Budget Z7121-105
x*

Department of
State Health Services

Professional Licensing & Certification Unit
Massage Therapy Licensing Program
P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

(512) 834-6616
www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage

Massage Therapy Educational Program
Application for Basic 500-Hour Program

INSTRUCTIONS

1.

2.

Read the law and rules before completing the application.

Please complete and submit this application with the appropriate original signatures. Documents with copied or
stamped signatures are not acceptable. Incomplete applications will delay licensure.

This application is for the 500-hour basic program only. Additional locations require a separate application.

Fee Information
Attach the appropriate application fee in the form of a money order, personal check, or cashier’s check to the
application.

- Massage Therapy Educational Training Program
Initial license and inspection fee (initial program - 2 year approval): $2805.00

Mail the completed application with the application fee, financial statements, and all required documentation to:

Texas Department of State Health Services
Massage Therapy Licensing Program

P.O. Box 12197

Austin, Texas 78711-2197

If additional clarification is required, please contact the Massage Therapy Licensing Program at

(512) 834-6616.

Change of Ownership
(refer to rule §140.335)

If nothing within the school will change other than the ownership, please submit the following:

1. A new Massage Therapy Educational Program application and required fees, (currently $2805.00)
2. The new owner’s financial statements,

3. A letter, signed by the new owner, stating nothing will be changing or affect the training program with the new
ownership, and

4. A copy of the catalog for the new training program listing the new owner(s), and changes in staff (director(s) and
instructor(s)).

If the new ownership will be making changes, please complete and submit an application for a Massage Therapy
Educational Program and follow the instructions.
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Budget Z7121-105
Professional Licensing & Certification Unit
Massage Therapy Licensing Program
P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

(512) 834-6616

Massage School
Application for Basic 500-Hour Program

Type or print legibly. Incomplete applications will not be evaluated. Use N/A for “not applicable”.

General Information

1. Legal Name of the Training Program:

2. Name of Contact Person/Liaison ( if different from owner/director):

3. Training Program Address:

4. Training Program Complete Mailing Address:

5. Training Program Telephone Number (including area code):

6. Training Program Fax Number (including area code):

7. Type of ownership: Partnership Corporation Other

If other, please explain:

8. Name of owning individual, partnership, (or names of partners), or corporation:

9. Registered address if corporation:

10. Complete address of partnership or individual owner:

11. List all partners. If this is a corporation, list all officers, directors and registered agents. In addition, list each shareholder
owning stock aggregating at least 35% of the total issued and outstanding shares. Subsidiary corporations should list
the parent corporation as stockholder. (Use an additional sheet if necessary, and identify as Attachment A.)

Name Title Address % Owned
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Professional Licensing & Certification Unit
Massage Therapy Licensing Program
P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982
Austin, Texas 78714-9347
(512) 834-6616

Required Information and Documents

A. Please see the attached Checklist for the list of documents to submit with this application.

B. The following documents (1-14) must be maintained at the training program in current status and must be available at this
location for review during the initial visit and during each compliance visit.

1.
2.

3.

~

11.
12.
13.

14.

A certificate of occupancy and current fire inspection certificate. The fire inspection must be renewed annually.
A rental or lease agreement for the school facilities. If the facilities are owned by the training program owner, submit a statement
to that effect. Name, address, and phone number of lessor/owner must be available.
A rental or lease agreement for any equipment used for instruction not owned by the training program, or if all equipment used for
instruction is owned, a statement to that effect.
A description and floor plan of the training program facilities, including room numbers, dimensions of rooms, pupil capacities,
and uses of the rooms.
An inventory of furniture, equipment, and instructional aids used in the classroom and/or other areas where instruction is
provided.
A list of current textbooks including title, author, and copyright date.
One sample of each kind of certificate/diploma/transcript to be awarded upon satisfactory completion of training.
A description of the school’s system of maintaining a positive record of attendance. As a minimum, explain:

a. the symbols used to indicate presences, absences, and tardies;

b. when attendance is recorded;

c. the use made of class roll books and/or other attendance forms; and

d. the maintenance of permanent attendance records.
The actual forms to be used by the training program to record attendance, progress, master student registration list, and transcripts.

. A written record of the previous education and training of each student which clearly indicates that appropriate credit has been given

for previous education and training, with the new training period shortened where required and the program cost reduced
accordingly. Official transcripts of all previous postsecondary institutions attended by the student must be placed in the student file
with a written evaluation from the Department.
A written record of the receipt of enrollment agreements.
An academic transcript, which reflects permanent academic records, must be maintained.
After Initial Visit
a. Each training program shall maintain a legible Master Student Registration List kept in chronological order and consisting
of at least the following information for any person who signs an enrollment agreement, makes a down payment, and/or
attends the school:

1. Date 5. Social Security Number
2. Name of Student 6. Date of Birth
3. Address of Student 7. Name of Program

4. Telephone Number
b.  If the student does not sign an enrollment agreement or make a down payment prior to the first day of attendance, the
student’s name will be added to the master registration list on the first day of attendance; and
The school will maintain, on a current basis, a list of all representatives employed to recruit students. Representatives will
not be permitted to solicit students prior to licensure of the school.
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STATEMENTS OF ASSURANCE
Please read and initial each of the following statements of assurance.

The programs are of such quality, content, and length as may reasonably and adequately achieve
the stated objective for which the programs are offered. Nothing in the programs authorize the
practice of diagnosis, the treatment of illness or disease, or any service or procedure for which

a license to practice medicine, chiropractic, physical therapy or podiatry is required by law.

The Texas Department of State Health Services Massage Therapy Basic Curriculum Course Outline will be
followed for the basic 500 hour course and the training program has been provided a copy.

There is adequate space, equipment, instructional material, and instructor personnel to provide
training in accordance with the rules.

