FORM A

Please initial next to the type of license for which you are applying.

Initial licensure in the State of Texas as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT Associate);
Upgrade of current LMFT Associate license to LMFT (this requires at least one renewal of LMFT Associate license); or

Initial licensure in the State of Texas as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT)
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TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF #_

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS $:

APPLICATION FORM FOR

INITIAL LICENSURE OR UPGRADE

Mail To:

Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE:

Mail Code 2003
P.O. Box 149347
Austin, TX 78714-9347

Title (circle one): Mr. Ms. Dr. Prof. Other
Last Name First Middle
Social Security No.: Date of Birth:
Home Address: Street/P.O. Box City State ZIP
Home Phone No.: Email (Required):
Primary Employer: Supervisor:
Primary Business Address: Street/P.O. Box City State ZIP
Business Phone No.: Ext.
Type of Practice: Private _ School Government Agency Inpatient Treatment Center
Community University _ Hospital Other (please specify)
Agency
Secondary Employer: Supervisor
Secondary Business Address: Street/P.O. Box City State ZIP
Business Phone No.: Ext.
Type of Practice: Private _ School Government Agency _ Inpatient Treatment Center
_____ Community University Hospital Other (please specify)
Agency
| designate that the board should send mail to: _ Home Address __ Primary Business Address Secc(;n:jdary Business
Address

(Home address will be default address if no box is checked). Your mailing address will appear on the TSBEMFT rosters (on website)

and through on-line license verifications.

Note: If you are upgrading to LMFT and your address has changed, please write the new address on this form. You must also
submit the MFT Change of Address Form available through the board’s website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/mft.

List all professional licenses or certifications that you have held within the last 10 years:

Professional License Held/Expiration Date Issuing Board / State License Number Issue Date
Professional License Held/Expiration Date Issuing Board / State License Number Issue Date
Professional License Held/Expiration Date Issuing Board / State License Number Issue Date


http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/mft
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Note: Licensees are required to make certain written reports to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists
(“TSBEMFT” or “board”) within 30 days of certain circumstances, including but not limited to: a change of information, such as a
change of name, home or business contact information, or employment; upon granting of certain academic degrees; the licensee’s
arrest, deferred adjudication, or criminal conviction, other than a Class C misdemeanor traffic offense; and the like. The board is not
responsible for any lost or misdirected mail if sent to the address last reported to the board. Failure of a licensee to timely respond to a
request from the board or staff for information or other correspondence is unprofessional conduct and grounds for disciplinary
proceedings. Social security numbers that are listed will be used for identification purposes.

For access to a complete version of the law governing the practice of marriage and family therapy, also called the Licensed Marriage
and Family Therapy Act, see Texas Occupations Code (TOC), Chapter 502, and for a complete version of the rules governing the
licensure and regulation of marriage and family therapists, see Title 22, Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 801. These are
available on the board’s website at: www.dshs.state.tx.us/mft. Licensees are required to know, understand, and practice in accordance
with all the laws, rules, and policies of the board.

What are you applying for? (Initial in the space provided for Option A-New L.icense or B-License Upgrade)

A New License Requested: Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT Associate)

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT)
(Note: If an applicant applies for licensure as a LMFT and does not meet the supervised experience requirement, the applicant will be
considered for licensure as a LMFT Associate).

B. Upgrade of LMFT Associate license to LMFT: LMFT Associate License number:
(Note: An upgrade of LMFT Associate to LMFT requires at least one renewal of the LMFT Associate license. Initial LMFT
Associate licensure is granted for a period of 24 months. Documentation of the minimum of 24 months of post-graduate supervised
experience and supervision (part of the minimum requirements for LMFT licensure) cannot be acquired in the 24 months of initial
LMFT Associate licensure; therefore, generally, at least one LMFT Associate license renewal is required).

ACADEMIC REQUIREMENTS: (for both initial LMFT and initial LMFT Associate Licenses. If you are upgrading from LMFT
associate to LMFT, you may not need to resubmit transcripts.) If you are a masters or doctoral student in the last semester of study
for one of the following degree programs, you are eligible to sit for the national licensing examination.

I am submitting original transcripts verifying having met the academic requirements as indicated (select one by initialing the
appropriate blank):
A master’s degree or doctorate degree (or currently in the last semester of study) in marriage and family therapy from a
program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE).
A master’s degree or doctorate degree (or currently in the last semester of study) in marriage and family therapy from an
institution or program accredited by an accrediting body that is recognized by the Council for Higher Education
Accreditation (CHEA), but which are not accredited by COAMFTE, provided that the practicum is at least 9 credit hours or
12 months. If the practicum is not at least 9 credit hours or 12 months an applicant may be approved to take the licensing
examination and may be issued an associate license upon successfully passing the examination. Prior to receiving a license
as a marriage and family therapist, the applicant shall complete the pre-graduation practicum deficit in addition to the post-
graduate supervised experience requirements consistent with the requirements in Title 22, Texas Administrative Code (TAC),
§801.142.
A master’s or doctorate degree (or currently in the last semester of study) from an institution or program accredited by an
accrediting body that is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) in a related mental health
field with a planned course of study in marriage and family therapy as described in 22 TAC §801.113(d) and (e) with
minimum course content as described in 22 TAC §801.114.

