
Texas Department of State Health Services Offender Education 
Administrator/Instructor Inservice 

 

San Antonio,  Texas 
February 5- 7,  201 4 

 
Texas Department of State Health Services would like to invite all instructors for Texas DWI Education, Drug Offender 
Education, DWI Intervention, and Alcohol Education Program for Minors to the Offender Education Inservice on 
February 5-7, 2014 at: 

San Antonio College 
Nursing & Allied Health Complex  

Room # 218 A & B 
1300 San Pedro Avenue 

San Antonio, TX 78212-4299 
 
Please remember that, with the adoption of the new Offender Education rules on September 1, 2009, ALL instructors for 
DWI Education, Drug Offender Education, DWI Intervention, and Alcohol Education Program for Minors must attend a 
DSHS Inservice during each 2 year certification period. Under TAC Rule § 453.105, instructors who are fully licensed 
chemical dependency counselors, licensed professional counselors, licensed psychologists, licensed psychiatrists, or 
licensed social workers may submit 20 hours of continuing education that is directly drug- (for DOEP instructors) or 
alcohol- (for DWIE, DWII, AEPM instructors) related and approved by the department's Offender Education Group at least 
30 days in advance, in lieu of attending the in-service. (Please see the actual rule at TAC 453.105  for more specifics.) This 
inservice also provides 20 courtesy CEUs for LPCs and LCDCs that may be used toward your licenses. Probation Officers 
must have their continuing education certificate approved by their chief to obtain hours. TCLEOSE has indicated they will 
also accept the continuing education hours for peace officers, with proper approval from your department.  
 
This inservice will begin promptly on Wednesday, February 5 at 8:30 am and will conclude by 3:30 pm on Friday, 
February 7 for ALL INSTRUCTORS in ALL PROGRAMS. All instructors must attend all three days. In order to 
obtain credit for this inservice and the certificate of completion, all participants are required to be on time and complete all 
applicable sessions in their entirety--participants arriving late will not be credited with the inservice.  There are a number 
of eateries within walking distance of the college, as no food or drink can be provided, and you are also welcome to bring 
your own snacks and drinks. Please provide your email address on the registration form, as we will only confirm or 
provide new parking information via email. We also encourage you to bring a jacket to the inservice, as temperatures in 
the room may be cool and not easily controlled, as well as business cards for networking with other instructors.  Parking is 
limited in the morning , and street parking is available, but you may have to walk if necessary.  Please observe posted 
parking signs. DO NOT PARK in the Garage or Faculty Parking or you will be towed. You may park in any “open” or 
“student” lot without penalty. 
 
Enrollment is limited and admittance will be based on a first-come-first-serve basis – when room capacity is reached, 
registration will be closed.  The cost of the training is $100.00 for each type of inservice you are attending. All fees 
are non-refundable.  A $100 late fee will be applied to payments received after the deadline of January 22, 2014.  
DO NOT SUBMIT PAYMENT TO DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES—please follow the 
instructions below. If a minimum number of registrations are not received, the inservice may be canceled; we 
recommend not making non-refundable travel arrangements or reservations.  
 
Please complete the Registration Form and submit it to DSHS no later than January 22, 2014.  Nonrefundable 
payments are to be submitted to The University of Texas at Austin along with the attached invoice, no later than 
January 22, 2014.  If the registration form is not received by DSHS, you will not be registered or allowed into the 
inservice.  Once your payment and registration form have been received by the appropriate agencies, you are considered 
registered. Absolutely no registrations or payments will be accepted after 5pm on Monday January 27, 2014. If you 
have questions concerning the inservice, please contact Offender Education at 800-832-9623, x2131.  
  
Attendance Policy: Because of accrediting agency guidelines, partial credit will not be given. To receive a certificate of 
completion and credit for the inservice(s), all sessions must be attended in their entirety, and participants must be on time 
each day.  

http://info.sos.state.tx.us/pls/pub/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=25&pt=1&ch=453&rl=105


Texas Department of State Health Services 
Administrator/Instructor Inservice 

February 5-7, 2014   ▲   San Antonio, Texas 
 

 
Inservice Site:          San Antonio College at San Antonio 
                                    Nursing & Allied Health Complex, Room 218 A & B  
                                    1300 San Pedro Avenue 
                                    San Antonio, TX 78212-4299 
                                    http://www.alamo.edu  
 
Directions:  A map with directions to San Antonio College is located at:    
   Location of San Antonio College   
   
Lodging:  Lodging arrangements will be the attendees’ responsibility.  

A map of Texas government contract hotels is located at: TX Government Contract 
Hotels – they may honor the State of Texas rate if you show proof of attendance at 
this inservice 

 
Parking: Parking is free at the San Antonio College at San Antonio. It is not necessary to 

obtain a parking pass.  You can park in any “open” or “student” lot without 
penalty.   Parking is limited in the morning, but street parking is available (you may 
have to walk if necessary).  Please observe posted parking signs. DO NOT PARK in 
the Garage or Faculty Parking or you will be towed .   A campus map is located on 
the next page .  Should more information about parking become available, it will be 
forwarded through the email confirmation. If you do not include email on your 
registration, any new information will not be provided to you. 