Education and experience qualifications of the directors and instructors meet the minimum requirements.

The training program will furnish the pre-enrollment information, offer a tour, a receipt form,
and acknowledgment as described in Rule §140.341 to each student, prior to execution
of the enrollment agreement.

The training program complies with all local, state, and federal regulations, such as fire, building,
and sanitation codes.

The training program is financially stable and capable of fulfilling its commitments for instruction.
A Master Student Registration List will be maintained.

Adequate records as prescribed by the rules will be kept to document attendance and student progress.
Satisfactory standards relating to attendance, progress, and conduct will be enforced.

The training program will maintain student academic transcripts which record academic records
permanently and will retain all other student records for at least three (3) years from the last date
attended for all students who graduated, dropped out, or transferred. Financial records will be retained
as required by federal retention requirements, if applicable.

Transcripts will be available to prospective employers and to students at a reasonable charge if the
student has fulfilled the financial obligation to the training program. The transcript shall include only
subjects actually taught by the training program.

A current list of all representatives employed to recruit students will be maintained.

The training program will make available all of the records, documents, and necessary data required
for approval under the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 455, for inspection by authorized
representatives of the Texas Department of State Health Services.

The training program will submit to the Texas Department of State Health Services prior notice of proposed changes
in location, new programs, application, bulletin, supplements, addenda, and exhibits.
Approval must be obtained in advance of implementation.

The training program will not utilize false, deceptive, or misleading advertising, either by actual statement,
omission, or intimation.

There is no action pending against the training program or against any of the owners, officers,

staff, faculty, or sales representatives of the training program by any federal, state, or local agency. A
statement of all misdemeanor and felony offenses of which the owners or operators have been
convicted, entered a plea of nolo contendere or guilty, or received deferred adjudication must be
included.
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OWNER’S AFFIDAVIT

Pages 5, 6 and 7 of this form must be executed and submitted by each of the following: ( Photocopy if necessary)

1. The individual person, in the case of individual ownership;

Each partner, in the case of ownership by a partnership;

3. Each shareholder, owning at least 35% of the total issued and outstanding shares, each director, and each officer
in the case of ownership by a profit corporation; or

4. Each director, in the case of ownership by a non-profit corporation (each director or officer of the corporation).

N

Legal Name of the Training Program:

Training Program Address:

Position:

Name:

(Last) (First) (Middle)

Maiden Name: (If Applicable)

Social Security Number:
The disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under the Family Code, Section 231.302 and the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Section 221. Social Security numbers are confidential and will be used for identification and
reporting purposes by law.

Date of Birth:

Business Address:

(Street, City, State, Zip)

Home Address:

(Street, City, State, Zip)

Daytime Phone (Include Area Code) Home Phone (Include Area Code)

With few exceptions, you have the rights to request and be informed about information that the
State of Texas collects about you. You are entitled to receive and review the information upon request.
You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information that is determined to be
incorrect. See http://www.dshs.state.tx.us for more information on Privacy Notification. (Reference:
Government Code, Section 522.021, 522.023, 559.003 and 559.004.)
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Please answer the following questions. If a question does not apply, enter “Not Applicable”. Do not leave any space
blank. Use additional sheets if necessary to answer questions.

1. Listall other states in which you have operated a training program.

2. Listall proprietary and/or massage training programs in which you have held an ownership interest of at least 35%
or by which you have been employed in any capacity whether in or out of this state.

3. If you have ever had a diploma, credential, license or certificate of any kind denied, revoked, or suspended, or if
you have held an ownership interest of at least 35% in, or been employed by, any proprietary training programs
whose credentials, license, or certification has been denied, revoked, or suspended, please state the facts here.

4.  If you have ever been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation, please state
the date, court, offense, and punishment.
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AFFIDAVIT

The individuals named below duly sworn, depose and say that the information in this application and accompanying
information is true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. Further, the training program will be
operated in compliance with all legal requirements. Any deficiencies will be corrected and changes in the operation
will not be made until written approval from the Texas Department of State Health Services is received, if required by
the rules.

Signature of each individual owner, or each partner, (if a partnership), or each director (if a corporation) is required.
If applicant is another type of business entity, the Texas Department of State Health Services shall identify signatures
needed.

(Signature) (Typed Name and Title)
(Signature) (Typed Name and Title)
(Signature) (Typed Name and Title)
(Signature) (Typed Name and Title)
(Signature) (Typed Name and Title)
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME THIS DAY OF , 20
STATE OF COUNTY OF , WHERE WITNESSED.

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

(Notary Seal)

SIGNATURE OF NOTARY
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CHECKLIST

Please submit the following documents with this application.
We may request additional information to ensure compliance with the rules.

1. Business and Financial documents (if applicable)
e Incorporation documents
Business license
Franchise Tax Letter
Sales Tax Permit
Financial statements as required by 8140.334(a)(1)
Estimate of expenses for three (3) months

2. School documents — the items below should contain all statements, policies and standards required by rule
88140.330-140.351
e Catalog
Enrollment Agreement
Student Acknowledgement forms
Master Registration form
Attendance forms
Progress Report forms
Make-up forms
e Sample Transcript
e Sample Initial Consultation Document (for use during internship)
e List of instructors
e Copies of instructor licenses

3. Site documents (must also be available during site inspection)
e Signed lease agreement

Detailed floor plan

List of all equipment by name

Fire Marshall Inspection Report

Certificate of Occupancy

Chain of command letter

4. Any additional items the school proposes to use, such as:
e Handbooks
e Manuals
e Handouts that supplement textbooks
e Forms not listed above

NOTE: Submit one (1) copy of the drafts of training program catalog, forms, etc., which are used to complete this checklist. Do
not submit final printed copies until you have been notified of the approval status of the documents submitted with this checklist.
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