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Executive Summary

This report was created as required by the 2014-15 General Appropriations Act, S.B. 1, 83rd
Texas Legislature Regular Session, 2013 (Article Il, Health and Human Services, Department of
State Health Services, Rider 94). Rider 94 requires the Texas Department of State Health
Services to collect data and provide a report on all licensed birthing centers across the state. This
report represents data from September 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. Birthing center compliance with
this reporting requirement was high; all the centers that were open and operating during this
period provided reports.

Totals were calculated based on all responses received from Texas licensed birthing centers. The
following is a summary of the results:

1. Atotal of 62 centers submitted reports from September 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014.

2. 3,142 live births occurred across all Texas licensed birthing centers.

3. The majority of live births (3,068, 97.6%) occurred between 37 and 41 weeks of gestation.
Only 18 births were preterm (less than 37 weeks of gestation), all of which were at 36 weeks
of gestation.


http://www.lbb.state.tx.us/Documents/GAA/General_Appropriations_Act_2014-15.pdf
http://www.lbb.state.tx.us/Documents/GAA/General_Appropriations_Act_2014-15.pdf

Introduction

The 2014-15 General Appropriations Act, S.B. 1, 83rd Legislature Regular Session, 2013
(Article I, Health and Human Services, Department of State Health Services, Rider 94), required
the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to collect and report certain information
from each licensed birthing center in Texas. As defined by Texas Health and Safety Code,
Section 244.002, a birthing center is “a place, facility, or institution at which a woman is
scheduled to give birth following a normal, uncomplicated pregnancy, but does not include a
hospital or the residence of the woman giving birth.” No later than June 30 of each year of the
2014-2015 biennium, out of funds appropriated in this bill, DSHS was instructed to collect the
following measures from each licensed birthing center:

The number of women who gave birth at the birthing center;

The number of live births at the birthing center;

The number of births of stillborn infants at the birthing center;

The number of women transferred by the birthing center to another facility for birth or

postpartum complications;

The number of infants transferred by the birthing center to another facility for complications;

The number of women with multiple gestations who received treatment at the

birthing center;

7. The number of vaginal breech deliveries at the birthing center;

8. The number of births at the birthing center by women who have had a previous uterine
surgery, including a cesarean delivery;

9. The gestational age of infants at delivery at the birthing center;

10. The number of infants with an Apgar score of less than three at five minutes after delivery at
the birthing center;

11. The number of women and infants admitted to a hospital not later than the 72nd hour after
delivery at the birthing center; and

12. The number of women and infants who visited an emergency room not later than the 72nd

hour after delivery at the birthing center.

N =
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Subsection (b) of this Rider tasks DSHS to create a report on the operations of licensed birthing
centers. DSHS is required to submit a report to the Governor, the Legislative Budget Board, and
the appropriate standing committees of the Legislature by August 31 of each year of the 2014-
2015 biennium. The report’s format is determined by the Legislative Budget Board and includes
analysis and aggregate data.

As tasked in Subsection (b), this report is provided for the first year of the 2014-2015 biennium
and contains analysis and aggregate data from September 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014.


http://www.lbb.state.tx.us/Documents/GAA/General_Appropriations_Act_2014-15.pdf

Background

Methods
Data Collection

Data were collected from licensed birthing centers for two separate reporting periods: September
1, 2013 to December 31, 2013, and January 1, 2014 to May 31, 2014. DSHS’ Division of
Regulatory Services initially contacted birthing centers to request that they submit data
(Appendix B). Subsequently, between December 1, 2013, and January 31, 2014, and again
between May 1, 2014 and June 30, 2014, staff at the DSHS’ Center for Health Statistics
communicated with birthing centers to provide reminders and answer questions regarding Rider
94 and the reporting requirements.

A total of 62 licensed birthing centers operated throughout the reporting periods and provided
data included in this report. DSHS sent birthing centers instructions on how to complete the
forms and provided options to submit the forms by mail, electronic PDF, email, or fax (Appendix
C). On receipt, DSHS examined the forms for completeness and consistency. Forms were then
entered into an internal dataset for analysis.

Calculation of Totals

Totals for the 12 legislatively-required measures are provided in Appendix A. Data for measures
1-5, 7, 8, and 10 are provided as totals. Measure 6, the number of women with multiple
gestations is provided as totals by the number of gestations (twins, triplets, and four or more).
Measure 9, the gestational age of infants at delivery at the birthing center, is provided as totals by
weeks of gestation. There were no births reported with a gestational age earlier than 36 weeks of
gestation. Two measures were totaled separately for women and infants: measure 11, women and
infants admitted to a hospital within 72 hours after delivery; and measure 12, women and infants
who visited an emergency room within 72 hours after delivery.



