directly 
or by implication, that the person possesses 
professional qualifications, licensure, or 
affiliations that the person does not possess; 

(3) include, as applicable, their 
current credentials when signing all professional 
documents;  

(4) not mislead or deceive the 
public or any person; and 

(5) refrain from any act that 
might tend to discredit the license or profession. 

(f) A licensee shall: 
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(1) report information fairly, 
professionally, and accurately to clients, other 
professionals, the department, and the general 
public; 

(2) maintain complete, accurate, 
and appropriate documentation of services 
provided; 

(3) not submit or cause or allow 
to be submitted to a client or third party payer a 
bill for services that were not provided or were 
improper, unreasonable, or medically or 
clinically unnecessary, with the exception of a 
missed appointment for which notice has been 
given that a charge will be assessed, and as 
permitted by law concerning third party billing; 
and 

(4) provide responsible and 
objective training and supervision to interns and 
subordinates under the LCDC, CCS, or CTI's 
supervision. This includes properly documenting 
supervision and work experience and providing 
supervisory documentation needed for licensure. 

(g) In any publication, a licensee shall 
give written credit to all persons or works that 
have contributed to or directly influenced the 
publication. 

(h) Licensees shall respect a client's 
dignity, and shall not engage in, or permit their 
employees or supervisees to engage in, any 
action that may injure the welfare of any client 
or person to whom the licensee is providing 
services. The licensee shall: 

(1) make every effort to provide 
access to treatment, including advising clients 
about resources and services, taking into account 
the financial constraints of the client; 

(2) remain loyal and 
professionally responsible to the client at all 
times, disclose the counselor's ethical code of 
standards, and inform the client of the 
counselor's loyalties and responsibilities;  

(3) not engage in any activity 
that could be considered a professional conflict, 
and shall immediately remove oneself from such 
a conflict if one occurs; 

(4) terminate any professional 
relationship or counseling services that are not 
beneficial, or are in any way detrimental to the 
client; 

(5) always act in the best 
interest of the client; 

(6) not abuse, neglect, or exploit 
a client; 

(7) not engage in a sexual, 
personal, or business relationship with a client or 
a member of the client's immediate family 
(including any client receiving services from the 
licensee's employer) for at least two years after 
the client's services end;  

(8) not request a client to 
divulge confidential information that is not 
necessary and appropriate for the services being 
provided; 

(9) not offer or provide 
chemical dependency counseling, supervision, 
or related services, nor meet with a client, in 
settings or locations which are inappropriate, 
harmful to the client or others, or which would 
tend to discredit the profession of chemical 
dependency counseling; and 

(10) refrain from using any 
method or engaging in any conduct that could be 
considered coercive or degrading to the client or 
another, including, without limitation, threats, 
negative labeling, or attempts to provoke shame 
or humiliation. 

(i) A licensee shall protect the privacy of 
all clients and shall not disclose confidential 
information without express written consent, 
except as permitted by law. The licensee shall 
remain knowledgeable of and obey all state and 
federal laws and regulations relating to 
confidentiality of chemical dependency 
treatment records, and shall:  
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(1) inform the client, and obtain 
the client's consent, before tape-recording the 
client or allowing another person to observe or 
monitor the client;  

(2) ensure the security of client 
records; 

(3) not discuss or divulge 
information obtained in clinical or consulting 
relationships except in appropriate settings and 
for professional purposes which clearly relate to 
the case, to the extent authorized by law;  

(4) avoid invasion of the privacy 
of the client; 

(5) provide the client his/her 
rights regarding confidentiality, in writing, as 
part of informing the client in any areas likely to 
affect the client's confidentiality; and 

(6) ensure the data requested 
from other parties is limited to information that 
is necessary and appropriate to the services 
being provided and is accessible only to 
appropriate parties. 

(j) A licensee shall inform the client 
about all relevant and important aspects of the 
professional relationship between the client and 
the licensee, and shall:  

(1) in the case of clients who are 
not their own consenters, inform the client's 
parent(s) or legal guardian(s) of circumstances 
that might influence the professional 
relationship; 

(2) not enter into a professional 
relationship with members of the counselor's 
family, close friends or associates, or others 
whose welfare might be jeopardized in any way 
by such relationship; 

(3) not establish a personal 
relationship with any client (including any 
individual receiving services from the licensee's 
employer) for at least two years after the client's 
services end; 

(4) neither engage in any type or 
form of romantic or sexual behavior with a 
client (including any individual receiving 
services from the licensee's employer) for at 
least two years after the client's services end nor 
accept as a client anyone with whom they have 
engaged in romantic or sexual behavior; and  

(5) not exploit relationships 
with clients for personal gain. 