                                                     
Food: Lunch will be on your own. There are food establishments within walking and short 

driving distances, as food or drinks cannot be provided. Bill Miller BBQ, Luther’s 
BBQ and Subway are the closest ones.  Main Street Pizza & Pasta, Quiznos, 
McDonalds are just a little farther away. A map with nearby restaurants is located 
at: Restaurants Nearby   

 
 
Daily Schedule: Inservice for ALL Instructors     
                      

Wednesday, February 5, 2014  8:30 am - 5:00 pm 
Thursday February 6, 2014   8:15 am - 5:00 pm 
Friday February 7, 2014   8:15 am – 3:30 pm 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.alamo.edu/
https://maps.google.com/maps?q=1300+San+Pedro+Ave,+San+Antonio,+TX&hl=en&ll=29.445764,-98.498611&spn=0.02687,0.038409&sll=29.445764,-98.498611&sspn=0.013435,0.019205&oq=1300+San+&hnear=1300+San+Pedro+Ave,+San+Antonio,+Texas+78212&t=m&z=15
http://hotel.cpa.state.tx.us/hotel_directory/showalpha.cfm?st=TX&fy=2008
http://hotel.cpa.state.tx.us/hotel_directory/showalpha.cfm?st=TX&fy=2008
https://maps.google.com/maps?q=restaurants&hl=en&sll=29.445764,-98.498611&sspn=0.02687,0.038409&oq=restaurants&hq=restaurants&t=m&z=15


 



DSHS Administrator/Instructor Inservice Registration Form 
Please complete ALL items and PRINT clearly –Return this form to DSHS by January 22, 2014 

 
Name                                                                               
 
Home Address   
 
City State        Zip  
 
Home:  Work: 
 
Fax:   Email:  
 
Cell:_______________________________    Birthday (required) mm/dd/yyyy: ___________ 
 
Program Name: ___________________________________ Program Number: _________ 
 
Program Address____________________________________________________________ 
 
City, State, Zip ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Program Phone Number: ______________________________________________________ 
 

      Inservice – February 5-7, 2014 
San Antonio College at San Antonio 

Nursing & Allied Health Complex, Room 218 A & B 
1300 San Pedro Avenue 

San Antonio, TX 78212-4299 
972-883-4568 

******************************************************************************************* 
Please check the inservice(s) that you will be attending – return form to DSHS by January 22, 2014 

 
 

 
                                          DWI Education        DWI Intervention      Drug Offender     AEPM 
 
Instr. Certification #:           ________                    ________                  ________           ________                         
  
 
By my signature, I agree that I will attend the Texas Offender Education Inservice(s) as indicated above. 
 
 
                                                                Signature:          
 
Mail completed registration form to:         Texas Department of State Health Services                                                                     
                                                               Offender Education                                                                                
                                                               PO Box 149347, MC 1982                    
                                                               Austin, TX 78714-9347 
                   Email to:   offendered@dshs.state.tx.us 
                   Or FAX to:                                               (512) 834-4550 
 

 NO registrations will be accepted after 5pm on Monday, January 27, 2014  
If a minimum number of registrations are not received, the inservice may be canceled; we recommend not making  

non-refundable travel arrangements or reservations.  



INVOICE – DSHS Offender Education Inservice 

PAYMENT DEADLINE:  January 22, 2014 
 
Name  
 
Home Address   
 
City State        Zip  
 
Home:  Work: 
 
Fax:   Email:  
 
Enclosed is my non-refundable inservice payment to:  The University of Texas at Austin 
Agency Voucher                       Money Order                          Agency Check     
PO#                
 
Or pay online at: http://www.utexas.edu/research/cswr/gcattc/OffenderEducationPrograms.htm and 
click on “To Pay Registration Fee” 
 
Please indicate here  if you have paid online and submit this invoice to UT at the address below. 
**************************************************************************** 

Please check below to indicate which inservice(s) you will be attending on February 5-7, 2014:  
 
 

_____   DWI Education Inservice   _____     Drug Offender Education Inservice 
 
_____     DWI Intervention Inservice  _____     Alcohol Education Program for  
                      Minors Inservice 
 

**  Cost is $100 per inservice  ** 
 

Number of Inservices:  _____    X    $100/inservice    =     $__________ Total  
 

A $100 late fee will be assessed on payments received after January 22, 2014.  
 Absolutely NO payments will be accepted after 5pm on Monday January 27, 2014. 

 
All payments/fees are non-refundable. 

 If a minimum number of registrations are not received, the inservice may be canceled; we recommend not making  
non-refundable travel arrangements or reservations.  

 
 
PLEASE MAIL INVOICE WITH  James Green 
PAYMENT TO      UT-Austin, Center for Social Work Research 
      1717 West 6th Street, Suite 335 
      Austin, TX 78703 
      (512) 232-0616; (512) 232-0617 fax 
      jamesfgreen@austin.utexas.edu 
 

           
**  DO NOT SEND PAYMENT TO DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES** 

http://www.utexas.edu/research/cswr/gcattc/OffenderEducationPrograms.htm
mailto:jamesfgreen@austin.utexas.edu
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