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Budget: ZZ117 
Fund: 158 

 

STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY 
 

Mail Code: MC2003  PO Box 149347  Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
Phone: (512) 834-6627  Fax: (512) 834-6677 

E-mail: speech@dshs.state.tx.us 
 www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech

 

APPLICATION FORM 
Effective March 1, 2012, all new applicants will be required to submit fingerprints to the Texas Department 
of Public Safety (DPS). Go to http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ and select the DPS/FBI Fingerprinting tab. 
 

Effective January 1, 2010, all new applicants will be required to take the jurisprudence examination [§741.122(d)]. Go 
to http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ and select the Jurisprudence Examination tab.  
 

All applicants must submit this Application Form.  All questions must be answered.  Be sure to read the Board Rules 
to determine what documents are required:  Application processing begins after all required documentation is 
received and accepted by the Board. 
 

Applicant’s Full Legal Name: (First, Middle, Last): 

 

Name(s) on Transcript(s) if different:  

Date of Birth: Social Security Number: 

Mailing Address: 

City/State/Zip: 

Home Phone Number: 

E-mail Address: 
 

1. MAILING ADDRESS: The Board office is not responsible for lost, misdirected or undelivered forms and fees. The 
Board will mail all documents to the address you provide above. (Be sure to include the zip code) 

 

Be sure to notify your employer that you will be unable to practice until your license is approved. 
 

Texas Occupations Code, §401.301, states, “A person may not practice speech-language pathology or audiology or 
represent that the person is a speech-language pathologist or audiologist in this state unless the person holds a 
license under this chapter.” Section 401.503 states an offense is a Class B misdemeanor, and upon conviction, 
punishable by up to six (6) months in jail or up to $1,000 fine or both. 
 

Prior to completing this form, you MUST read the Law (Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 401) and the Board 
Rules, Chapter 741. Do not complete the affidavit on the last page if you have not read the Law and Board Rules. 

 

2. MAIL TO: 
Please send application, fee, and all required documentation to: 

Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program, Mail Code: MC2003 

PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/


 

 

3. FEES:  The fee must be mailed with the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. 
Make checks payable to DSHS/Speech-Audiology Licensing Program. 
 

Check 
One 

License Type Fee 

 Speech-Language Pathology (2 years) $163.00 
 Audiology (2 years) $163.00 
 Speech-Language Pathology, applying under ASHA waiver (2 years) $163.00 
 Audiology, applying under ASHA or ABA waiver (2 years) $163.00 
 Intern in Speech-Language Pathology (2 years) $83.00 
 Intern in Audiology (2 years) $83.00 
 Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology (2 years) $163.00 
 Assistant in Audiology (2 years) $163.00 
 Temporary Certificate of Registration – Speech-Language Pathology $55.00 
 

4. CHECKLIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION: Below is a checklist of all required documentation by licensure 
type. Applications will not be processed until all required documents are received.  To expedite your application, 
collect all documents and send them with your application.  Having documents sent separately can significantly 
delay the processing of an application. 
 

Speech-Language Pathologist: (Intern that has completed their internship (CFY) and is applying for full licensure) 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing your masters or doctoral degree has been conferred and required course work, per 

§741.61/741.81 (cannot be faxed) 
 Report of Completed Internship Form from each supervisor during your internship 
 Proof of successfully completing the Praxis examination, showing a passing score 
 

Speech-Language Pathologist, applying under ASHA waiver 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing your masters degree has been conferred and required course work, per §741.63/741.83 

(cannot be faxed) 
 Letter from ASHA (dated within 60 days of application) confirming your CCC is current and in good standing 
 

Audiologist: (Intern that has completed their externship and is upgrading to full license) 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing your doctoral degree has been conferred and required course work, per §741.61/741.81 

(cannot be faxed) 
 Report of Completed Internship Form from each supervisor during your internship 
 Proof of successfully completing the Praxis examination, showing a passing score 
 