Results

Table 1 provides totals for all licensed Texas birthing centers that reported. These totals answer
measures 1 through 12 as requested by the 2014-15 General Appropriations Act, S.B. 1, 83rd
Legislature Reqular Session, 2013 (Article Il, Health and Human Services, Department of State
Health Services, Rider 94, subsection a). In total, 3,142 live births occurred to 3,142 women
across all 62 birthing centers (Table 1). This represents approximately 1.1 percent of all live
births in Texas; 298,673 live births occurred in Texas between September 1, 2013, and May 31,
2014, based on provisional birth certificate data. In addition, two stillbirths occurred and this
represents 0.1 percent of all 1,524 fetal deaths that occurred in Texas during this same reporting
period based on provisional fetal death certificate data. Birthing centers varied in the number of
births, ranging from no births to over 450 births; however, half of the centers reported fewer than
35 births.

Totals were also provided for the number of transfers of women and infants, as well as hospital
admissions and visits to the emergency room within 72 hours of delivery (Table 1). A total of
524 women were transferred to another facility for complications, regardless of whether they
gave birth at the center. However, only 25 women were admitted to a hospital after delivery at
birthing centers, representing 0.8 percent of the total number of deliveries (Table 1). Only 1.6
percent, or 50, of reported infants were transferred by birthing centers to another facility after
birth.

Overall, 97.6 percent, or 3,068, of the infants were delivered at term, defined as between 37 and
41 completed weeks of gestation. 62.8 percent, or 1,975, of reported deliveries were at full term,
defined as between 39 and 40 completed weeks of gestation. There were 18 preterm births,
defined as less than 37 weeks of gestation. This comprised 0.6 percent of total births among all
centers combined, and all of these births were at 36 weeks of gestation.

Conclusions

Approximately 1.1 percent of all Texas live births, 3,142 in total, were delivered at Texas
licensed birthing centers between September 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014. While centers varied in
the number of births, half of the centers reported fewer than 35 births. 97.6 percent of infants
were delivered between 37 and 41 weeks of gestation, and just 1.6 percent of reported infants
were transferred to another facility after birth.

Limitations of Data and Results

This report includes only nine months of data from licensed birthing centers, which represent a
small proportion of all deliveries in Texas. Specifically, 3,142 live births were reported at these
birthing centers, whereas 298,673 live births occurred in Texas during the same time period. In
addition, two stillborn births were reported at these birthing centers whereas 1,524 fetal deaths
occurred in Texas during the same time period.

Data were provided by self-report and were only screened for data completeness and
consistency. Data were provided by self-report and were only screened for data completeness


http://www.lbb.state.tx.us/Documents/GAA/General_Appropriations_Act_2014-15.pdf
http://www.lbb.state.tx.us/Documents/GAA/General_Appropriations_Act_2014-15.pdf

and consistency. Data were submitted in aggregated format rather than as individual cases. This
was the first time these data were reported by Texas birthing centers. These limitations should be
considered when interpreting the results in this report.



Appendix A: Table

Texas Birthing Centers Totals by Measure
Representing Operations of 62 Texas Licensed Birthing Centers
September 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014

Measure Total*
1. Number of women who gave birth at birthing centers 3,142
2. Number of live births at birthing centers 3,142
3. Number of births of stillborn infants at birthing centers 2
4. Number of women transferred by birthing centers to another facility for birth or 524
postpartum complications
5. Number of infants transferred by birthing centers to another facility for complications 50
6. Number of women with multiple gestations who received treatment at birthing
centers:
Women with two gestations who received treatment 12
Women with three gestations who received treatment 1
Women with four or more gestations who received treatment 0
7. Number of vaginal breech deliveries at birthing centers 14
8. Number of births at birthing centers by women who have had a previous uterine 102
surgery, including a cesarean delivery
9. Gestational age of infants at delivery at birthing centers: **
Births at 36 weeks gestation 18
Births at 37 weeks gestation 151
Births at 38 weeks gestation 339
Births at 39 weeks gestation 814
Births at 40 weeks gestation 1,161
Births at 41 weeks gestation 603
Births at 42 weeks gestation 54
Births at 43 weeks gestation 4
10. Number of infants with an Apgar score of less than three at five minutes after 6
delivery at birthing centers
11. Number of women and infants admitted to a hospital not later than the 72nd hour
after delivery at birthing centers:
Women admitted to a hospital not later than the 72nd hour after delivery 25
Infants admitted to a hospital not later than the 72nd hour after delivery 33
12. Number of women and infants who visited an emergency room not later than the
72nd hour after delivery at birthing centers:
Women who visited an emergency room not later than the 72nd hour after delivery 16
Infants who visited an emergency room not later than the 72nd hour after delivery 19

*Total = The number of events for all Texas licensed birthing centers.

**

There were no births at less than 36 weeks gestation.



