• Contact Us

    For CHW certification questions:
    (512) 776-2570; or
    (512) 776-2624

    For Instructor or Training Program certification questions:
    (512) 776-3860; or
    (512) 776-2208

    Email questions:
    Email the CHW program

    Fax: (512) 776-7555

    Mailing address:
    Texas Department of State Health Services
    P.O. Box 149347, MC1945                                                                                          
    Attn: CHW Training and Certification Program
    Austin, TX 78714-9347

Community Health Workers - Training Information


Community Health Worker Certification Courses

List of CHW Training Programs (pdf)

What is a DSHS approved CHW certification course? A DSHS approved CHW certification course must meet three factors; The training program, the curricula, and the instructor must be certified by the Promotor(a) or Community Health Worker Training and Certification Program. Courses are at least 160 hours and cover the eight (8) core competencies:

  • Communication
  • Interpersonal
  • Service coordination
  • Capacity-building
  • Advocacy
  • Teaching
  • Organizational skills
  • Knowledge based on specific health issues.  

CHW certification courses are available face to face or online depending on the training program offering the course.  There are over 30 training programs in Texas. 

Contact the DSHS approved training program in your area to ask when the next DSHS certification course will begin.

 

Distance Learning/Online CHW Certification courses

To inquire about distance learning or online CHW certification courses, call or e-mail training program contacts.

 

Distance Learning

CCHD’s National CHW Training Center, Texas A&M School of Public Health

Contact: Denise Martinez at dmartine22@tamhsc.edu, 979/436-9360

  • New online classes begin quarterly, call for specific start dates

Texas Area Health Education Center East- Coastal Region

Contact: Leslie Hargrove at  409-933-0021 or leslie.hargrove@txaheceast.org

  • New classes begin when they have enough students interested.   

Northwest Vista College

Contact: Dr. Fernando Martinez  at fmartinez1@alamo.edu or 210-486-4382

  • Six courses are required for certification - each is eight weeks long and all are offered all year long.

 

CHW Certification

To find face-to-face CHW courses of at least 160-Hours provided by DSHS-certified training program, click on the Texas area of interest below:

 

North Texas (Lubbock, Amarillo)

North Central Texas (Abilene, Dallas, Fort Worth)

Central Texas (Austin, Buda, College Station, Round Rock, Waco)

South Texas (Brownsville, Edinburg, Laredo, McAllen, San Antonio, San Benito, Weslaco)

West Texas (El Paso, Midland, San Elizario)

East Texas (Houston, La Marque, Nacogdoches, Tyler)

 

North Texas

 

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing

Contact: Monica Garcia at 806/743-3020 or monica.r.garcia@ttuhsc.edu

  • Training provided in English only

Lubbock/ Amarillo

West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Debra Flores at 806/743-3644 or debra.flores@ttuhsc.edu

  • Provides training throughout West Texas, including Abilene, Plainview, Canyon, Midland and El Paso
  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor continuing education
  • Training provided in English only
 

 DSHS Health Service Region 1

Contact: Keila Johnson at 806/477-1113 or Keila.Johnson@dshs.texas.gov

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • Provides training throughout North Texas
  • Training provided in English only

 

 

North Central Texas

Dallas/Fort Worth

 

Baylor Scott & White Health & Wellness Center (BSW HWC)

Contact: Vanessa Mendez at 214/865-3065 or CHWTRAINING@BSWHealth.org

  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor certification and continuing education
  • Training provided in English only

El Centro College

Contact: Kim White at 214/860-2260 or 5ceadmit@dcccd.edu

Texas AHEC East DFW Region

Contact: Lori Millner at 241/648-8338 or lori.millner@txaheceast.org

  • May provide training in Spanish

Community Health Training Institute

Contact: Maudia Gentry at 214/ 801-8399 or cur-gen@swbell.net OR Yara William at yara.william@live.unthsc.edu

  • Training provided in English only
Children’s Medical Center

Contact: Jesus Alderete at 214/456-7000 or Jesus.Alderete@childrens.com

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • Training provided in English only
 Waco

Texas AHEC East Waco Region

Contact: Karen Brown at 254/753-4392 or Karen.brown@txaheceast.org

  • May provide training in Spanish

 

Central Texas

 ArlingtonUniversity of Texas at Arlington Health Careers Institute

Contact: Eric Walker at 817/272-0387 or eric.walker@uta.edu

  •  Training provided in English only

Austin Area

 

 

     

Cardea Services

Contact: Lori Weber at 512/982-9168 or Lweber@cardeaservices.org

  • Training provided in English only

El Buen Samaritano Episcopal Mission

Contact: Juan Rosa at  512/439-0728 or jrosa@elbuen.org

  • May provide training in Spanish 

PromoSalud

Contact: Jill Ramírez at 512/484-1507 or jill@latinohealthcareforum.org

  • Training provided in English only

Texas AHEC East Capital Region

Contact: Ashley King at 512/978-8136 or ashley.king1@txaheceast.org

  • Training provided in English only

Migrant Clinicians Network

Contact: Theressa Lyons at 512/579-4511 or tlyons@migrantclinician.org

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish

National Center for Farmworkers Health

Contact: Alicia Gonzales at 512/312-2700 or Gonzales@ncfh.org

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish
 

Office of Border Public Health

Contact: John Villarreal at 512/776-7436 or John.Villarreal@dshs.texas.gov

  • Certified only to provide CHW and CHW Instructor continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish


