When you have finished reading this page, please click the correct menu item to return to the board or program home page, or click the BACK button in your browser to return to the previously viewed page.
This page contains information on how to renew a license using Texas Online for all registrations, permits, and licenses issued by the regulatory boards and programs of the Professional Licensing and Certification Unit.
Click on the frequently asked question to link down this page to specific information.
Who is eligible to renew online?
Any license or registration holder whose license or registration is current, or has been expired less than 365 days, is eligible to renew online. The licensing board or program sends out renewal notices to each licensee/ registrant approximately 60-90 days prior to the expiration date of the license/registration. The licensee/registrant will use his or her license or registration number and Social Security Number or other identifying number to login to the Texas Online application.
How long will my renewal period be?
Licenses and registrations are renewed every two years.
How does the online renewal process work?
The online renewal process is a simple process. The first step is to Login by entering the license or registration number and SSN or other identifying number. This step allows the Texas Online application to verify eligibility. If you are eligible to renew, you will be given an option to renew at this time. A change of address can also be completed in conjunction with the renewal. The next steps are to answer required questions, review information entered, and then proceed to the payment page. After providing payment information, the final step is to view and print the transaction receipt. The renewed license or registration will be mailed to the licensee/registrant by the licensing board or program.
If I renew online, will I get my license/registration faster than if I renew by mail or in person?
Online renewals and change of addresses are submitted daily to the licensing board or program, therefore, the mailing time to the agency is eliminated.
Can I change my name as part of the online renewal or address change?
No, name changes must be submitted in writing to the licensing board or program office. You must provide any documentation required by the licensing board or program.
Can I change my address at the time of renewal?
Yes, you can change your mailing address at the time of renewal.
Are there any continuing education requirements for renewing my license/registration?
For most licenses/registrations, continuing education (CE) is required in order to renew a license. The CE requirement (by an approved CE Provider) must be met before you apply to renew, unless a CE extension is authorized by board or program rules.
Click here to view CE requirements for licensing programs within the Professional Licensing and Certification Unit.
Can I print a copy of my entire license/registration renewal information?
Yes, there is a printer friendly version of the renewal information available.
What are the online available payment options?
Payments can be made using credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX) or electronic check (ACH) payment methods.
What information do I need to make a payment online?
License and registration renewals require a valid credit card number, expiration date, billing name, and billing address. For electronic check payments, a valid bank routing number and Savings/Checking account number is required.
Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
Are there any penalties associated with late payments?
Late penalties are added if the renewal is not paid by the license/registration expiration date. For many licenses, a penalty is added for 1-90 days after the expiration date and another penalty is added for 90+ days after the expiration date. For most licensing programs, a license expired for more than one year may not be renewed.
Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license/registration?
No, your license/registration renewal is not issued until all renewal requirements are met. The printed payment receipt only verifies payment of your renewal.
Can I renew online any time?
Yes, the system is available 7 days per week, 24 hours per day except for routine maintenance down time.
Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
24/7 Online Support is available through the Texas Online Helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060, or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org .
If I am unable to login to the site, whom do I contact?
First, look at the expiration date on your license to ensure that you are eligible to renew. Generally, you will be unable to renew unless it is 60-90 days before the date your license expires, or less than 1 year after the date it expired (late renewal period).
The online renewal process allows only eligible licensees/registrants to renew online. Eligibility is determined by the licensing board or program. In the event you are unable to login to the site, please refer to the eligibility requirements page for renewal criteria, and/or contact the licensing board or program to confirm eligibility.
What browser versions does the application support?
The Texas Online application will support Internet Explorer version 4.0 and above and Netscape version 4.0 and above.