Audiologist, applying under ASHA or ABA waiver 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing your doctoral degree has been conferred and required course work, per §741.63/741.83 

(cannot be faxed) 
 Letter from ASHA or ABA (dated within 60 days of application) confirming your certification is current and in good 

standing 

F76-10789 – Application Form Page 2 Revised 05/17/12 



 

Intern in Speech-Language Pathology 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing your masters or doctoral degree has been conferred and required course work, per 

§§741.62/741.82 (cannot be faxed) or  
 Current, original transcript: A current, original transcript from the institution that you are graduating from must be submitted with 

your application (even if the degree does not show that the masters or doctoral degree was conferred).  Once the degree has been 
conferred, the original transcript showing that the masters or doctoral degree has been conferred must be sent before or when you 
apply for full licensure after completing the Internship (cannot be faxed) 

 Course Work and Clinical Experience For Speech-Language Pathology Intern Form, completed and signed by university 
program director 

 Speech-Language Pathology Intern Plan and Agreement of Supervision Form from each supervisor 
 

Intern in Audiology 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing your doctoral required course work, per §741.62/741.82 (cannot be faxed) 
 Course work and Clinical Experience for Audiology Intern Form, completed and signed by university program director 
 Audiology Intern Plan and Agreement of Supervision Form from each supervisor 
 

Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology or Assistant in Audiology 
 Application and fee 
 Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
 Original transcript showing that a baccalaureate degree has been conferred and required course work, per 

§741.64/741.84 (cannot be faxed) 
 Clinical Observation and Experience Form, completed and signed by university program director 
 Supervisory Responsibility Statement (SRS) for Assistants Form 
 If your Clinical Observation and Experience form shows that you have not met the required 25 clinical observation hours 

and/or 25 clinical experience hours from the university, you must include a Clinical Deficiency Plan Form. This must be 
pre-approved by the board office and your license must be issued before you begin these hours. Special 
requirements apply. Be sure to read carefully §741.64 (e) to be sure you understand. 

 

Temporary Certificate of Registration – Speech-Language Pathology 
 application and fee 
 original transcript showing your masters or doctoral degree has been conferred and required course work, per 

§741.61/741.81 (cannot be faxed) 
 Report of Completed Internship Form from each supervisor during your internship 
 Temporary Supervisory Form from each supervisor 
 

Be sure to read §741.65/741.85 to be sure you understand the special requirements. This certificate allows you to continue to 
practice while you take the next scheduled Praxis examination, and the certificate will expire 8 weeks later. This certificate is 
NOT RENEWABLE (there is no extension or grace period) and you may not apply for another Temporary Certificate. If you 
pass the Praxis, you must apply immediately for a full license under §741.61/741.81. If you do not pass the Praxis, you must 
apply for an Assistant license and you must be supervised according to the supervision requirements of an Assistant. 
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5. CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

Name of employer, agency or practice: 

 

Mailing Address: 

City/State/Zip: 

Phone Number: 

Fax Number:: 

E-mail Address: 
 

 

6.  Employer’s Type of Practice:  
□ Private Practice  □ School  □ Government Agency  □ Community Agency  □ University 
□ Other (specify): _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

7. DATE EMPLOYMENT BEGAN (MM/DD/YYYY) _____________________________________________________ 
 

8. Have you ever held any type of speech-language pathology or audiology license issued by Texas? 
□ Yes  □ No  (If answer is yes, give dates when held and reason license is no longer valid:) 

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

9. Do you possess any other professional license(s) or certificate(s) issued by any state?  □ Yes  □ No 
If yes, give license or certificate number(s), title(s), and states issuing license(s) or certificates(s): 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

10. Do you currently hold the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Certificate of Clinical 
Competence?        □ Yes   □ No 

 

11. Do you currently hold the American Board of Audiology (ABA) Certification?        □ Yes   □ No 
 

12. Have you been denied a professional license and/or certificate, or have you ever had any license and/or certificate 
revoked, canceled, or suspended?   □ Yes  □ No 

