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Professional Licensing & Certification Unit

Massage Therapy Licensing Program 

P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982

Austin, Texas 78714-9347
(512) 834-6616

www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage
Massage Therapy Educational Program 

Application for Basic 500-Hour Program

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Read the enclosed law and rules before completing the application.  Please complete and submit this application with the appropriate original signatures.  Documents with copied or stamped signatures will be returned.  Incomplete applications may delay licensure.  

2. This application is for the 500-hour basic program only.  Additional locations require a separate application.

3. Fee Information
Attach the appropriate application fee in the form of a money order, personal check, or cashier’s check to the application.

· Massage Therapy Educational Training Program

Initial license and inspection fee (initial program - 2 year approval): $2805.00

4. Mail the completed application with the application fee, financial statements, and all required documentation to: 






Texas Department of State Health Services

Massage Therapy Licensing Program

P.O. Box 12197

Austin, Texas 78711-2197

5. If additional clarification is required, please contact the Massage Therapy Licensing Program at

(512) 834-6616.

Change of Ownership 

(refer to section §141.31)
If nothing within the school will change other than the ownership, please submit the following:

1. A new Massage Therapy Educational Program application and required fees, (currently $2805.00)

2. The new owner’s financial statements,

3. A letter, signed by the new owner, stating nothing will be changing or affect the training program with the new ownership, and

4. A copy of the catalog for the new training program listing the new owner(s), and changes in staff (director(s) and instructor(s)).

If the new ownership will be making changes, please complete and submit an application for a Massage Therapy Educational Program and follow the instructions.
Professional Licensing & Certification Unit 

Massage Therapy Licensing Program 

P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982

Austin, Texas 78714-9347
(512) 834-6616

Massage School 

Application for Basic 500-Hour Program
Type or print legibly.  Incomplete applications will not be evaluated.  Use N/A for “not applicable”.

General Information
1. Legal Name of the Training Program: __________________________________________________________

2. Name of Contact Person/Liaison ( if different from owner/director):__________________________________

3. Training Program Address: __________________________________________________________________

4. Training Program Complete Mailing Address:  __________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

5. Training Program Telephone Number (including area code):  _______________________________________

6. Training Program Fax Number (including area code): _____________________________________________

7. Type of ownership:  _____ Partnership     _____ Corporation     _____ Other

If other, please explain: _____________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

8. Name of owning individual, partnership, (or names of partners), or corporation:

______________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________

9. Registered address if corporation: __________________________________________________________

10. Complete address of partnership or individual owner:

_____________________________________________________________________________________

11. List all partners.  If this is a corporation, list all officers, directors and registered agents.  In addition, list each shareholder owning stock aggregating at least 35% of the total issued and outstanding shares.  Subsidiary corporations should list the parent corporation as stockholder.  (Use an additional sheet if necessary, and identify as Attachment A.)
Name



Title


Address


% Owned


_________________________________________________________________________________________


_________________________________________________________________________________________


_________________________________________________________________________________________

Professional Licensing & Certification Unit

Massage Therapy Licensing Program

P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982

Austin, Texas 78714-9347
 (512) 834-6616

Required Enrollment Information and Documents

A. One copy of the enrollment information, supplements or addenda, if appropriate, and student handbooks which the training program plans to use.  All data items listed in the attached checklist must be included in either the enrollment information, supplements, or addenda.

NOTE:  A draft of proposed enrollment information, supplements, and addenda should be submitted with a new school application.  Updated copies should be submitted when revisions are approved.  Complete the provided checklist and submit with this application and enclosures.

B  The following documents must be submitted with this application for a license:

1. List of all instructional staff and employees responsible for management of the training program.  

2. Copies of all enrollment agreement forms.  The proper refund policy must be included as part of the enrollment agreement.

3. Financial statements.  Indicate your Federal I.D. Number ______________________(issued by Internal Revenue Service)
4. Owner’s affidavit.