College Station

   

CCHD’s National Community Health Worker Training Center, Texas A&M School of Public Health

Contact: Denise Martinez at dmartine22@tamhsc.edu, 979/436-9360

  • Provides training by distance learning as well as in-person in College Station, the Rio Grande Valley and other locations by request
  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor certification and continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish

Texas A&M School of Public Health Office of Special Programs

Contact: Kay Carpender at 979/436-9478 or skcarpender@sph.tamhsc.edu or Brenda Sebesta at 979/436-9478 or skcarpender@sph.tamhsc.edu

  • Courses offered by distance learning
  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • Training provided in English only

 Texas A&M Center for Population Health & Aging

Contact: Jill Crouch at jacrouch@tamhsc.edu or 979/436-9365

  • Certified only to provide continuing education for CHWs and Instructors

 

South Texas

Corpus Christi

South Coastal Area Health Education Center

Contact: Belinda Flores at 361/881-8133 or floresb3@uthscsa.edu

  • May provide training in Spanish

Laredo

Gateway Community Health Center

Contact: Otila Garcia at 956/523-3691 or otilag.gateway@tachc.org

  • Training provided in English only

McAllen/

Edinburg

 

South Texas Promotora Association, Inc.

Contact: Merida Escobar at 956/383-5393 or Stpa08@outlook.com

  • Provides training throughout South Texas and in other locations by request
  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish
South Texas College

Contact: Juan Carlos Aguirre at 956/872-6782 or jcaguirr@southtexascollege.edu

  • Training provided in English only

San Antonio

 

 

Northwest Vista Community College

Contact: Dr. Fernando Martinez at 210/486-4382 or fmartinez1@alamo.edu

  • Training provided in English only 

Texas A&M Colonias Program Academy

Contact: Oscar Muñoz at 979/862-2372 or 800/633-2374 or omunoz@arch.tamu.edu 

Presa Community Center

Contact: Tina Gutierrez, 210/532-5295 Ext 224 or e-mail tgutierrez@presa.org

  • Training provided in English only

Weslaco

MHP Salud
Contact: Ana Longoria at 956/968-3600 or alongoria@mhpsalud.org

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish
 Brownsville

Proyecto Juan Diego

Contact: Sister Phylis Peters at 956/542-2488 or phylispeters@gmail.com

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • Training provided in English only

 

West Texas

 El Paso  

Familias Triunfadoras, Inc.

Contact: Maria Covernali at 915/851-1141

  • May provide training in Spanish

Adults and Youth United for Development Association, Inc. (A.Y.U.D.A. Inc.)

Contact: Amalia Meeks at 915/851-0272 or amy_meeks01@yahoo.com

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
  • Training provided in English and Spanish

East Texas

Houston

 

Día de la Mujer Latina

Contact: Venus Gines at 281/489-1111 or diadelamujerlatina@gmail.com

  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor certification and continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish

Houston Community College-Coleman College for Health Science

Contact: Rosalinda Garza at 713/718-2697 or Rosalinda.Garza@hccs.edu

  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor certification and continuing education
  • Training provided in English only

Texas AHEC East Greater Houston Area

Contact: Alex Reyna Jr. at 713/592-6411 or alex.reyna@txaheceast.org

  • Training provided in English only

University of Texas School of Public Health – Houston

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu

  • Provides training by distance learning as well as in-person in Houston, Brownsville, El Paso, Dallas and other locations by request
  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor Continuing Education
  • May provide training in Spanish

Texas AHEC East Coastal Region

Contact: Leslie Hargrove at 409/933-0021 leslie.hargrove@txaheceast.org

  • Also provides training by distance learning
  • Also certified to provide CHW Instructor certification and continuing education
  • May provide training in Spanish

Harris Health System

Contact: Denise LaRue at 713/634-1243 or Denise_Lue@hchd.tmc.edu  or Debbie Boswell at 713/634-1240 or debbie_boswell@hchd.tmc.edu

  • Certified only to provide CHW continuing education
 Longview

 LW Pharmacy School

Contact: Karen Moore at 903/295-5933 or k.moore@lwpschool.com

  • Training provided in English only

Nacogdoches

Texas AHEC East – Pineywoods Region

Contact: Lurah Bryant at 936/468-6942 lurah.bryant@txaheceast.org

  • Training provided in English only
 Tyler

University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler (UTHCT) 

Contact: Sonja Bush at 903/877-8935 or sonja.bush@uthct.edu 

  • Certified to provide CHW and CHW Instructor Continuing Education in Tyler and other locations by request

Return to CHW Program Home Page

 

 

 



   

Last updated August 8, 2018