Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists Home Page

 

Emergency Temporary Provider

In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor has issued a disaster declaration the following counties:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson
 

To facilitate relief efforts the Governor has suspended portions of the statute and rules governing Marriage and Family Therapy practice.  This suspension will allow Marriage and Family Therapists licensed in good standing in other U.S. states the opportunity to be registered with Texas for the purpose of providing counseling services to populations in the counties listed above.

If you are interested in this opportunity please complete the form below and email it to MFTHarvey@hhsc.state.tx.us .  Your application will be reviewed and if approved you will receive email confirmation that will allow you to provide counseling services.
 

Link to form


In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules pertaining to professional and business license or certification renewal applications, including the suspension of any late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

The effects of this suspension are to:

1.    Waive any required late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days; and

2.    Extend the term of any professional and business license listed below for a period of not more than 90 days to allow license/certificate holders affected by Hurricane Harvey time to submit the appropriate documentation and renewal fee. 

The Department has extended the expiration date of impacted licensees by 30 days.  In the last week of September, a determination will be made if further extension is warranted.

 

The Declaration is for:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

This temporary suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires, whichever comes first.

 



Welcome to the home page of the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists, the state board that licenses and regulates Marriage and Family Therapists in Texas. This website contains information about Marriage and Family Therapists including rosters of current licensees, scope of practice, licensing requirements, filing a complaint, where to go for more information, and more.


*Notice from the Sunset Commission*

The Sunset Commission has begun the process of reviewing this Board to determine if there is a continuing need for the services it provides. Please click the link below for important information on this process.

The Sunset Review of the Texas State Boards of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists, Examiners of Professional Counselors, and Social Worker Examiners


Special Message for Military Personnel, Spouses, and Veterans

Customer Survey
We value your feedback. Please take our online customer service survey at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/PLUsurvey  Thank you.  

Download a copy of the reformatted version of the current MFT Rules (Effective April 16, 2015)

View the current MFT Rules on the State of Texas website (Effective March 31, 2013)



Sign Up for Email Updates

Sign up for e-mail updates

Last updated September 21, 2017