If applying under this section, Form I (Educational Equivalency) must be completed and submitted.

Education (An original transcript verifying qualifying degree from an accredited institution must be sent to the TSBEMFT office.)
DEGREE(S)-
INSTITUTION LOCATION DATES ATTENDED MAJOR DATE(S) NAME ON
CONFERRED (if TRANSCRIPT
applicable)
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SUPERVISED CLINICAL EXPERIENCE AND SUPERVISION:
Some of the minimum requirements for licensure as an LMFT include: (See 22 TAC §801.142)
1. Atleast 3,000 hours of board-approved, supervised marriage and family therapy practice experience:
o of which at least 1,500 hours must be direct clinical services, and of the 1,500 hours of direct clinical services, at
least 750 hours must be provided to couples or families;
e of which the remaining 1,500 hours of the 3,000 hours may come from either direct clinical services or related
experiences; and
o of which no more than 500 hours may be transferred from a COAMFTE accredited doctoral program.
2. At least 200 hours of supervision:
o of which at least 100 hours must be individual supervision;
o of which no more than 100 hours may be transferred from the graduate program for supervision as a part of a
qualifying clinical practicum; and
e of which at least 50 hours of the post-graduate supervision must be individual supervision.

Supervised clinical experience and supervision, which may be acceptable to the board to meet the minimum requirements of licensure
as an LMFT, must be earned through engagement in board-approved, supervised marriage and family therapy practice experience
for a minimum period of 24 months (2 years). This 24 month minimum applies to all applicants unless there is explicit approval
from the board of an exception. A board-approved Supervisory Agreement Form (Form I11) must be submitted to the board within
60 days of commencement of supervised services.

With only certain exceptions, the supervised clinical experience and supervision hours must be earned while licensed in Texas as an
LMFT Associate and while under one (or more) board-approved Supervisory Agreement Form(s) (Form I11), for which board
approval is location and detail specific, and for which the licensee will receive a written notification of approval or of deficiency
from the board office following submission. If an individual does not receive written notice of approval or deficiency, it is the
licensee’s responsibility to follow-up with the board office within 8 weeks. Supervised experience and supervision hours accrued
without written board approval will not be considered as satisfying the minimum requirements for licensure as a LMFT.

The only exceptions to the requirements above related to minimum requirements for licensure for supervised experience and
supervision being earned under LMFT Associate licensure in Texas under a board-approved Supervisory Agreement Form
(Form 111) include the following.

1. Of the minimum of 200 hours of supervision, no more than 100 hours may be transferred from the graduate program related
to a qualifying clinical practicum. This option requires that the applicant also submit for approval Supervised Clinical
Practicum Supervision and Experience Verification Form (Form VI).

2. Of the minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised experience required, no more than 500 hours may be transferred from a
COAMFTE accredited doctoral program. This option requires that the applicant also submit for approval Supervised
Clinical Practicum Supervision and Experience Verification Form (Form V1).

3. Supervised experience and supervision accrued in another jurisdiction may be considered by the board to meet minimum
requirements for licensure through endorsement with appropriate verification of the hours by that jurisdiction and at the
discretion of the board. This option requires that the applicant also submit for approval Verification of Licensure in Other
Jurisdiction (Form I1) or other appropriate documentation as determined by the board. Only an applicant who is currently
licensed and in good standing with a Marriage and Family Therapist licensing board in another state or jurisdiction may be
eligible to demonstrate having met some licensing requirements by endorsement. Endorsement is the process whereby the
board reviews requirements for licensure completed while under the jurisdiction of a different marriage and family therapy
regulatory board. TSBEMFT may accept, deny or grant partial credit for requirements completed in another jurisdiction.
Supervision completed toward licensure as a clinician other than as a marriage and family therapist is not eligible to be used
toward licensure as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist.

4. Under extraordinary circumstances, other exceptions may be considered and approved by the board. This option requires
that the applicant must also submit a written request for approval of the exception and a justification for the request. Board
staff or the appropriate committee of the board will approve or deny the request.

Licensure by Endorsement: If you are requesting consideration of having met licensing requirements by endorsement, initial the
blank and provide the information requested. | am requesting that the board consider (Initial all that apply):

___licensing examination score

__ supervision and/or supervised experience

Note: At the completion of supervised clinical experience and supervision, a licensee is required to submit a separate Licensed
Supervised Experience Verification Form (Form V) for each board-approved Supervisory Agreement Plan (Form 111) on file with
the board and for which the licensee has received a written notification from the board of approval. If the licensee did not receive
written notification of approval from the board, the supervised experience and supervision are not acceptable towards minimum
requirements for licensure as an LMFT.



JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION: Page 4 of 4
I have successfully completed the Texas Jurisprudence exam and have enclosed the certificate of completion.
Yes No

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:
1. Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty, or pled nolo contendere to any misdemeanor or felony other than juvenile offenses or misdemeanor

traffic violations other than a DWI/DUI (you must report @ DWI/DUI) ..ot Yes_ No___
2. Have you ever been found in violation of laws or rules pertaining to professional practice or settled such

charges prior to a formal finding in an administrative proCeeding? .............ue it i e e e e Yes_  No___
3. Have you ever had a judgment against you or settled prior to such a finding in a civil proceeding related

Lo L (01 {1 (o] 4 LN o] - Tod 1 o= PP Yes_ No___
4. Are allegations pending against you for any of the @D0VE?..........cccviiiiiiiic e s Yes  No___
5. Have you had a professional license, certification, or credential denied, cancelled, probated, suspended, or revoked?.....Yes_ No__

Please note: Applicants must provide all information relating to criminal history, professional license complaint history and civil liability
suit history. Discovery of any of these past circumstances not disclosed may result in denial of your license and disclosure of discovered
information to other licensing boards. If you answered YES to any of the preceding questions, you must attach a detailed explanatory
statement and a copy of all court orders related to the charges or other relevant documentation. Additional information may be requested.

AFFIDAVIT

I understand that any fees submitted to the board are not refundable under any circumstances. | understand the schedule of fees (22 TAC §801.18)
and understand that, if licensure is obtained, additional fees must be paid to keep the license current, whether the license is active or inactive.

| agree to hold the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists, its members, officers, agents, employees, and examiners free
from any damage or claim for damage or complaint by reason of any action they or any one of them may take in connection with this application, the
attendant examination, the grades with respect to any examination, and/or failure of the board to issue me a license. | hereby grant permission to the
board to seek any information or references it deems fit in securing my credentials pertinent to this application.

| further agree that if issued a license, upon the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of that license, | shall return the license card(s) and certificate(s)
to the board within 30 days or as otherwise specified by the board (if sooner).

I have read the Marriage and Family Therapist Act (TOC, Chapter 502) and the rules relating to the licensing and regulation of Marriage and Family
Therapists (22 TAC, Chapter 801) and am familiar with the requirements of the Act and with the rules of the board. A copy of the Marriage and
Family Therapy Practice Act and the board’s rules may be accessed at the board’s website: www.dshs.state.tx.us/mft. Under penalties of perjury, |
declare and affirm that the statements made in the application, including accompanying statements and transcripts, are true, complete and correct. |
understand that giving the board false information of any kind may result in the voiding of this application and denial of licensure.

Signature of Applicant Date
FEE REQUIRED: (Initial by the appropriate selection)

I request consideration for a new license in the State of Texas as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate.
Enclosed is the $47 fee ($40 application fee; $5 OPP; $2 Texas On-line). | understand that submission of additional
documentation may be required by the board for consideration of this initial application and that submission of an additional
$90 initial license fee will be required if the board determines that | have met the requirements for the LMFT Associate license.
The board will not issue a license without receipt, processing, and verification of this additional fee.

I request an upgrade of my LMFT Associate license to LMFT licensure. Enclosed is the $90 fee ($90 initial LMFT licensing
fee). | understand that | must have met all minimum requirements for LMFT licensure for the board to approve this upgrade. |
understand that initial LMFT licensure is valid for a period of 13-24 months, depending on my birth month, which creates the
renewal cycle. | understand that all continuing education requirements for renewal are due by the LMFT license renewal date,
regardless of the actual, initial licensure period.

I request consideration for a new license in the State of Texas as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. Enclosed is the
$47 fee ($40 application fee; $5 OPP; $2 Texas On-line). | understand that submission of additional documentation may be
required by the board for consideration of this initial application and that submission of an additional $90 initial license fee will
be required if the board determines that | have met the requirements for the LMFT license. The board will not issue a license
without receipt, processing, and verification of this additional fee. Initial licensure is valid for a period of 12-24 months,
depending on my birth month, which creates the renewal cycle. | understand that all continuing education requirements for
LMFT license renewal are due by the renewal date, regardless of the actual, initial licensure period.

DSHS Publication #: 73-10748 With few exceplions, you have a right Lo request and be informed about information thal the State of Texas collects aboul you. You are
Re\-/fed 07/2013 entitled to receive and review the information upon request. You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information
mTEXAS that is determined to be incorrect. (Reference: Government Code, Sections 522.021, 522.023, 559.003 and 559.004)
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