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i It's the Law

= It is a Class B misdemeanor
(punishable by 6 months in county
jail and/or fine not exceeding
$1,000) to practice without a
license.

Texas Occupations Code, Section
401.503



i License Types - Speech

= Speech-Language Pathologist

= Intern in Speech-Language
Pathology

= Assistant in Speech-Language
Pathology

= Temporary Certificate of
Registration in Speech-Language
Pathology



i License Types - Audiology

= Audiologist
= Intern in Audiology
= Assistant in Audiology

= Temporary Certificate of
Registration in Audiology



i Application Procedure

Complete licensure application form and pay
application fee. (www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/)

(Must mail in official transcript)

= Application & Fee
« Official Transcript
= Supporting Documentation

Only the application & supporting documentation can
be faxed



i Application Procedure

= Allow at least 15 working days for
processing your license application.

= You can do an online live public search
and download a verification as soon as
your license Is granted.



Remember!

= Keep copies of all documents you send to the
office!

= If your application is returned or held pending
additional information, you have a limited
amount of time to provide the requested
iInformation. If you do not complete the
application process in time, or if your application
IS denied, the original documents are not saved.
You will need to resubmit everything.



i Most Common Delays

= Not submitting a conferred
transcript(s)

= Not using the most current form(s)
= Incomplete form(s)

= Not submitting all required
supporting documentation(s)



i Supervision Issues

= Supervisors must hold a valid Texas license
Supervisors must have 3 years of experience
(internship + 2). [8741.44(a)]

= Supervisors can supervise a maximum of 4
Individuals (any combination of interns and
assistants). [8741.44(b)(4)]

= Supervisors of an intern must possess at least
a master’s degree in communication sciences
and disorders. [§741.62(9)]



i Assistant Application

= Application & Fee

= Official transcript showing
baccalaureate degree(s) conferred

= Supervisory Responsibility
Statement Form

= Proof of Completion of
Jurisprudence Exam



i Assistant Application — cont.

= Clinical Observation & Experience
Form completed by university
program director

= Clinical Deficiency Plan if you did not
complete all the clinical observation
hours & clinical experience hours at
the university



i Assistant FAQ's

s Q. Do assistants have their own
caseload?

= A. No, they assist the licensed
speech-language pathologist In
managing as existing caseload by
Implementing documented
treatment plans.



i Assistant FAQ's

x» Q. What title can an assistant use?

= A. Assistants may use “Assistant
SLP” or SLP Assistant” as
Indicators of their credentials.

“SLP-A” or “STA” should not be
used.




i Assistant FAQ's

= Q. How much supervision should an assistant
receive?

= A. The supervising speech-language
pathologist shall provide a minimum of two
hours per week of supervision, at least one
hour of which Is face-to-face supervision
where the licensed assistant is providing the
therapy. This applies whether the licensed
assistant's practice is full or part-time.

[8741.64(g)(4)]



i Assistant FAQ's

» Q. Is continuing education required for
an assistant to renew their license?

= A. Yes. Twenty clock hours (two CEUS)
shall be required to renew a license
Issued for a two-year term. Effective
April 30, 2009, a license holder must
complete a minimum of 2.0 clock hours
(0.2 CEUS) In ethics as part of the
continuing education reguirement.



Intern Application

= Application & Fee
= Proof of Completion of Jurisprudence Exam

= Official transcript(s) showing masters degree(s) has

been conferred

= [f the masters degree has not been officially conferred, submit a
current official transcript showing course work completed AND an
letter signed by the university program director on official university
letterhead stating you satisfactorily completed all academic course
work and you are awaiting the date of next graduation for the degree
to be conferred.



i Intern Application — cont.

= Course Work & Clinical Experience Form
completed by the university program director
or director designee

= Intern Plan and Agreement of Supervision



i Internship FAQ’s

= An Intern may pursue the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Clinical
Fellowship Year (CFY) simultaneously,
HOWEVER, APPROVAL FROM ASHA TO
BEGIN THE CFY IS NOT A LICENSE TO
PRACTICE IN TEXAS.