Appendix B: Letter and Form Provided by DSHS Requlatory Services

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES

P.O.Box 149347
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

1-888-963-7111
DAVID L. LAKEY MD. TTY: 1-800-735-2080
COMMISEIONER www. dshe state tstus

August 15,2013
Dear Birthing Center Provider:

Rider 94 of the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Appropriation
Bill was passed during the 83™ Regular Session of the Texas Legislature. This rider
requires DSHS to collect aggregate data from all licensed birthing centers in Texas.
This data is only required to be collected for each year of the next biennium.

Birthing Centers, as defined by Section 244.002 of the Texas Health and Safety
Code, will be required to report the following information for each year of the
2014-2015 biennium:

¢ the number of women who gave birth at the birthing center;
the number of live births at the birthing center;
the number of births of stillborn infants at the birthing center;
the number of women transferred by the birthing center to another facility
for birth or postpartum complications;
o the number of infants transferred by the birthing center to another facility for

complications;

o the number of women with multiple gestations who received treatment at the
birthing center;

o the number of vaginal breech deliveries at the birthing center;

o the number of births at the birthing center by women who have had a
previous uterine surgery, including a cesarean delivery;

o the gestational age of infants at delivery at the birthing center;
o the number of infants with an APGAR score of less than three at five
minutes after delivery at the birthing center;

o the number of women and infants admitted to a hospital not later than the
72nd hour after delivery at the birthing center; and

e the number of women and infants who visited an emergency room not later
than the 72nd hour after delivery at the birthing center.

Please report the above referenced data for the following periods no later than the
designated due dates below:

An Equal Opportunity Emplover and Providar



Birthing Center Provider
August 15, 2013

Page 2
Due no later than Reporting Period
January 31, 2014 September 1, 2013 — December 31, 2013
June 30, 2014 January 1, 2014 — May 31, 2014
January 31, 2015 June 1, 2014 — December 31, 2014
June 30, 2015 Januvary 1, 2015 — May 31, 2015

You may submit your data by one of the following options:
1) completing a table (survey) on the Internet via
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/chs/vstat/BirthingCenters.shtm;
2) completing the provided spreadsheet in the Excel format and sending it via
email to: vstat@dshs.state.tx.us; or
3) sending the enclosed report by regular mail to:
VSTAT, Birthing Center Reports
Center for Health Statistics
Department of State Health Services
PO Box 149347, MC 1898
Austin, TX 78714-9347

If vou have any questions on reporting with this form, please contact Dr. Marcia
Becker at 512-776-6438 or by e-mail at Marcia.becker @dshs.state.tx.us.

Sincerely,

Renee Clack, LNF.A.
Director, Health Care Quality Section
Division for Regulatory Services

ATTACHMENT: Texas Birthing Center Data Report Form

An Equal Qoportunity Employer and Provider
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Texas Birthing Center Data Report Form As Directed by Senate Bill 1 - Appropriations, Rider 34

2135ept-Dec
Facility Narme: 1D Number: {license#) Reporting Period:  Jan - May 2014

June- Dec 2014
Reporting Contad Name: Jan - May 2014

Reporting Contad Phone:
Reporting Contad Email:

1) Nurnber of wormen whogave birth at the birthing center:
2 Nurnber of live births at this birthing center:

3 Nurrnber of births of stillborn infants at thehbirthing center
4] Nurnber of wornen transferred by the birthing centerto

another facility for birth or postpartum complications

5] Nurrnber of infants transferred by the birthing center
to another fadlity for complications.

WO IUL

&) Nurnber of wornen with multiple gestation s who twins
received treatment at the birthing center triplets 4 grmore l:l
7 MNumber of vaginal breech deliveries* at the hirthing center

11



23] Nurrnber of births at the birthing center by women who had

a previous uterine surgery, including a cesarean deivery® l:l
Gestational azeof infants* at delivery at the birthing center {number of
9 birth s in each weekly group):
27
18weeks 19weeks 20weeks 21weeks 22weeks 23weeks 24 weeks DSweeks 26weeks weeks
37
28weeks  29weeks 30weeks 3lweeks 32weeks 33weeks 3 weeks 35 weeks 36 weeks weeks
38weeks 39weeks 4d0weeks dlweeks 42weeks  43weeks
10) Nurrnber of infants with APGAR score of less than three
at five minutes after ddivery at the hirthing center: l:l
11} Nurnber of wornen and infants admitted to a hospital not later than the 72nd hour
after delivery® at the birthing center: Wormen |:| infants l:l
12) Nurrnber of wornen and infants who visited an emergency room not later than the 72nd hour after
delivery® at the birthing center: Wormen I:l infants l:l
* live & stillborn
Questions? Call Dr. Marcia Becker 512-776-6438 or email:  vstat@dshs.state:brus  (email electronic Excel file toreport)

[preferred)

12



To mail your paper report, sendto:

Birthing Center Data Reporting
Center for Health Statistics, VSTAT
Department of State Health Services
PO Box 149347, MC 1898