5. Pre-enrollment information checklist.

6. List of textbooks including the title, author, and copyright date to be used.

C.  The following documents  (1-14) must be maintained at the training program in current status and must be available at this                  location for review during the initial visit and during each compliance visit. 

1. A certificate of occupancy and current fire inspection certificate.  The fire inspection must be renewed annually.

2. A rental or lease agreement for the school facilities.  If the facilities are owned by the training program owner, submit a statement to that effect.  Name, address, and phone number of lessor/owner must be available.

3. A rental or lease agreement for any equipment used for instruction not owned by the training program, or if all equipment used for instruction is owned, a statement to that effect.

4. A description and floor plan of the training program facilities, including room numbers, dimensions of rooms, pupil capacities, and uses of the rooms.

5. An inventory of furniture, equipment, and instructional aids used in the classroom and/or other areas where instruction is provided.

6. A list of current textbooks including title, author, and copyright date.

7. One sample of each kind of certificate/diploma/transcript to be awarded upon satisfactory completion of training.

8. A description of the school’s system of maintaining a positive record of attendance.  As a minimum, explain:

a. the symbols used to indicate presences, absences, and tardies;

b. when attendance is recorded;

c. the use made of class roll books and/or other attendance forms; and

d. the maintenance of permanent attendance records.

9. The actual forms to be used by the training program to record attendance, progress, master student registration list, and transcripts.

10. A written record of the previous education and training of each student which clearly indicates that appropriate credit has been given for previous education and training, with the new training period shortened where required and the program cost reduced accordingly.  Official transcripts of all previous postsecondary institutions attended by the student must be placed in the student file with a written evaluation from the Department.

11. The training program must maintain a record of the receipt of enrollment agreements.

12. An academic transcript, which reflects permanent academic records, must be maintained.

13. After Initial Visit
a. Each training program shall maintain a legible Master Student Registration List kept in chronological order and consisting of at least the following information for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a down payment, and/or attends the school:

1. Date

2. Name of Student

3. Address of Student

4. Telephone Number

5. Social Security Number

6. Date of Birth

7. Name of Program

b.  If the student does not sign an enrollment agreement or make a down payment prior to the first day of attendance, the student’s name will be added to the master registration list on the first day of attendance; and

14. The school will maintain, on a current basis, a list of all representatives employed to recruit students.  Representatives will not be permitted to solicit students prior to licensure of the school.
STATEMENTS OF ASSURANCE

Please read and initial each of the following statements of assurance.

_____
The programs are of such quality, content, and length as may reasonably and adequately achieve


the stated objective for which the programs are offered.  Nothing in the programs authorize the 


practice of diagnosis, the treatment of illness or disease, or any service or procedure for which


a license to practice medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy or podiatry is required by law.

_____
The Texas Department of State Health Services Massage Therapy Basic Curriculum Course Outline will be


followed for the basic 500 hour course and the training program has been provided a copy.

_____
There is adequate space, equipment, instructional material, and instructor personnel to provide


training in accordance with the rules.

_____
Education and experience qualifications of the directors and instructors meet the minimum requirements.

_____
The training program will furnish the pre-enrollment information, offer a tour, a receipt form,

and acknowledgment as described in Rule §141.37 to each student, prior to execution 

of the enrollment agreement.

_____
The training program complies with all local, state, and federal regulations, such as fire, building,


and sanitation codes.

_____
The training program is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its commitments for instruction.

_____
A master Student Registration List will be maintained.

_____
Adequate records as prescribed by the rules will be kept to document attendance and student progress.


Satisfactory standards relating to attendance, progress, and conduct are enforced.



_____
The training program will maintain student academic transcripts which record academic records


permanently and will retain all other student records for at least three (3) years from the last date


attended for all students who graduated, dropped out, or transferred.  Financial records will be retained


as required by federal retention requirements, if applicable.