Once the Internship is
i Completed:

= Each supervisor must complete the Report of
Completed Internship form and the intern must
submit the form(s) within 30 days of completion of
the internship.

= Both the intern and the supervisor must maintain
documentation of the supervisor’s observations
and evaluations for three years, or until the full
license Is granted.



Once the Internship is
i Completed:

= |f the Praxis exam has been passed, apply for a two-year
full license by submitting:

= Application & Fee

= Original Transcript showing graduate degree conferred
If not previously submitted

= Report of Completed Internship from each supervisor
= Praxis exam score (600+)



Once the Internship is
i Completed:

= |f the exam has not been passed, apply for a
temporary certificate of registration
(application & fee, transcript if needed,
Report of Completed Internship, & statement
the supervision will continue).

= Temporary certificate allows practice for a
period ending 8 weeks after the next
scheduled exam




i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: When do | start the internship?

A: You must begin within 4 years after completing
academic and clinical experience requirements.



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: How long Is the internship?

A: It must be completed within 36 months, and it
consists of 36 weeks of full-time (35 hours per
week) supervised professional experience. Part-
time employment over a longer period Is also
acceptable.



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: What type of job Is acceptable?

A: It must involve primarily clinical activities such as
assessment, diagnosis, screening, treatment, report-
writing, and family/client consultation and/or counseling
related to individuals with communication disabllities.



i Internship FAQ’s

s Q: What title do | use?

= A: “Intern” (in speech-language pathology or
audiology).



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: How much supervision is required?

A: A total of 36 clock hours. Each 1/3 of the
Internship must include 6 hours of direct observations
of client contact at the intern’s worksite, plus 6 hour
of other monitoring activities (e.g., correspondence,
videotape review, phone conferences). During each
1/3 segment, the supervisor must conduct a formal
evaluation of the Iintern’s progress and maintain
documentation.



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: What happens if | don’t complete the
Internship within the time frame?

A: You may submit a written request for an
extension explaining the reason. A Board
Designee will determine whether the internship
should be revised or extended and whether
additional requirements must be met.



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: What happens if | change jobs?

= A: If the supervisor and number of hours worked per
week stay the same, you must submit a new Intern
Plan and indicated that it is a site change only.



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: What happens if | change supervisors?

= A: Your new supervisor must submit a current Intern
Plan and Agreement of Supervision form. The new
arrangement has to be approved by the Board before
you resume practice. You and your previous
supervisor must complete a Report of Completed
Internship Form and submit it to the Board office.



i Internship FAQ’s

= Q: What happens if | increase or decrease the hours
| work?

A: If the number of hours worked changes, but supervisor
and location are the same, you must submit a new Intern
Plan. A Report of Completed Internship form must also be
submitted for the previous experience.



‘L Contact Information

= 512-834-6627 (phone)
= 512-834-6677 (fax)
= e-mail:
= Speech@dshs.state.tx.us
= Web site:
= WWw.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/




[ icensure, Ethics &£
The Complaint Process




Licensure

Government process where
state grants permission to
practice
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Licensure addresses...

* Consumer Protection

*Legal Right to Practice

*Defines Scope of Professional Practice
* Continuing Education

eLaw v. Rules and Regulations




State Board of Examiners for Speech-

Language Pathology and Audiology

POWERS/DUTIES are to
administer, coordinate, and

enforce this chapter under Texas
Occupations Code CH 401

and-.......




» Evaluate qualifications of applicants.

* |ssue subpoenas, examine witnesses, and
administer oaths under the laws of the state of
Texas.

» Conduct hearings and keep records and minutes
necessary to the orderly administration of this
chapter.

* |Investigate persons engaging in practices that
violate this chapter.




~ STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH LANGUAGE
PATHOLOGY & AUDIOLOGY

8401.202 Rulemaking Authority

“The board shall adopt rules necessary to administer
and enforce this chapter including rules that
establish standards of ethical practice”.