(k) A licensee shall treat other 
professionals with respect, courtesy, and 
fairness, and shall: 

(1) refrain from providing or 
offering professional services to a client who is 
receiving chemical dependency treatment and/or 
counseling services from another professional, 
except with the knowledge of the other 
professional and the consent of the client, until 
treatment and/or counseling services with the 
other professional ends; 

(2) cooperate with the 
department, professional peer review groups or 
programs, and professional ethics committees or 
associations, and promptly supply all requested 
or relevant information, unless prohibited by 
law; and 

(3) ensure that the person's 
actions in no way exploit relationships with 
supervisees, employees, students, research 
participants or volunteers. 

(l) Prior to providing treatment and/or 
counseling or substance abuse services, a 
licensee shall inform the client of the licensee's 
fee schedule and establish financial 
arrangements with a client. The counselor shall 
not: 

(1) charge exorbitant or 
unreasonable fees for any service; 

(2) pay or receive any 
commission, consideration, or benefit of any 
kind related to the referral of a client for 
services; 
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(3) use the client relationship for 
the purpose of personal gain, or profit, except 
for the normal, usual charge for services 
provided; or 

(4) accept a private professional 
fee or any gift or gratuity from a client if the 
client's services are paid for by another funding 
source, or if the client is receiving treatment 
from a facility where the licensee provides 
services (unless all parties agree to the 
arrangement in writing). 

§140.424.  Standards for Private Practice. 

(a) This subsection applies to counseling 
records of an LCDC's private practice. 
Documentation of professional services rendered 
in another setting shall be created and 
maintained in accordance with any legal 
requirements for documentation applicable to 
the particular setting in which they were 
provided. 

(1) The counselor shall establish 
and maintain a record for every client at the time 
of initial service delivery. The client record shall 
include: 

(A) client identifying 
information;  

(B) assessment results, 
including a statement of the client's problems 
and/or diagnosis; 

(C) plan of care; 

(D) documentation of 
all services provided, including date, duration, 
and method of delivery; and 

(E) a description of the 
client's status at the time services are 
discontinued. 

(2) The counselor shall maintain 
a record of all charges billed and all payments 
received. 

(3) All entries shall be 
permanent, legible, accurate, and completed in a 
timely manner. 

(4) All documents and entries 
shall be dated and authenticated. Authentication 
of electronic records shall be by a digital 
authentication key. 

(5) When it is necessary to 
correct a record, the error shall be marked 
through with a single line, dated, and initialed by 
the counselor. 

(6) The counselor shall protect 
all client records and other client-identifying 
information from destruction, loss, tampering, 
and unauthorized access, use or disclosure. 
Electronic client information shall be protected 
to the same degree as paper records and in 
accordance with applicable law and accepted 
security standards for electronic health records 
prevailing at the time, and shall have a reliable 
backup system. 

(7) The counselor shall comply 
with all applicable state and federal laws relating 
to confidentiality, including the requirements of 
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 611 
(relating to Mental Health Records) and Code of 
Federal Regulations, Title 42, Part 2 (relating to 
Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Patient Records). 

(8) The counselor shall not deny 
clients access to the content of their records 
except as provided by law, including Texas 
Health and Safety Code, §611.0045 (relating to 
Right to Mental Health Record). 

(9) Client records shall be kept 
for at least five years. Records of adolescent 
clients shall be kept for at least five years after 
the client becomes eighteen years of age. 

(b) This subsection applies to an LCDC 
in private practice using the internet or telephone 
to provide chemical dependency counseling 
services. 
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(1) The counselor must reside in 
and perform the services from Texas.  

(2) The department maintains its 
authority to regulate the counselor regardless of 
the location of the client. 

(3) The counselor is subject to 
the applicable laws of other states and countries 
where the client may reside or receive services 
by electronic means, including any laws limiting 
the counselor's practice. 

(4) The counselor's provision of 
services by electronic medium must comply 
with applicable law and accepted security 
standards at the time, including, as applicable, 
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42, Part 2 
(relating to Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse Patient Records), Texas Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 611 (relating to Mental 
Health Records), and the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
(HIPAA)(P.L. 104-191), and Health Information 
Technology for Economic and Clinical Health 
Act (HITECH Act), Title XIII of Division A and 
Title IV of Division B of the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Pub. 
L. No. 111-5 (Feb. 17, 2009), and their 
implementing regulations, including 45 Code of 
Federal Regulations Parts 160 (relating to 
General Administrative Requirements), 164 
(relating to Security and Privacy), and 170 
(Health Information Technology Standards, 
Implementation Specifications, And 
Certification Criteria And Certification 
Programs For Health Information Technology). 

(5) The counselor must be able 
to verify the identification of the client and 
ensure the client's appropriate age. 

(6) If a counselor uses the 
Internet as the electronic means by which 
counseling is provided or transfers client or 
other protected health information through the 
Internet, the counselor must comply with the 
following: 

(A) counseling, client, 
and other protected health information may only 

be transferred using encryption that meets or 
exceeds the Security Standards for the 
Protection of Electronic Protected Health 
Information under 45 Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 164, Subpart C, that are in 
effect at the time; 

(B) e-mail 
communication containing counseling, client, 
and/or other protected health information is 
subject to the restrictions set forth in 
subparagraph (A) of this subsection; and 

(C) the counselor must 
provide technical backup for system problems 
by providing a phone number to the client to call 
for technical support and a contingency plan for 
the client when a technical problem occurs.  