_____
Transcripts will be available to prospective employers and to students at a reasonable charge if the


student has fulfilled the financial obligation to the training program.  The transcript shall include only 


subjects actually taught by the training program. 
_____
A current list of all representatives employed to recruit students will be maintained.

_____
The training program will make available all of the records, documents, and necessary data required


for approval under the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 455, for inspection by authorized


representatives of the Texas Department of State Health Services.

_____
The training program will submit to the Texas Department of State Health Services prior notice of proposed changes


in location, new programs, application, bulletin, supplements, addenda, and exhibits.


Approval must be obtained in advance of implementation.

_____
The training program will not utilize false, deceptive, or misleading advertising, either by actual statement,

omission, or intimation.

_____
There is no action pending against the training program or against any of the owners, officers,


staff, faculty, or sales representatives of the training program by any federal, state, or local agency.  A 


statement of all misdemeanor and felony offenses of which the owners or operators have been 


convicted, entered a plea of nolo contendere or guilty, or received deferred adjudication must be 


included.

OWNER’S AFFIDAVIT
Pages 5 , 6 and 7 of this form must be executed and submitted by each of the following: ( Photocopy if necessary)

1. The individual person, in the case of individual ownership;

2. Each partner, in the case of ownership by a partnership;

3. Each shareholder, owning at least 35% of the total issued and outstanding shares, each director, and each officer

in the case of ownership by a profit corporation; or

4. Each director, in the case of ownership by a non-profit corporation (each director or officer of the corporation).

Legal Name of the Training Program: ___________________________________________________________________

Training Program Address: ___________________________________________________________________________

Position: _______________________________________________

Name: _____________________________________________________________________________________________

              (Last)




(First)




(Middle)

Maiden Name: __________________________________________ (If Applicable)

Social Security Number: _____________________________________________________________________________

The disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under the Family Code, Section 231.302 and the Health Insurance

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Section 221.  Social Security numbers are confidential and will be used for identification and

reporting purposes by law.

Date of Birth: __________________________________________

Business Address: ___________________________________________________________________________________

(Street, City, State, Zip)

Home Address: ________________________________________________________________________________________________

(Street, City, State, Zip)

_________________________________________________


________________________________________

Daytime Phone (Include Area Code)





Home Phone (Include Area Code)


With few exceptions, you have the rights to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you.  You are entitled to receive and review the information upon request.  You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information that is determined to be incorrect.  See http://www.dshs.state.tx.us for more information on Privacy Notification.  (Reference: Government Code, Section 522.021, 522.023, 559.003 and 559.004.)

Please answer the following questions.  If a question does not apply, enter “Not Applicable”.  Do not leave any space

blank.  Use additional sheets if necessary to answer questions.

1. List all other states in which you have operated a training program.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

2. List all proprietary and/or massage training programs in which you have held an ownership interest of at least 35%

or by which you have been employed in any capacity whether in or out of this state.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________

3. If you have ever had a diploma, credential, license or certificate of any kind denied, revoked, or suspended, or if 

you have held an ownership interest of at least 35% in, or been employed by, any proprietary training programs 

whose credentials, license, or certification has been denied, revoked, or suspended, please state the facts here.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

4. If you have ever been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation, please state
the date, court, offense, and punishment.
__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________

AFFIDAVIT

The individuals named below duly sworn, depose and say that the information in this application and accompanying information is true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief.  Further, the training program will be operated in compliance with all legal requirements.  Any deficiencies will be corrected and changes in the operation will not be made until written approval from the Texas Department of State Health Services is received, if required by the rules.

Signature of each individual owner, or each partner, (if a partnership), or each director (if a corporation) is required.  If applicant is another type of business entity, the Texas Department of State Health Services shall identify signatures needed.

___________________________________



________________________________

(Signature)







(Typed Name and Title)

___________________________________



________________________________

(Signature)







(Typed Name and Title)

___________________________________



________________________________

(Signature)







(Typed Name and Title)

___________________________________



________________________________

(Signature)







(Typed Name and Title)

___________________________________



________________________________

(Signature)







(Typed Name and Title)

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME THIS _________ DAY OF _____________________________, 20____.

