Massage Therapy Licensing Program Home Page

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Transition Plan

Senate Bill 202 became effective on September 1, 2015. That bill has mandated the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) develop a transition plan for the “orderly transfer of powers, duties, functions, programs, and activities”. This plan has been completed and is now in effect.  Several important steps in this plan will occur over the next several weeks related to the following programs:   Massage TherapyCode Enforcement OfficersSanitariansOffender EducationLaser Hair Removal, and  Mold Assessment and Remediation.

  • As of October 13, 2017, licensees and applicants will not have access to VERSA Online, the online portal for licensing application and renewal, for programs which had this capability previously.  DSHS will cease initial licensing and renewal activities, and the application forms will no longer be available on the website.
  • As of October 20, 2017, DSHS will cease all licensing functions (including entry of new applications), in order to transmit licensing data to TDLR. This is necessary to ensure data integrity.
  • TDLR will begin licensing functions on November 1, 2017.  This means there will be a gap of approximately ten days during which neither agency will be able to perform licensing functions.  We apologize in advance for the inconvenience this may cause, but it is essential from a data standpoint.

In an effort to avoid renewal problems during this transition, a 90-day license extension has been granted to all licenses that expire in October, November, December. Updated license cards and/or letters indicating the new renewal date have been sent out to licensees that initially were to expire in October and November.  The December licensees will receive theirs shortly.

Please go to TDLR’s  website for more information about the transition process.

 



In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules pertaining to professional and business license or certification renewal applications, including the suspension of any late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

The effects of this suspension are to:

1.    Waive any required late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days; and

2.    Extend the term of any professional and business license listed below for a period of not more than 90 days to allow license/certificate holders affected by Hurricane Harvey time to submit the appropriate documentation and renewal fee. 

The Department has extended the expiration date of impacted licensees by 30 days.  In the last week of September, a determination will be made if further extension is warranted.

 

The Declaration is for:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

This temporary suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires, whichever comes first.

 



Welcome to the home page of the DSHS program that licenses and regulates massage therapists, massage therapy instructors, massage schools, and massage establishments in Texas. This website contains information about the regulation of massage therapy including licensing requirements, how to file a complaint, how to contact our office, and more.

Special Message for Military Personnel, Spouses, and Veterans

Statement Regarding Closure of Institute of Beauty and Massage (formerly Austin Schools of Massage)

Customer Service Survey
We value your feedback. Please take our online customer service survey at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/PLUsurvey. Thank you.

 

Online Search and Verification Now Available

Now you can perform a real-time search for licensees online, and you can even print a license verification. For more information, click the “Live Online Search Verification” link under the “Find A Licensee” heading to the left.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Sign up for e-mail updates

Last updated October 17, 2017