(7) The counselor must provide 
services that utilize audio or video in real time. 

(8) The counselor must provide 
a description of all services offered to the client 
in writing and describe who is appropriate for 
the services. The description must include:  

(A) a grievance 
procedure and provide a link to department 
information for filing a complaint when using 
the Internet and the toll-free number for the 
department when counseling by telephone;  

(B) the counselor's 
credentials, education level, and training; 

(C) a link to the 
licensure verification page when using the 
Internet and the toll-free number for the 
department when counseling by telephone;  

(D) the difference 
between electronic counseling and traditional 
counseling; and 

(E) the potential risk 
regarding clinical issues, security and 
confidentiality. 
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(9) Services may only be 
offered by licensed chemical dependency 
counselors. 

(10) The counselor must 
provide an emergency contact person and phone 
number and emergency procedures to the client 
in writing. 

§140.425.  Complaint and Investigation 
Procedures. 

(a) The provisions of this section shall 
apply to complaints against a licensee under this 
subchapter, notwithstanding the provisions of 
§442.102 of this title (relating to Complaints and 
Investigations). 

(b) A person wishing to report an 
alleged violation of the Act or this subchapter 
may file a complaint with the department. All 
complaints shall be in writing and under oath. 

(c) Upon receipt of a complaint, the 
department will send an acknowledgment letter 
to the complainant, together with the 
department's policies and procedures pertaining 
to complaint investigation and resolution. The 
department may accept an anonymous complaint 
if there is sufficient information for the 
investigation. 

(d) The department will document, 
evaluate, prioritize, and investigate complaints 
based on the seriousness of the alleged violation 
and the level of client or participant risk, and 
will make any report to another agency required 
by law.  

(e) Prior to or during an investigation, 
the department will request a response from the 
licensee or person against whom a complaint has 
been filed, and provide the department's policies 
and procedures pertaining to complaint 
investigation and resolution. The licensee or 
person against whom an alleged violation has 
been filed shall respond within 15 working days 
of receipt of the department's request.  

(f) Pursuant to a department 
investigation regarding an alleged violation of 

the Act or this subchapter, a licensee shall 
produce records, documents and other evidence 
related to the license, registration, or approval to 
the department, upon request, unless otherwise 
prohibited by law. A licensee shall not interfere 
with the department's access to clients, witnesses 
or other parties.  

(g) If it is determined that the matters 
alleged in the complaint are non-jurisdictional, 
or if the matters alleged in the complaint would 
not constitute a violation of the Act or this 
subchapter, the department may close the 
complaint and give written notice of the closure 
to the person against whom the complaint was 
filed and the complainant. 

(h) The department may refer 
complaints outside its jurisdiction, or also within 
the jurisdiction of another licensing program 
within the department or of another agency, to 
the appropriate program or agency for action, as 
permitted by law.  

(i) The department, at least quarterly and 
until final disposition of the complaint, shall 
notify the person filing the complaint and each 
person against whom the complaint was made of 
the status of the complaint, unless the notice 
would jeopardize an undercover investigation. 

§140.426.  Disciplinary Actions. 

(a) The provisions of this section shall 
apply to all types of licensees under this 
subchapter, notwithstanding the provisions of 
§442.103 of this title (relating to Procedure for 
Contested Cases for Counselor and Facility 
Licenses), and shall not limit the authority of the 
department to take any other action against a 
license, registration, or certification, or the 
holder of, or applicant for, a license, registration, 
or certification, under §140.431 of this title 
(relating to Criminal History Standards), or as 
otherwise authorized by applicable statute or 
rule. 

(b) The department may take action as 
authorized under subsection (c) of this section if 
an applicant for, or holder of, a license, 
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registration, or certification issued under this 
subchapter: 

(1) violates or assists another to 
violate the Act, a rule under this subchapter, or 
an Order issued under the Act or this 
subchapter's rules; 

(2) circumvents or attempts to 
circumvent the Act or a rule under this 
subchapter; 

(3) directly or indirectly 
participates in a plan to evade the Act or a rule 
under this subchapter;  

(4) has a license to practice 
chemical dependency counseling in another 
jurisdiction refused, suspended, or revoked for a 
reason that the department determines would 
constitute a violation of the Act or a rule under 
this subchapter;  

(5) engages in false, misleading, 
or deceptive conduct as defined by Business and 
Commerce Code, §17.46; 

(6) engages in conduct that 
discredits or tends to discredit the profession of 
chemical dependency counseling;  

(7) directly or indirectly reveals 
a confidential communication made to the 
person by a client or recipient of services, except 
as required or permitted by law;  

(8) refuses to perform an act or 
service the person is licensed to perform under 
this subchapter on the basis of the client's or 
recipient's age, sex, race, religion, national 
origin, color, or political affiliation; or 

(9) commits an act for which 
liability exists under Civil Practice and 
Remedies Code, Chapter 81 (Relating to Sexual 
Exploitation By Mental Health Services 
Provider). 

