DSHS PHR 2-3 Epidemiology Branch

 

The Epidemiology Branch of the Community Preparedness section provides services to 37 of 49 counties in the North Texas Region (PDF file) by active involvement in core epidemiology functions including:

  • Public Health Surveillance
  • Outbreak Response and Field Investigation
  • Epidemiological Studies 
DSHS PHR 2-3 Epidemiology Staff Contacts
Name Title  Phone E-Mail

Heidi Honza, MPH, CIC

Regional Chief Epidemiologist (Interim)

817-264-4550 

Heidi.Threadgill@dshs.texas.gov

vacant
Epidemiologist III
 
 Thi Dang, MPH, CHES, CIC Healthcare Associated Infections Epidemiologist817-264-4585 

 Thi.Dang@dshs.texas.gov

Kelsey Tatum, MPH, CIC

Epidemiologist II, Vaccine Preventable Diseases Lead

817-264-4569 

Kelsey.Tatum@dshs.texas.gov 

David Retana, MPH

Epidemiologist II, Enteric/GI Illness Lead

817-264-4656

David.Retana@dshs.texas.gov 

Loan VanAuker, D-ABMDI, MS

Epidemiologist II, Invasive/Respiratory Lead & Influenza Surveillance Coordinator

817-264-4706

Loan.VanAuker@dshs.texas.gov

Steven Pulvino, MPH, CIC, CPH

Epidemiologist II, Disaster Epidemiologist, Hepatitis B and C Lead

817-264-4890

Steven.Pulvino@dshs.texas.gov 

 Joshua Hall, MPH Public Health Specialist II, NEDSS Coordinator 817-264-4639

 Joshua.Hall@dshs.texas.gov

Celina Silvestre

Epidemiology Branch Administrative Assistant

817-264-4541

celina.silvestre@dshs.texas.gov 

 

24/7 Disease Reporting: 817-822-6786    |     Secure Fax: 817-264-4557     |    Contact us at: HSR2-3.EpiReporting@dshs.texas.gov

 Disease reporting contact information for all Region 2/3 Local Health Departments and a list of other DSHS departmental reporting phone and fax numbers can be accessed here (PDF file).

Last updated December 6, 2017