DSHS HSR 2-3 Epidemiology Branch

DSHS PHR 2/3 Epidemiology Branch

The Epidemiology Branch of the Community Preparedness section provides services to 37 of 49 counties in the North Texas Region by active involvement in core epidemiology functions including:

  • Public Health Surveillance
  • Outbreak Response and Field Investigation
  • Epidemiological Studies 
DSHS HSR 23 Epidemiology Staff Contacts
Name Title  Phone E-Mail

Diana Cervantes, MS, DrPH

Regional Chief Epidemiologist, Supervisor

817-264-4657

diana.cervantes@dshs.texas.gov

vacant
Epidemiologist III, Regional Surveillance Coordinator 817-264-4569 

Heidi Threadgill, CIC

Epidemiologist II, Vaccine Preventable Diseases Lead

817-264-4550

heidi.threadgill@dshs.texas.gov

David Retana, MPH

Epidemiologist II, Enteric/GI Illness Lead

817-264-4656

david.retana@dshs.texas.gov

Loan VanAuker, D-ABMDI, MS

Epidemiologist II, Invasive/Respiratory Lead & Influenza Surveillance Coordinator

817-264-4706

mailto:Loan.VanAuker@dshs.state.tx.us

Steven Pulvino, MPH, CIC, CPH

Epidemiologist II, Disaster Epidemiologist, Hepatitis B and C

817-264-4890

steven.pulvino@dshs.texas.gov

 Thi Dang, MPH, CHES, CICHealthcare Associated Infections Epidemiologist 

817-264-4585

thi.dang@dshs.texas.gov  

vacant as of 5/19 -

Please contact David Retana or Steven Pulvino

Public Health Specialist II, NEDSS Coordinator

817-264-4639


Celina Silvestre

Epidemiology Branch Administrative Assistant

817-264-4541

celina.silvestre@dshs.texas.gov

 

24/7 Disease Reporting: 817-822-6786    |     Secure Fax: 817-264-4557     |    Contact us at: HSR2-3.EpiReporting@dshs.texas.gov

 Disease reporting contact information for all Region 2/3 Local Health Departments and a list of other DSHS departmental reporting phone and fax numbers can be accessed here (pdf)

Last updated May 19, 2017