(c) Where grounds exist to take action 
against a person, against a license, certification, 
or registration issued under this subchapter, or 

against an applicant or holder of a license, 
certification, or registration issued under this 
subchapter, the department may: 

(1) deny, refuse to issue, or 
refuse to renew a license, certification, or 
registration; 

(2) revoke or suspend a license, 
certification, or registration; 

(3) probate a suspension of a 
license, certification, or registration;  

(4) impose an administrative 
penalty against a person who violates the Act or 
a rule under this subchapter; or 

(5) issue a reprimand against the 
applicable license holder. 

(d) The department will determine the 
length of the probation or suspension. If the 
department probates the suspension of a license, 
certification, or registration, the department may 
require the holder of the applicable license to: 

(1) report regularly to the 
department on matters that are the basis of the 
probation; 

(2) limit practice to the areas 
prescribed by the department; or 

(3) complete additional 
educational requirements, as required by the 
department to address the areas of concern that 
are the basis of the probation. 

(e) An individual whose license, 
registration, or certification is revoked under this 
subchapter is not eligible to apply for a license, 
registration, or certification under this 
subchapter for a minimum of two years after the 
date of revocation. The department may consider 
the findings that resulted in revocation and any 
other relevant facts in determining whether to 
deny the application under this section, or as 
otherwise permitted by law, if an otherwise 
complete and sufficient application for a license, 
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registration, or certification is submitted after 
two years have elapsed since revocation.  

(f) A voluntary surrender accepted by 
the department in response to a complaint under 
§140.429 of this title (relating to Voluntary 
Surrender of License, Certification, or 
Registration In Response to a Complaint) shall 
be deemed to be the result of a formal 
disciplinary action as provided for in that 
section. 

(g) The department, upon determination 
that grounds may exist to take disciplinary 
action, shall issue a notice of violation notifying 
the respondent of the proposed action.  

(1) The notice letter shall be 
sent via regular first-class and certified mail to 
the respondent's address of record.  

(2) The notice shall specify: 

(A) the statutes, rules, 
or orders allegedly violated; 

(B) the factual basis of 
the alleged violations; 

(C) the disciplinary 
action the department intends to take; and 

(D) notice of an 
opportunity for a hearing to be held under the 
Administrative Procedure Act, Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2001. 

(3) If the department is 
proposing to assess an administrative penalty, 
the letter shall also inform the respondent of the 
amount of the proposed penalty and of the 
opportunity for a hearing on the occurrence of 
the violation, the amount of the penalty, or both. 

(4) The letter shall also include 
the following notices: 

(A) If the respondent 
does not request a hearing on or before the 20th 
day after notice is effective, the allegations will 
be deemed true and the department will issue a 

default final order implementing the proposed 
action. 

(B) Notice is effective 
three days after the date of mailing.  

(h) A respondent must submit a timely 
written request for a hearing to avoid having the 
allegations in the notice letter deemed true and a 
default order implementing the proposed action 
issued by the department. The request for 
hearing is timely if filed with the department or 
postmarked on or before the 20th day after the 
notice is effective. If the respondent fails to 
timely file a request for a hearing, the factual 
allegations of the notice letter may be deemed 
true and shall form the basis of a default final 
order by the department making findings of fact 
and conclusions of law consistent with the notice 
of violation, and implementing the proposed 
action. 

(i) The department shall implement a 
final order to suspend a license issued under this 
subchapter for failure to pay child support as 
provided by the Texas Family Code, Chapter 
232. 

§140.427.  Administrative Penalties. 

(a) The provisions of this section shall 
apply to administrative penalties proposed or 
assessed against any person for violation of the 
Act or a rule under this subchapter, 
notwithstanding the provisions of §442.104 of 
this title (relating to Administrative Penalties for 
Licensed Facilities and Counselors and Offender 
Education Programs).  

(b) The amount of an administrative 
penalty shall be based on the following criteria: 

(1) the seriousness of the 
violation; 

(2) the history of previous 
violations; 

(3) the amount necessary to 
deter a future violation; 
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(4) efforts made to correct the 
violation; and 

(5) any other matter that justice 
requires. 

(c) The seriousness of a violation shall 
be categorized by one of the following severity 
levels: 

(1) Level I--violations in which 
harm or other adverse impact to public health, 
safety, or welfare has actually occurred or is 
likely to occur and/or recur;  

(2) Level II--violations that 
demonstrate a potential for harm or other 
adverse impact to public health, safety, or 
welfare; or 

(3) Level III--violations that are 
not likely to substantially affect public health, 
safety, or welfare.  

(d) The range of administrative penalties 
by severity levels is as follows for each 
violation: 

(1) Level I--up to $1000 per 
day; 

(2) Level II--up to $500 per day; 
or 

(3) Level III--up to $100 per 
day. 