Austin, Texas 787149347

13



BxC5 TEXAS
(e

Formulario de informe de datos de centrode parto  De conformidad con la Cléusula adiconal 54 dd Proyedo deley 1 del Senado

de Texas sobre asignaciones
septiembre diciembre de 2013
Normbre del centro: Nimero de identificacion: {licencia#)
Periodo dd informe: enerc-mayo te 2014
junic-diciembre de 2014
Norbre del contacto para los informes: enerc-mayo te 2014

Te&ono del contacto paralos informes:
Correo electronico dd contacto para los informes:

1) Mirnero de mujeres gue dieron a luz en el centro departo:

2 Nimero de partos vivos en el centro de parto:

3 Nimero de bebés nacidos muertos en d centro de parto

4) Mirnero de mujeres gue el centro de parto traslads a otro entro

3 causa de complicaciones durante d parto o después del parto

5) MNimero de bebés gqueel centro de partotraslado a
otro centro a causa de complicaciones,

9] Mamero de mujeres con gestaciones maltiples que Gemelos
redibieron tratamiento en el centro de parto Trillizos

aomss [ ]

Mamero de partos vaginales en los gue el bebé venia de nalgas® en el centro
7 de parto

IO DL

14



23] Numero de partos en d centro de parto demujeres gue habian
tenido una cirugia utering, incluido el parto por cesarea® l:l

Edad gestacional delos bebés® al momento del parto en d centro de parto
9 tnimero de partos por cada grupo por semanal:

18 s=manas 19 sernanas 20 semanas 21 sernanas  22sermanas 253 semanas 24 semanas XS semanas 26 semanas 27 seranas

2B s=manas 2 sernanas 30 semanas 51 sernanas  S2sermanas 535 semanas 34 semanas 35 sermanas 36 semanas 57 sernanas

38 smmanas 39 sernanas 40 semanas 41 sermanas 42semanas 45 semanas

10]  Mimero de bebés con una calificaci on de menos detres en la escalade
Apgar a los cinco minutos de haber nacido en el centro de parto: I:'

11)  Mimero demujeresy bebés que fueron hospitalizados a mas tardar 72 horas
después del parto® en el centro de parto: Wlujeres I:I Bebés l:l

12)  Mimero demujeresy bebés quefueron a la salade emergencias a mas tardar 72 horas después del
parto® en el centro de parto: Wlujeres I:' Bebés IP:|

* Nacidos vivos y muertos

Sitiene alguna pregunta llame a la Dra. Marcia Becker al 512-776- 6438 [Presente su informe por correo electronico
o mande un correo electronicoa: vetat@dshs.statebrus  comoarchivo Excel electronico)
[Métado preferido)

15



Paraenwiar por corren postal su informeimprese, use este domidilio:

Birthing Center Data Reporting
Center for Health Statistics, VSTAT
Department of State Health Services
PO Box 149347, MC 1898

Austin, Texas 78714-9347

16



Appendix C: Form Instructions Provided by the Center for Health Statistics

Instructions for Completing the Texas
Birthing Center Data Report Form

Due to Rider 94 ofthe Texas Department of State Health Services Appropriation Bill (passed
during the 83" Regular Session of the Texas Legislature), birthing centers are required to
submit this form for each year of the next biennium. This bill may be viewed online at
http://www.lbb.state.bc.us/Appropriations_Bills/83/Conf_Bill. pdf.

All Texas state-licensed birthing centers fall under this requirement. Birthing centers are

defined by Section 244.002 of the Texas Health and Safety Code as “a place, facility, or

institution at which a woman is scheduled to give birth following a normal, uncomplicated
pregnancy, but does not include a hospital or the residence ofthe woman giving birth.”

This requirement is new and separate from regular submissions of vital records (e.g. birth
certificates). Many questions are different from those on the birth certificate, so please follow
the directions below.

This form must be submitted by the due date for each reporting period below:

Due no later than Reporting Period

January 31, 2014 September 1, 2013 — December 31, 2013
June 30, 2014 January 1, 2014 — May 31, 2014

January 31, 2015 June 1, 2014 — December 31, 2014
June 30, 2015 January 1, 2015 — May 31, 2015

*  You may submit your data by one of the following options:
1. Complete the “fillable” PDF form. This form can be obtained by contacting Jeff
Swanson at jeff. swanson@dshs state tx.us
a. After completing the form, you can submit it by clicking on the “Submit”
button on the bottom-right of the third page of the form. You should receive
a popup box saying “Submission Successful: Thank you for completing the
form.”
b. Be sure to save a copy of the PDF for your own records.
c. If you submit multiple versions, only the last one submitted will be
used.
2. Send the completed form via email to vstat@dshs.state tx.us.
a. To aid processing, please include “Birthing Center Report” in the subject
line.
b. If you email multiple versions, only the last one submitted will be
used.
3. Send the report form by regular mail to:
VSTAT, Birthing Center Reports
Center for Health Statistics
Department of State Health Services
PO Box 149347, MC 1898
Austin, TX 78714-9347

17



General Instructions

» If possible, please submit the form via option 1 (Internet PDF Submission). Submissions
by regular mail are discouraged due to the extra time and processing for mailed
documents. If you choose to submit the form by mail, please type your responses or print
legibly using permanent blue or black ink.