STATE OF __________________ COUNTY OF ____________________________, WHERE WITNESSED.

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES ___________________________________.

                                     (Notary Seal)


_________________________________________________








SIGNATURE OF NOTARY

CHECKLIST

List corresponding page number’s where each item may be located

1. Table of Contents

2. Legal Name of the Training Program and Address

3. Identifying Data

a. Catalog Volume Number

b. Date of Publication

c. Effective Dates

4. History – Accreditations/Approvals

5. Description of Available Space, Facilities and Equipment

6. A listing of

a. Officers, Directors, Trustees

b. Individual Owner

c. Partnership

7. Listing of Faculty and Key Staff.

a. Degrees/Licenses Shown

b. Specialized Training

c. Area of Instruction

8. Fees, Tuition, and/or Special Charges

a. Registration Fee

b. Tuition Fee

c. Book Fee

d. Supplies Fee

e. Tool Fee

f. Laboratory Fee

g. Total Charges for the Program

h. Scholarship Terms

i. Individual Subject Fee

j. Other

9. Training Program Calendar

a. Holidays to be Observed

b. Enrollment Periods

c. Beginning and Ending Dates

d. Normal Hours of Operation

(1) Training Program

(2) Office

e. Scheduled Vacation Periods

f. Definitive Class Schedules (am, pm)

(1) Breaks

(2) Mealtime

10. Admission/Enrollment Policies

a. Admission/Enrollment Requirements

b. Specific Entrance Requirements Including Cut-off Scores, if applicable, For Each Program

11. Cancellation and Refund Policy

a. Cancellation Policy

b. Refund Policy

12. Programs

a. Title/Objective/purpose of each program

b. Complete Listing of Subjects

(1) Identifying Number

(2) Title

c. Contact and Credit Hours (if applicable) per subject

d. Total Contact and Credit Hours (if applicable) required for Completion of the Program

e. Requirements for Graduation (including Progress Requirements)

f. Length of Time required for Completion of each Program

g. Additional or Special Requirements for Completion

h. Unregulated Program Statements where Applicable

13. A synopsis of Each Subject Offered

a. Identifying Number

b. Title

c. Theory/Lab Contact Hours and Total Credit or Clock Hours for Each Subject

d. Prerequisites

e. A Complete Synopsis of the Contents of the Subject

14. A Definitive Description of the Grading and Marking System

15.   Training Program Policy Concerning Satisfactory Progress

a. Satisfactory Progress Defined

b. Grading Period Defined including Frequency of Progress Reports

c. Probation Policy and Terms of Probation Defined

d. Conditions for Termination

e. Conditions for Re-admittance

f. Policy on (if applicable):

(1) incomplete grades

(2) repeated subjects

(3) remedial work

(4) withdrawals

g. Document Awarded upon Completion

h. System for Providing Progress Reports to Students

16. Training Program Attendance Policy

a. Attendance Requirements – Policy Relating to

(1) Absences

(2) Tardies

(3) Make-up Work

(4) Leaves of Absence ( if applicable)

b. Conditions of Probation (if applicable)

c. Conditions for Termination

d. Conditions for Re-admittance

17. Training Program Policy Regarding Student Conduct

a. Causes for Termination

b. Policy for Re-admission

18. Description of Training Program Placement Assistance Policy (if applicable)

19. Credit Granted for Previous Education or Training Experience

20. Policies and Procedures to Resolve Student Grievances or Complaints

21. Approved and Regulated Statement

22. True and Correct Statement (Catalog/Supplements/Addenda/Handbooks)

NOTE:  Submit one (1) copy of the drafts of training program catalog, supplements, addenda, and handbooks, etc., which are

used to complete this checklist.  Do not submit final printed copies until you have been notified of the approval status of the documents submitted with this checklist.
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