(e) Subsequent violations of the same or 
similar nature in the same severity level for 
which an administrative penalty has previously 
been imposed may be categorized at the next 
higher severity level, based upon the repeated 
violation. Subsequent Level I violations of the 
same or similar nature for which an 
administrative penalty has previously been 
imposed at the Level I severity level may be 
assessed a higher penalty within that severity 
level, up to $1,000 per day per violation, based 
upon the repeated violation. 

§140.428.  Informal Disposition. 

(a) At any stage of a disciplinary case, 
informal disposition of a complaint or contested 
case involving an applicant or licensee may be 
made through an informal conference held to 
determine whether the matters in controversy 
can be resolved without further proceedings, 
including by agreed order.  

(b) In any case where a notice of 
violation has been issued proposing disciplinary 
action against an applicant or licensee, that 
person will be given the opportunity to attend an 
informal conference to show compliance with 
the law, pursuant to Texas Government Code 
§2001.054 (relating to Licenses), prior to a 
requested hearing. If the applicant or licensee 
fails to appear at a scheduled informal 
conference, the department may deem that 
person to have waived the right to an informal 
conference and may proceed to hearing. 

(c) An informal conference shall be 
voluntary for the applicant or licensee and shall 
not be a prerequisite to a formal hearing.  

(d) The conference shall be informal and 
shall not follow the procedures established in 
this subchapter for contested cases and formal 
hearings. 

(e) The department will establish the 
time, date and place of the informal conference, 
and provide written notice to the licensee or 
applicant. Written notice will be provided no 
less than 10 business days prior to the date of the 
informal conference at the last known address of 
the licensee or applicant. 

(f) The applicant or licensee may be 
represented by legal counsel at the informal 
conference. The department's legal counsel and 
appropriate staff will be present at the 
conference. 

(g) At the conclusion of the informal 
conference, the department may propose an 
informal disposition of the complaint or 
contested case. The proposal may include 
proposed entry of an agreed order imposing any 
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disciplinary action authorized by the Act or this 
subchapter. The department may also conclude 
that the department lacks jurisdiction; that the 
matter should be referred for further 
investigation; that the complaint should be 
closed without action; or that the department 
will proceed to a contested case hearing on the 
proposed action, if one has been requested by 
the applicant or licensee, in accordance with 
§140.430 of this title (relating to Procedures for 
Contested Cases). 

(h) The licensee or applicant may either 
accept or reject the department's proposal at the 
informal conference. If the recommendations are 
accepted, a proposed agreed order will be 
forwarded to the licensee or applicant, or that 
person's attorney. The order will include any 
agreed findings of fact and conclusions of law. If 
the licensee or applicant fails to return the 
signed order within 20 days of receipt of the 
proposed order, or within another time frame 
specified or agreed to by the department, the 
department's proposed order will be deemed 
withdrawn and the department may proceed to a 
contested case hearing on the action originally 
proposed, if the applicant or licensee has 
requested one, or otherwise proceed with 
appropriate action against the applicant or 
licensee. The licensee or applicant will be 
deemed to have received the proposed agreed 
order three days after mailing. 

§140.429.  Voluntary Surrender of License, 
Certification, or Registration In Response to 
a Complaint. 

(a) When a licensee has offered the 
surrender of that person's license in response to a 
complaint, the department will consider whether 
to accept the surrender of the license. A licensee 
will be deemed to have offered the surrender of 
that person's license in response to a complaint 
when the surrender is offered after the licensee 
has received notice that a complaint has been 
received by the department. A licensee will be 
deemed to have received notice that a complaint 
has been received by the department three days 
after a letter notifying the licensee is mailed by 
the department. 

(b) Surrender of a license without the 
department's acceptance thereof shall not 
deprive the department of jurisdiction under the 
Act, this subchapter, or other applicable law.  

(c) When the department accepts the 
surrender of a license offered in response to a 
complaint, the license surrender is deemed to be 
the result of a formal disciplinary action and an 
order shall be prepared accepting the license 
surrender on that basis. 

(d) If the department accepts the 
surrender of a license offered in response to a 
complaint, the person is not eligible to apply for 
a license, registration, or certification under this 
subchapter for a minimum of two years after the 
date of acceptance of the surrender. 

§140.430. Procedures for Contested Cases. 

(a) The provisions of this section shall 
apply to licensees under this subchapter, 
notwithstanding the provisions of §442.103 of 
this title (relating to Procedure for Contested 
Cases for Counselor and Facility Licenses). 

(b) Where the department has issued a 
notice of violation that has not been resolved by 
informal disposition and the respondent has 
timely requested a hearing, the department will 
proceed to a hearing under the APA, Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2001; SOAH Rules 
of Procedure, 1 Texas Administrative Code, 
Chapter 155; and formal hearing procedures set 
forth at §§1.21, 1.23, 1.25, and 1.27 of this title. 