» Complete each item, following the specific instructions for that item (below). Do not leave
blanks unless specifically authorized.

* Do not use correction fluid or make alterations, erasures, or strike-overs.

» Avoid abbreviations, except those recommended in the specific item instructions.

» Verify all names, phone numbers, emails, and data responses before submitting. Be
especially careful with the facility name and Facility ID Number.

» Submit responses in items 1-12 data in whole, positive nhumbers only. No fractions or
decimals are allowed.

* Responses must be provided to all questions.

These instructions and the form use the term “stillborn”. The Texas Health and Safety code
definition for stillbirth/stillborn is “an unintended, intrauterine fetal death occurring in this state
after a gestational age of not less than 20 completed weeks”. This means that, when counting
stillborn, only those which were unintended fetal deaths and at least 20 weeks of gestation
should be counted. Tex. Health & Safety Code 3 (Vital Statistics) § 192.0022(1).

http:/fAww. statutes.legis.state .bcus/Docs/HS/pdfHS. 192.pdf

If you have any questions on reporting with this form, please contact Jeff Swanson at (512) 776-
2154, or by e-mail at jeff. swanson(@dshs.state.bc.us

18



Item-by-Item Instructions

Facility Name

Enter the whole name of the birthing facility. Select the birthing facility name from the drop-down
list or write in the name. Double-check the spelling of the facility.

ID Number

Enter the official state license number of the birthing facility. Select the birthing facility number
from the drop-down list or write in the number. Double-check that the number is correct.

Reporting Contact Name, Phone, and Email

Enter the contact information for the person that correspondence should be directed to. This is
the person we should contact if we have any questions.

Reporting Period
Select the reporting period for these data. Please select only one and provide numbers only for
that reporting period. Note that the reporting periods are not identical.

**Note: All of questions 1-12 refer to the birthing center.
They do not refer to the home or other locations.™

1. Number of women who gave birth at the birthing center

Enter the total number of women who gave birth in the center during the entire reporting period.
Include all births, whether live or stillborn. If a woman gave birth to twins, triplets, etc., that
woman is still counted as 1. If none, enter 0.

2. Number of live births at this birthing center

Enter the total number of live births in the center during the entire reporting period. Count live
births only. For example, single births count as 1, twins as 2, and triplets as 3. If none, enter 0.

3. Number of births of stillborn infants at the birthing center

Enter the total number of stillborn in the center during the entire reporting period. Count stillborn
only. If none, enter 0.

4. Number of women transferred by the birthing center to another
facility for birth or postpartum complications

Enter the total number of women that were transferred to any other facility during the entire
reporting period due to complications during or after birth. If none, enter 0.

19



5. Number of infants transferred by the birthing center to another
facility for complications

Enter the total number of infants that were transferred to any other facility during the entire
reporting period due to complications during or after birth. If none, enter 0.

6. Number of women with multiple gestations who received
treatment at the birthing center

For this repont, treatment means any kind of care provided at the birthing center, including
prenatal care and delivery.

There are three boxes for this question, one for women with twins, one for women with triplets,
and one for women carrying 4 or more. For each box, enter the total number of women with
multiple gestations that delivered, received prenatal care, or both at the birthing center during
the entire reporting period. Enter numbers only for confirmed multiple gestations. If none, enter
0.

What do f do if a woman received freatment in fwo reporting periods?
In this case, use the following table to determine how you will report.

Reporting Periods Receiving Treatment When to Report

September 2013 — December 2013 __L Report that woman only in the September
& January 2014 — May 2014 2013 — December 2013 period.

January 2014 — May 2014
& June 2014 — December 2014

Report that woman in both reporting periods.

June 2014 — December 2014 Report that woman only in the June 2014 —
& January 2015 — May 2015 December 2014 reporting period.

7. Number of vaginal breech deliveries at the birthing center

Enter the total number of vaginal breech deliveries that occurred at the birthing center during the
entire reporting period. Include both live and stillborn vaginal breech deliveries. If none, enter O.

8. Number of births at the birthing center by women who had a
previous uterine surgery, including a cesarean delivery

Enter the total number of births during the entire reporting period that occurred by women that,
at any point, had a previous uterine surgery or cesarean delivery. Count the total number of
births {i.e. twins count as 2). Include both live and stillborn deliveries. Enter numbers only for
confirmed previous uterine surgeries or cesarean deliveries. If none, enter 0.

20




9. Gestational age of infants at delivery at the birthing center
(number of births in each weekly group)

Enter the total number of births by amount of weeks of gestation that occurred during the entire
reporting period. Include both live and stillborn deliveries. If unsure of the exact week, use the
best estimate. If no births occurred at that many weeks of gestation, enter 0.