 

If answer is yes, briefly state the type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that issued the 
license or certificate and the reason: 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

13. Have disciplinary proceedings been initiated against you in Texas or any other jurisdiction?  □ Yes  □ No 
If answer is yes, please provide the following information:  

Date of proceedings: __________________________________________________________________________ 

Where proceedings held: _______________________________________________________________________ 
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14. Have you ever been convicted, plead guilty, or plead nolo contendere to any misdemeanor or felony?  (Do not 
include juvenile offenses or any misdemeanor traffic violations. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is not a minor traffic 
offense.)   □ Yes  □ No 
If yes, please provide the following information:  

Date of conviction:   ___________________________________________________________________________ 

Where convicted: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

Charge:  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
If conviction was set aside, give date and explain, using additional pages if necessary 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Effective March 1, 2012, all new applicants will be required to submit fingerprints to the Texas Department 
of Public Safety (DPS). Go to http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ and select the DPS/FBI Fingerprinting tab. 
 

14. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered any professional license or certificate?   □ Yes  □ No 
If answer is yes, briefly state the type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that issued the 
license certificate and the reasons: 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

15. ACADEMIC TRAINING (List all colleges/universities attended and attach additional pages if necessary)  
 

Inclusive Dates 
Name & Location of School From  

(mm/yy) 
To 

(mm/yy) 

Degree Granted 
(field of study) 

Date Degree 
Granted 

(mm/dd/yy) 
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PLEASE READ VERY CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU SIGN 
 

With my signature on this application for licensure with the State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, I certify that: 
 

 I have read the Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology licensing Law and the Rules of the Board. I agree to abide by 
the State Law and all current and subsequent Rules of the Board. 

 All information provided in this application is truthful. I understand that giving false information of any kind will result in 
denial of licensure. 

 I understand that the processing of my application will not begin until all required documents are received by the Board 
office. 

 I understand that the fee submitted with this application is non-refundable. 
 I agree to hold the State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, its members, officers, 

agents, and examiners free from any damage or claim for damage or complaint by the reason of any action they or any 
one of them take in connection with this application, the attendant examination, and/or failure of the Board to issue me a 
license.  

 I hereby grant permission to the Board to seek any information or references it deems fit in securing my credentials 
pertinent to this application. 

 I understand that the name, license number, and mailing address of all holders of a Texas-issued professional license are 
subject to the Texas Open Records Act. This information will be provided in response to information requests for licensee 
lists from organizations and individuals. This information will be provided on the Board’s website. 

 I understand that the disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under the Rules of the Board, 22 
TAC, §741.112 and Family Code, §231.302. Social security numbers will be used for identification purposes. 

 I understand that I must submit fingerprints to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). 
 I understand that the Texas Department of State Health Services performs a Criminal Background Check on all 

applicants. 
 I agree that if issued a license, upon revocation, suspension, or cancellation of that license, I shall return the said license 

to the Board. 
 

______________________________________________________ __________________________ 
Applicant’s Signature Date 
 

PLEASE REVIEW BEFORE SUBMISSION.  ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE COMPLETED CORRECTLY.  
INCOMPLETE AND/OR INACCURATE FORMS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED AND MAY SIGNIFICANTLY DELAY 
YOUR LICENSE APPROVAL. 
 

We can be contacted at: 
By emailed at: Speech@dshs.state.tx.us  
 

Or by phone at: (512) 834-6627 
 

Or by faxed at: (512) 834-6677, Attention: SPEECH 
 

To expedite the application process, use the U.S. Post Office Express Mail and mail to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program  
Mail Code: MC 2003 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 

If you need to submit additional documentation after the application and fee have been submitted, please 
mail to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program 
Mail Code: MC1982 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347 

mailto:SpeechSRS@dshs.state.tx.us
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