(c) The department will provide written 
notice of the hearing to the respondent by first 
class mail and certified mail, return receipt 
requested, at respondent's last known address as 
reflected in the department's address of record 
for the respondent. A Notice of Hearing that 
complies with the requirements of Texas 
Government Code, §2001.051 and §2001.052 
(relating to Opportunity for Hearing and 
Participation; Notice of Hearing and Contents of 
Notice), and 1 Texas Administrative Code 
§155.401 (relating to Notice of Hearing), will be 
provided at least ten days before the date of the 
hearing. Respondent's receipt of the Notice of 
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Hearing at least ten days before the date of the 
hearing will be presumed if the department 
mailed the Notice of Hearing at least ten days 
before the date of the hearing, and allowed an 
additional three days for mailing. 

(d) If the respondent fails to appear at a 
scheduled SOAH hearing after being given 
proper notice of the hearing at respondent's last 
known address as reflected in the department's 
address of record for the respondent, the 
department may move for dismissal of the case 
from the SOAH docket, without prejudice, to 
allow for informal disposition of the case by 
default order, as provided for in §1.25 of this 
title (relating to Default). Based upon the 
respondent's failure to appear after proper notice 
of the hearing, the factual allegations of the 
notice letter may be deemed true and shall form 
the basis of a final default order by the 
department making findings of fact and 
conclusions of law consistent with the notice of 
violation, and implementing the proposed action. 

(e) If a respondent makes a written 
request to the department for a transcript of a 
SOAH proceeding, the department will assess 
the cost of the transcript to that respondent. If 
there were multiple respondents to the 
proceeding, the department will assess the cost 
proportionally among those respondents 
requesting a transcript. Where a respondent 
appeals a final department decision in a 
contested case, the respondent shall pay the cost 
of preparation of the original or a certified copy 
of the record that is required to be sent to the 
reviewing court, and such charge may be 
assessed against respondent by the court in 
accordance with the Texas Rules of Civil 
Procedure as a court cost. 

§140.431.  Criminal History Standards. 

(a) The department reviews the criminal 
history of each applicant for initial licensure, 
certification, and registration. Reviews are also 
conducted when the department receives 
information that a licensee has been charged, 
indicted, placed on deferred adjudication, 
community supervision, or probation, or 

convicted of an offense described in subsection 
(d) of this section. 

(b) An applicant shall disclose and 
provide complete information about all 
misdemeanor and felony charges, indictments, 
deferred adjudications, episodes of community 
supervision or probation, and convictions. 
Failure to make full and accurate disclosure may 
be grounds for application denial or disciplinary 
action, including revocation, against the 
applicant for, or holder of, a license, registration, 
or certification. 

(c) The department obtains criminal 
history information from the Texas Department 
of Public Safety, including information from the 
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). 

(d) For purposes of this section, the 
department has identified the following offenses 
as offenses directly related to the duties and 
responsibilities of the licenses, certifications, 
and registrations issued under this subchapter, 
and has categorized them according to the 
seriousness of the offense. The provisions of this 
section shall not limit the authority of the 
department to take any other action against a 
license, registration, or certification, or the 
holder of, or applicant for, a license, registration, 
or certification, as otherwise authorized by 
applicable statute or rule. 

(1) Category X includes: 

(A) capital offenses; 

(B) sexual offenses 
involving a child victim; 

(C) felony sexual 
offenses involving an adult victim who is a 
client (one or more counts); 

(D) multiple counts of 
felony sexual offenses involving any adult 
victim; and 

(E) homicide 1st 
degree. 
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(2) Category I includes: 

(A) kidnapping; 

(B) arson; 

(C) homicide lesser 
degrees; 

(D) felony sexual 
offenses involving an adult victim who is not a 
client (single count); and 

(E) attempting to 
commit crimes in Category I or X. 

(3) Category II includes felony 
offenses that are not listed separately in this 
section and that result in actual or potential 
physical harm to others and/or animals. 

(4) Category III includes: 

(A) class A 
misdemeanor alcohol and drug offenses; 

(B) class A 
misdemeanor offenses resulting in actual or 
potential physical harm to others or animals; 

(C) felony alcohol and 
drug offenses; and 

(D) all other felony 
offenses not listed separately in this section. 

(5) Category IV includes: 

(A) class B 
misdemeanor alcohol and drug offenses; and 

(B) class B 
misdemeanor offenses resulting in actual or 
potential physical harm to others or animals. 

(e) Except as provided in subsection (j) 
of this section, the department shall deny the 
initial or renewal licensure, certification, or 
registration application of a person who has been 
convicted or placed on community supervision 
in any jurisdiction for a: 

(1) category X offense during 
the person's lifetime; 

(2) category I offense during the 
15 years preceding the date of application; 

(3) category II offense during 
the ten years preceding the date of application; 

(4) category III offense during 
the five years preceding the date of application, 
unless, at the time of application, proceedings 
have been dismissed and the person has been 
discharged after having been placed on and 
completing community supervision following a 
deferred adjudication; or 

(5) category IV offense during 
the three years preceding the date of application. 

(f) The department shall deny the initial 
or renewal license, certification, or registration 
application of a person who has been found to be 
incapacitated by a court on the basis of a mental 
defect or disease. 