For example, during one reporting period a center had 45 births at 40 weeks gestation, 3 births
estimated at 40 weeks gestation, and 1 birth at 30 weeks gestation. In this case, the center
should enter 48 under “40 weeks” and 1 under “30 weeks”.

If you have any questions on reporting this item, please contact Jeff Swanson at (512) 776-
2154, or by e-mail at jeff. swanson({@dshs.state.bx.us. You can also send your comments or
concerns via email to vstat@dshs.state.bcus

10. Number of infants with APGAR score of less than three at five
minutes after delivery at the birthing center

Enter the total number of infants, during the entire reporting period, that received an APGAR
score of 2 or less when tested at five minutes after delivery. If none, enter 0.

11. Number of women and infants admitted to a hospital not later
than the 72"? hour after delivery at the birthing center

Enter the total number of women and the total number of infants that were admitted to a hospital
within 72 hours of delivery. Enter the number of women admitted under the box labeled
“Women” (include women with both live and stillborn births) and the number of infants admitted

under the box labeled “Infants”. Only count individuals that were actually admitted to the
hospital. If none, enter 0.

12. Number of women and infants who visited an emergency room
not later than the 72" hour after delivery at the birthing center

Enter the total number of women and the total number of infants that went to an emergency
room within 72 hours of delivery. Enter the number of women admitted under the box labeled
“Women” (include women with both live and stillborn births) and the number of infants admitted
under the box labeled “Infants”. Only count individuals that actually visited an emergency room.
If none, enter 0.

Remember to submit the report by the due date, and remember to save a copy for your own
records!

Last updated: May 20, 2014

21



Instrucciones para llenar el Formulario de
informe de datos de centro de parto de Texas

Araiz de la Clausula adicional 94 del Proyecto de Ley sobre asignaciones para el
Departamento Estatal de Servicios de Salud de Texas (aprobado en la 83.% Sesidén Regular
de la Asamblea Legislativa de Texas), se exige que los centros de parto presenten este
formulario cada afio del proximo bienio. El proyecto de ley en inglés esta disponible en linea
en http:/Awww .lbb.state tx.us/Appropriations_Bills/83/Conf_Bill. pdf.

Todos los centros de parto con licencia estatal de Texas estan sujetos a este requisito. El
término centros de parto se define en la seccidén 244.002 del Codigo de Salud y Seguridad
de Texas como "los lugares, los centros o las instituciones en los que se programa que las
mujeres den a luz después de ellas tener embarazos normales y sin complicaciones, y no
incluyen los hospitales ni las residencias de las mujeres que dan a luz".

Este requisito es nuevo y el formulario se presenta por separado ¥y no junto con los registros
vitales (p. ej. las actas de nacimiento). Ya que muchas de las preguntas son distintas a las
que aparecen en el acta de nacimiento, por favor siga las siguientes indicaciones.

El formulario debe presentarse antes de la fecha limite de cada uno de los siguientes
periodos de informe:

Debe presentarse antes del Periodo del informe
31 de enero, 2014 1 de septiembre, 2013 al 31 de diciembre, 2013
30 de junio, 2014 1 de enero, 2014 al 31 de mayo, 2014
31 de enero, 2015 1 de junio, 2014 al 31 de diciembre, 2014
30 de junio, 2015 1 de enero, 2015 al 31 de mayo, 2015

* Puede presentar los datos mediante una de las siguientes opciones:
1. Complete el formulario PDF "rellenable". Este formulario se puede obtener poniéndose
en contacto con Jeff Swanson en jeff. swanson@dshs.state.bcus.

a. Después de llenar el formulario, puede enviarlo haciendo clic en el botén
"Submit" en la esquina inferior derecha del formulario. Debe aparecer una
casilla emergente que dice "Submission Successful: Thank you for completing
the form."

b. Aseglrese de quedarse una copia del archivo PDF para sus archivos.

c. SI envia multiples versiones, sdlo usaremos la Ultima que nos envie.

2. Envie el formulario completo por correo electrénico a vstat@dshs.state.bous.

a. Para facilitar la tramitacion, por favor incluya "Birthing Center Report” en la linea de
asunto.

b. Si mandamuiltiples versiones por correo electrénico, sélo usaremos la
ultima que nos envie,

3. Mande el formulario de informe adjunto por correo postal regular a:
VSTAT, Birthing Center Reports
Center for Health Statistics
Department of State Health Services
PO Box 149347, MC 1898
Austin, TX 78714-9347
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Instrucciones generales

De ser posible, por favor envie el formulario usando la opcién 1 (envio de archivo PDF
por Internet). Recomendamos que no envie el formulario por correo postal por el tiempo
extra y los tramites extras que los documentos enviados por correo postal requieren. Si
elige enviar el formulario por correo postal, por favor escriba sus respuestas a maquina o
en letra de molde de forma legible usando tinta permanente azul o negra.

