ASSISTANT LICENSE — APPLICATION CHECK LIST — MUST USE CURRENT FORMS

SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION / FORMS / FEES TO OBTAIN THE ASSISTANT LICENSE: (The
assistant license is issued for two-years; expiring on the last day of the assistant’s birth month and is renewable.) Individuals who
possess a baccalaureate degree with emphasis in communicative sciences and disorders may be licensed as an Assistant in the state
of Texas.

Completed, and signed Application Form;

License fee of $163.00;

Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination;

Original, official or certified copy of transcript(s) showing baccalaureate degree(s) conferred (can not be faxed);

Clinical Observation and Experience for Assistants Form completed by the program director or designee of the university/college
you attended. THIS FORM IS REQUIRED AS A COMPONENT OF THE APPLICATION AND MUST BE SUBMITTED EVEN IF
NO HOURS WERE ACCRUED.

Supervisory Responsibility Statement (SRS) for Assistants Form completed by applicant and each proposed supervisor; and

If needed use Clinical Deficiency Plan Form (If the applicant has not met the required 25 clinical observation hours and/or 25
clinical experience hours, a Clinical Deficiency Plan Form must be submitted with the Supervisory Responsibility Statement
(SRS) for Assistants Form) (The Clinical Deficiency Plan must be pre-approved by the Board office and your license must be
issued before you begin these hours.)

All applicants must be fingerprinted using our form http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/

§741.64 (a) An applicant for an assistant in speech-language pathology license shall meet the requirements set out in the Act, and this section. The applicant for the
assistant license must:

(1) possess a baccalaureate degree with an emphasis in communicative sciences and disorders;

(2) have acquired the following:

(A) atleast 24 semester hours in speech-language pathology and/or audiology;

(B) and at least 18 semester hours of the 24 hours must be in speech-language pathology;

(C) atleast three semester hours in language disorders(A language disorders course may include content for assessment and intervention of language
disorders such as aphasia and related acquired language disorders, dementia, language delay, factors underlying language impairment, language
disorders in children, and language disorders in adults.);

(D) atleast three semester hours in speech disorders (A speech disorders course may include content for assessment and intervention of speech disorders
such as phonological process disorder, articulation disorders, voice disorder, and fluency disorder.); and

(E) excludes clinical experience and course work such as special education, deaf education, or sign language.

Also an applicant who possesses a baccalaureate degree with a major that is not in communicative sciences and disorders and satisfactorily
completed 24 semester credit hours in communicative sciences and disorders, which may include some leveling hours may with the Board's
Designee’s approval be licensed as an Assistant in the State of Texas. [§741.64(c)]

Itis a criminal offense to practice speech-language pathology or audiology without a valid license punishable by law if convicted. Section
401.503, Occupations Code, relates to a Criminal Offense.

Effective March 1, 2012, all new applicants are required to submit fingerprints to the Texas Department of Public Safety
(DPS). Go to http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ and select the DPS/FBI Fingerprinting tab.

The assistant may not begin the supervised practicing until the Board office has issued the assistant a license.

FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. The application/initial license fee must be mailed with the application. DO NOT SEND CASH.
APPLICATION MATERIALS RECEIVED WITHOUT THE APPLICATION FEE WILL NOT BE PROCESSED. Processing of an application
takes approximately 2 - 4 weeks once all documents are received.

To expedite processing, use the U.S. Post Office Express Mail and mail to:
Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program

Mail Code: MC 2003

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347

If you need to submit additional documentation after the application and fee have been submitted mail to:
Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program

Mail Code: MC1982

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347

ALL FORMS ARE LOCATED ON THE WEBSITE — www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech Revised: 05/14/12
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