(g) When a person's application is 
denied under subsection (e) or (f) of this section, 
the person may reapply when: 

(1) the person receives a full 
pardon based on the person's wrongful 
conviction; 

(2) the timeframes established 
in subsection (e) of this section have been met; 
or 

(3) the person who had been 
found to be incapacitated is found to be no 
longer incapacitated, in which case the 
provisions of this section applicable to the status 
of the charge and prosecution at that time will 
apply. 

(h) The department shall suspend a 
license, certification, or registration if the 
department receives written notice from the 
Texas Department of Public Safety or another 
law enforcement agency that the individual has 
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been charged, indicted, placed on deferred 
adjudication, community supervision, or 
probation, or convicted of an offense described 
in subsections (d) and (e) of this section. The 
licensee will remain subject to applicable 
renewal requirements during the period of 
suspension. An application to renew any form of 
license suspended under this subsection will be 
subject to the denial and exception provisions as 
stated in subsection (e) of this section, to the 
extent applicable at the time of renewal 
application. If subsection (e) of this section does 
not apply, the applicant is otherwise eligible for 
renewal, and the applicant is still subject to 
summary suspension under this subsection, the 
applicable license will remain suspended under 
this subsection upon renewal, and until 
paragraph (2) of this subsection or subsection (e) 
of this section becomes applicable. 

(1) The department shall send 
notice stating the grounds for summary 
suspension by certified mail to the license, 
certification, or registration holder at the address 
listed in the department's records. The 
suspension is effective three days after the date 
of mailing. 

(2) If no other bar to licensure, 
certification, or registration exists at the time, 
the department will restore the person's license, 
certification, or registration upon receipt of 
official documentation that the charges have 
been dismissed or the person has been acquitted, 
except that, where the dismissal follows a 
deferred adjudication, the time frames set forth 
in subsection (e) of this section will apply. 

(i) The department will defer action on 
the application of a person who has been 
charged or indicted for an offense described in 
subsection (d) of this section. If the person is 
convicted or placed on community supervision 
for the offense, subsection (e) of this section will 
apply. If the charges are dismissed or the person 
is acquitted, the application will be processed 
without adverse action under this section on the 
basis of those charges. However, the department 
may consider the facts and evidence underlying 
the charge in determining whether adverse 
action against the applicant might be warranted 

under §140.426 of this title (relating to 
Disciplinary Actions). 

(j) Notwithstanding subsection (e) of 
this section, if no other bar to the applicable 
licensure or renewal exists at the time, the 
department may issue or renew, as applicable, an 
LCDC license, registration, or certification of a 
person convicted or placed on community 
supervision in any jurisdiction, within the 
timeframes set forth in subsection (e) of this 
section, for a drug or alcohol offense described 
in subsection (d) of this section, if the 
department determines that the individual has 
successfully completed participation in a peer 
assistance program approved by the department.  

(1) When an individual 
described in subsection (j) of this section 
successfully reaches the re-entry phase of a peer 
assistance program, the department may grant a 
temporary "re-entry approval," with a limited 
term and any appropriate conditions, set in 
conjunction with the peer assistance program, 
based upon the applicant's needs and the 
anticipated length of the re-entry phase of the 
peer assistance program for the applicant. 

(2) At the end of the term of the 
re-entry approval, the department may extend 
the term if the applicant is still successfully 
participating in the re-entry phase of the peer 
assistance program, may grant the applicable 
initial or renewal license, registration, or 
certification, or renew the LCDC license if the 
department determines that the applicable 
individual has successfully completed the peer 
assistance program, or shall deny the license 
under subsection (e) of this section, if the LCDC 
has failed to successfully complete the peer 
assistance program. 

(k) A person whose license, 
certification, or registration has been denied or 
suspended under this section may only appeal 
the action if: 

(1) the person was convicted or 
placed on community supervision; and 
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(2) the appeal is based on the 
grounds that the timeframes defined in 
subsection (e) of this section have been met. 

§140.432. Request for Criminal History 
Evaluation Letter. 

(a) In accordance with Occupations 
Code, §53.102, a person may request the 
department to issue a criminal history evaluation 
letter regarding the person’s eligibility for a 
license if the person: 

(1) is enrolled or planning to 
enroll in an educational program that prepares a 
person for an initial license or is planning to take 
an examination for an initial license; and 

(2) has reason to believe that the 
person is ineligible for the license due to a 
conviction or deferred adjudication for a felony 
or misdemeanor offense. 

(b) A person making a request for 
issuance of a criminal history evaluation letter 
shall submit the request on a form prescribed by 
the department, accompanied by the criminal 
history evaluation letter fee and the required 
supporting documentation, as described on the 
form.  The request shall state the basis for the 
person’s potential ineligibility. 

(c) The department has the same 
authority to investigate a request submitted 
under this section and the requestor’s eligibility 
that the department has to investigate a person 
applying for a license. 