Llene cada punto, siguiendo las instrucciones especificas para dicho punto (a
continuacion). No deje espacios en blanco a menos que esté especificamente
autorizado.

No use liquido corrector ni haga modificaciones, no borre ni tache.

Evite las abreviaturas, a excepcion de las que se recomiendan en las instrucciones
especificas para el punto.

Verifigue todos los nombres, los numeros de teléfono, los correos electrénicos y las
respuestas con datos antes de enviarlos. Tenga cuidado particularmente con el nombre
del centro y el niumero de identificacion de centro.

Presente respuestas para los puntos 1-12 en forma de nimeros enteros positivos. No se
permiten fracciones ni decimales.

Debe responder todas las preguntas.

En las instrucciones y en el formulario se usa el término "nacide muerto". En el Cédigo de Salud
y Seguridad de Texas, la definicion del término nacido muerto es "la muerte fetal intrauterina no
planeada que ocurre en este estado después de una edad gestacional de no menos de 20
semanas completas". Eso significa que, al contar a los bebés nacidos muertos, solo deben
contarse aquellas muertes que fueron muertes fetales no planeadas y ocurrieron después de al
menos 20 semanas de gestacion. Codigo de Salud y Seguridad de Texas, titulo 3 {Estadisticas
vitales) § 192.0022(1). Archivo PDF en inglés
http:/fwww.statutes.legis.state.tbcus/Docs/H SfpdffiHS. 192 pdf.

Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre como presentar informes usando este formulario, comuniquese
con la Jeff Swanson por teléfono al (512) 776-2154, o por correo electrénico a
jeff. swanson@dshs state b us.
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Instrucciones punto por punto

Nombre del centro
Ponga el nombre completo del centro de parto. Verifique la ortografia del nombre de su centro.

Nimero de id.

Ponga el nimero de licencia estatal oficial del centro de parto. Verifique que el ndmero sea el
correcto.

Nombre, teléfono y correo electrénico del contacto para los informes

Ponga la informacion de contacto de la persona a quien debe dirigirse la correspondencia. Ella
es |la persona a quien deberiamos contactar si tenemos alguna pregunta.

Periodo del informe

Seleccione el periodo de informe de estos datos. Seleccione sélo uno y provea sodlo las cifras
que correspondan a dicho periodo de informe. Tome en cuenta que los periodos de informe no
son idénticos.

**Nota: los puntos 1-12 todos se refieren al centro de parto. Estos
no se refieren a los hogares ni a otros lugares.™

1. Nimero de mujeres que dieron a luz en el centro de parto

Ponga el nimero total de mujeres que dieron a luz en el centro durante todo el periodo de
informe. Incluya todos los partos, ya sea que los bebés hayan nacido vivos o muertos. Aunque
la mujer haya tenido gemelos, trillizos, stc., ella cuenta como solo 1. Si ninguna dio a luz en el
centro de parto, ponga 0.

2. Namero de partos vivos en el centro de parto

Ponga el niumero total de partos vivos que hubo en el centro durante todo el periodo de informe.
Cuente solo los partos vivos. Por ejemplo, los partos de un solo bebé cuentan como 1, los de
gemelos como 2 y los de trillizos como 3. Si no hubo ninguno, ponga 0.

3. Namero de bebés nacidos muertos en el centro de parto

Ponga el numero total de bebés nacidos muertos en el centro durante todo el periodo de
informe. Cuente sélo a los bebés nacidos muertos. Si no hubo ninguno, ponga 0.

4. Namero de mujeres que el centro de parto trasladé a otro centro
a causa de complicaciones durante el parto o después del parto

Ponga el nimero total de mujeres que fueron trasladadas a cualquier otro centro durante todo el
periodo de informe a causa de complicaciones durante el parto o después del parto. Si ninguna
mujer fue trasladada, ponga 0.
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5. Namero de bebés que el centro de parto trasladé a otro centro a
causa de complicaciones

Ponga el nimero total de bebés que fueron trasladados a cualquier otro centro durante todo el
periodo de informe a causa de complicaciones durante el parto o después del parto. Si ningln
bebé fue trasladado, ponga 0.

6. Namero de mujeres con gestaciones multiples que recibieron
tratamiento en el centro de parto

En lo que respecta a este informe, tratamiento significa cualquier tipo de atencién provista en el
centro de parto, incluida la atencion prenatal y el parto.

Hay tres casillas bajo este punto, una para las mujeres embarazadas de gemelos, otra para las
mujeres embarazadas de trillizos y otra para las mujeres embarazadas de cuatrillizos o mas de
4 bebés. En cada casilla, ponga el nimero total de mujeres con gestaciones maultiples que
dieron a luz, recibieron atencién prenatal o ambas cosas en el centro de parto durante todo el
periodo de informe. Ponga sdlo las cifras que correspondan a las gestaciones maltiples
confirmadas. Si no hubo ninguna gestacién multiple confirmada, ponga 0.

