Status of transition of this program to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR):
Senate Bill 202 was enacted into law on September 1, 2015. This law mandated that the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) develop a transition plan for the “orderly transfer of powers, duties, functions, programs, and activities” related to the following professions: Athletic Trainers, Dietitians, Dyslexia Therapists, Fitters and Dispensers of Hearing Instruments, Midwives, Orthotics and Prosthetics, and Speech Language Pathologists and Audiologists. The plan has now been fully executed and is in effect. We are providing this notice in order to keep you apprised of several important steps related to the plan that will be occurring over the next few weeks.
The licensing data held by DSHS will be transmitted to TDLR in mid-September. The current target date for the complete transmission of this data is September 22nd. In order to maintain the integrity of all licensing and related data that must be transmitted to TDLR, DSHS will cease the performance of licensing activities for the above listed professions on September 18th. TDLR will begin performing licensing activities for the transferred professional programs on October 3rd, 2016. This means there will be a gap of approximately two weeks, during which time neither agency will be able to perform licensing functions. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this short interruption may cause you; however, this step is essential to ensure the accurate transfer of data.
In an effort to avoid renewal problems for licensees during the transition period, a 60 day license extension has been automatically granted to all licenses that expire in August, September, and October 2016. DSHS has already sent new and updated license cards to licensees that had previous expiration dates set in August and September. The October licensees will receive new licensing cards in the upcoming few weeks.
To access more information about the transition of these professional licensing programs, please go to TDLR’s website, which can be found at: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/newprograms.htm.
Select this link for important information regarding the transfer of licensing programs from DSHS to TDLR
Special Message for Military Personnel, Spouses, and Veterans
Welcome to the home page of The State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, the state board that licenses and regulates Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, including Assistants in Speech-Language Pathology, Assistants in Audiology, Interns in Speech-Language Pathology, and Interns in Audiology.
New Rules Effective March 20, 2016
Select this link to view adopted rules, effective March 20, 2016
PLEASE NOTE: Application processing time is currently 6-8 weeks. Please apply early to allow ample processing time.
We value your feedback. Please take our online customer service survey at https://dshsplu.questionpro.com/ Thank you.
Consumer Warning Regarding Purchasing Hearing Aids:
It is the recommendation of this Board that before purchasing hearing aids, including over the internet, via mail-order, or over-the-counter, that you visit in person a licensed audiologist, who is trained to provide you with a comprehensive audiological evaluation.
If you have a complaint regarding audiology services, you may click here to file.
Notice to Audiology licensees:
In connection with the sale of hearing instruments, including over the internet, via mail-order, or over-the-counter, compliance is required with all requirements of the rule titled "General Practice Requirements of Audiologists and Interns in Audiology who Fit and Dispense Hearing Instruments," 22 TAC §741.102.
January 10, 2014 - Joint Task Force Hearing Instruments Meeting
Live Online Search Verifications
Sign Up for Email Updates
ATTENTION LICENSEES: PLEASE COMPLETE SURVEY
Select this link to complete the Minimum Data Set Survey