(d) If the department determines that a 
ground for ineligibility does not exist, the 
department shall notify the requestor in writing 
of the determination.  The notice shall be issued 
not later than the 90th day after the date the 
department received the request form, the 
criminal history evaluation letter fee, and any 
supporting documentation as described in the 
request form. 

(e) If the department determines that the 
requestor is ineligible for a license, the 
department shall issue a letter setting out each 

basis for potential ineligibility and the 
department’s determination as to eligibility.  The 
letter shall be issued not later than the 90th day 
after the date the department received the 
request form, the criminal history evaluation 
letter fee, and any supporting documentation as 
described in the request form.  In the absence of 
new evidence known to but not disclosed by the 
requestor or not reasonably available to the 
department at the time the letter is issued, the 
department’s ruling on the request determines 
the requestor’s eligibility with respect to the 
grounds for potential ineligibility set out in the 
letter. 

§140.433. Licensing, Certification, or 
Registration of Military Service Members, 
Military Veterans, and Military Spouses. 

(a) This section sets out licensing, 
certification, and registration procedures for 
military service members, military veterans, 
and military spouses required under 
Occupations Code, Chapter 55 (relating to 
Licensing of Military Service Members, 
Military Veterans, and Military Spouses). 
For purposes of this section, the following 
terms shall have the following meanings:  

(1) Military service member--
A person who is currently serving in the 
armed forces of the United States, in a 
reserve component of the armed forces of 
the United States, including the National 
Guard, or in the state military service of any 
state. 

(2) Military spouse--A person 
who is married to a military service member 
who is currently on active duty.  

(3) Military veteran--A 
person who has served in the army, navy, air 
force, marine corps, or coast guard of the 
United States, or in an auxiliary service of 
one of those branches of the armed forces.  
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(b) An applicant shall provide 
documentation of the applicant's status as a 
military service member, military veteran, or 
military spouse. Acceptable documentation 
includes, but is not limited to, copies of 
official documents such as military service 
orders, marriage licenses, and military 
discharge records. The application of a 
person who fails to provide documentation 
of his or her status shall not be processed 
under the requirements of this section.  

(c) Upon request, an applicant shall 
provide acceptable proof of current 
licensure, certification, or registration issued 
by another jurisdiction. Upon request, the 
applicant shall provide proof that the 
licensing, certification, or registration 
requirements of that jurisdiction are 
substantially equivalent to the licensing, 
certification, or registration requirements of 
this state.  

(d) The department's authority to 
require an applicant to undergo a criminal 
history background check, and the 
timeframes associated with that process, are 
not affected by the requirements of this 
section. 

(e) For an application for a license, 
certificate, or registration submitted by a 
verified military service member or military 
veteran, the applicant shall receive credit 
towards any licensing, certification, 
registration or internship requirements, 
except an examination requirement, for 
verified military service, training, or 
education that is relevant to the occupation, 
unless he or she holds a restricted license, 
certificate, or registration issued by another 
jurisdiction or if he or she has an 
unacceptable criminal history as described 
by the Act and this chapter.  

(f) An applicant who is a military 
spouse who holds a current license, 
certificate, or registration issued by another 
jurisdiction that has substantially equivalent 
licensing, certification, or registration 
requirements shall complete and submit an 
application form and fee. The department 
shall issue a license, certificate, or 
registration to a qualified applicant who 
holds such a license as soon as practicable 
and the renewal of the license, certificate, or 
registration shall be in accordance with 
subsection (i) of this section. 

(g) In accordance with Occupations 
Code, §55.004(c), the department may 
waive any prerequisite to obtaining a 
license, certificate, or registration after 
reviewing the applicant's credentials and 
determining that the applicant holds a 
license, certificate, or registration issued by 
another jurisdiction that has licensing, 
certification, or registration requirements 
substantially equivalent to those of this state.  

(h) A military spouse who within the 
five years preceding the application date 
held the license, certificate, or registration in 
this state that expired while the applicant 
lived in another state for at least six months 
is qualified for licensure, certification, or 
registration based on the previously held 
license, certificate, or registration, if there 
are no unresolved complaints against the 
applicant and if there is no other bar to 
licensure, certification, or registration, such 
as criminal background or non-compliance 
with a department order.  

(i) If the department issues an initial 
license, certificate, or registration to an 
applicant who is a military spouse in 
accordance with subsection (f) of this 
section, the department shall assess whether 
the applicant has met all licensing, 
certification, or registration requirements of 
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this state by virtue of the current license, 
certificate, or registration issued by another 
jurisdiction. The department shall provide 
this assessment in writing to the applicant at 
the time the license, certificate, or 
registration is issued. If the applicant has not 
met all licensing, certification, or 
registration requirements of this state, the 
applicant must provide proof of completion 
at the time of the first application for 
license, certificate, or registration renewal. 
A license, certificate, or registration shall 
not be renewed, shall be allowed to expire, 
and shall become ineffective if the applicant 
does not provide proof of completion at the 
time of the first application for licensure 
renewal. 
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