¢ Qué debo hacer sifa mujer recibio tratamiento en dos periodos de informe distintos?
En ese caso, use una siguiente tabla para determinar cémo hacer los informes.

Periodos de informe en los que la Cuando debe hacer informes
mujer recibid tratamiento

Septiembre de 2013 a diciembre de 2013 | Incluya a la mujer en el informe para solo el periodo
y enero de 2014 a mayo de 2014 = de septiembre de 2013 a diciembre de 2013.

Enero de 2014 a mayo de 2014 — Incluya a la mujer en el informe para ambos
y junio de 2014 a diciembre de 2014 periodos.
Junio de 2014 a diciembre de 2014 Incluya a la mujer en el informe para solo el periodo

y enero de 2015 a mayo de 2015 _’de informe de junio de 2014 a diciembre de 2014.

7. Namero de partos vaginales en los que el bebé venia de nalgas
en el centro de parto

Ponga el numero total de partos vaginales en los que el bebé venia de nalgas que ocurrieron en
el centro de parto durante todo el periodo de informe. Incluya los partos vaginales en los que el
bebé venia de nalgas y nacié vivo y en los que nacié muerto. Si no hubo ninguno, ponga 0.

8. Namero de partos en el centro de parto de mujeres que habian
tenido una cirugia uterina, incluido el parto por cesarea

Ponga el numero total de partos que ocurrieron durante todo el periodo de informe de mujeres
que, en algdn momento, tuvieron una cirugia uterina o un parto por cesarea. Cuente el nimero
total de partos (p. ej. los gemelos cuentan como 2). Incluya tanto a los bebés que nacieron vivos
como a los que nacieron muertos. Ponga sdlo las cifras que correspondan a las cirugias
uterinas y los partos por cesarea confirmados. Si no hubo ninguno, ponga 0.
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9. Edad gestacional de los bebés al momento del parto en el centro
de parto (nimero de partos por cada grupo por semana)

Ponga el numero total de partos, segun el nimero de semanas de gestacion, que ocurrieron
durante todo el periodo de informe. Incluya tanto a los bebés que nacieron vivos como a los que
nacieron muertos. Si no esta seguro de la semana exacta, use la mejor aproximacion. Si no
ocurrio ningln parto en dada semana de gestacion, ponga 0.

Por ejemplo, en un periodo de informe de un centro hubo 45 partos a las 40 semanas de
gestacion, 3 partos que se calcula fueron a las 40 semanas de gestacion y 1 parto a las 30
semanas de gestacion. En ese caso, el centro debe poner 48 bajo la casilla "40 semanas" y 1
bajo la casilla "30 semanas".

Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre este punto del informe, comuniquese con la Jeff Swanson por
teléfono al (512) 776-2154 o por correo electronico a jeff.swanson@dshs.state.bc.us. También
puede mandar sus comentarios o sus dudas via correo electrénico a vstat@dshs.state.bcus.

10. Numero de bebés con una calificacién de menos de tres enla
escala de Apgar a los cinco minutos de haber nacido en el centro
de parto

Ponga el numero total de bebés, para todo el periodo de informe, que recibieron una calificacion
de 2 o menos al hacérseles la prueba APGAR a los cinco minutos de haber nacido. Sino hubo
ninguno, ponga 0.

11. Namero de mujeres y bebés que fueron hospitalizados a mas
tardar 72 horas después del parto en el centro de parto

Ponga el numero total de mujeres y el niUmero total de bebés que fueron hospitalizados en las
72 horas siguientes al parto. Ponga el nimero de mujeres hospitalizadas bajo la casilla
"Mujeres” (incluya a las mujeres cuyos bebés nacieron vivos y a las mujeres cuyos bebés
nacieron muertos) ¥ el nimero de bebés hospitalizados bajo la casilla "Bebés". Cuente solo a
los individuos que en realidad fueron hospitalizados. Si ninguno fue hospitalizado, ponga 0.

12. Numero de mujeres y bebés que fueron a la sala de emergencias
a mas tardar 72 horas después del parto en el centro de parto

Ponga el ndmero total de mujeres y el nimero total de bebés que fueron a la sala de
emergencias en las 72 horas siguientes al parto. Ponga el nimero de mujeres hospitalizadas
bajo la casilla "Mujeres"” (incluya a las mujeres cuyos bebés nacieron vivos y a las mujeres
cuyos bebés nacieron muertos) y el nimero de bebés hospitalizados bajo la casilla "Bebés".
Cuente sodlo a los individuos que en realidad fueron a la sala de emergencias. Si ninguno fue a
la sala de emergencias, ponga 0.

Recuerde presentar el informe antes de la fecha limite y recuerde quedarse una copia para sus
archivos.

Uktima actualizacion: 20 de mayo, 2014
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