" State Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology

* Current Appointees
- Vickie B. Dionne, Au.D., FAAA -- Chair
« Phillip Wilson, Ph.D., CCC-A
- Kerry Ormson, Ed.D., Au. D.
- Sonya Salinas, M.A., CCC-SLP
- Patty Brannon, M.A., CCC-SLP
- Leila Salmons, M.S., CCC-SLP
- Kimberly Carlisle, J.D.
- Tammy Camp, M.D.
» Christopher Rourk, J.D.




| www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech

You can find:
- Rules

- Members

- Complaints Process
- Applications / forms
- Statutes or laws

- Links




022 Texas Administrative Code Chapter

(41

eSubchapter D. Code of Ethics: Duties
and Responsibilities of License
Holders







The shalls and
the shall nots




Licensees SHALL:

+ Notify the Board of changes in name of
preferred mailing address within (30) days of
such change (s) which must include the name,
mailing address, and zip code and be mailed,
telephoned, faxed or sent by electronic mail to
the Executive Director [§741.41(a)]




* Practice only in those aspects of profession w/in
licensee’s scope of competence [§741.41(a)(1)]

* Ensure safe therapy environment [8741.41(a)(2)]

» Seek appropriate medical consultation whenever
indicated [8741.41(a)(4)]

* Ensure equipment operates properly and properly
calibrated [8741.41(a)(7)]

» Seek to identify competent dependable referral sources
for clients [§741.41(a)(5)]




“Licensees SHALL:

111111111

* Provide accurate information to clients
[8741.41(a) (9)]

* Inform the board of violations of this ethics
code or any other provision in this
chapter[8741.41(d)]

* Comply with any order issued by the
board[8741.41(e)]




" Licensees shall;

» Cooperate with the board by promptly
furnishing documents and promptly
responding to a request for information
[8741.41(i)]

» Terminate professional relationship when
reasonably clear, client is no longer
benefiting from the services being
provided [8741.41(a)(8)]




_ Licensees SHALL NOT:

e Jeopardize a client’s safety

through inattentive behavior
[8741.41(b)(2)]




e Guarantee, directly or indirectly, the results of any
therapeutic procedures, EXCEPT:

e a reasonable statement of prognosis may be
made; and caution must be exercised not to
mislead clients to expect results that cannot
be predicted from reliable evidence.
[8741.41(b)(3)(A)(B)]




——
i
o
——— " oo
— m-.‘r'!'.-.-"u- "

—
e

= ——
Licensees SHALL NOT:

» Delegate any service requiring professional
competence of a licensee to anyone not
licensed for the performance of that
service [8741.41(b)(4)]

* Provide services If the services cannot be
provided with reasonable skill or safety to
the client [8741.41(b)(5)]

.......
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*Engage in sexual contact,
Including intercourse, kissing, or
fondling, with a client or an
assistant, intern, or a student

supervised by the licensee
18741.41(b)(7)]




o Falsify records [§741.41(b)(14)]

» Misrepresent his or her training or
competence [8741.41(b)(13)]

* Aid or abet the practice of an unlicensed
person when that person Is required to
hold a license under this chapter
[8741.41(f)]
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" GROUNDS FOR LICENSE DENIAL AND
DISCIPLINARY ACTION

- After a hearing, the board may deny a license to
an applicant or may suspend or revoke a person’s
license or place on probation a license holder if
the applicant or license holder:

* (4) engages In unprofessional conduct that:

(B) violates the code of ethics adopted and
published by the board. [Occupations Code,
8401.451(a)(4)(B)]




The Complaint
Process




Occupations Code
8401.253

Chapter 741
Subchapter N
Rule 741.191




COMPLAINT PROCESS

Each licensee must prominently display In
his/her office the:

State Licensing Board’s

Name
Address
Phone Number




COMPLAINT PROCESS

A complaint can be filed

against you by a consumer, a
colleague, or even the Board
itself.




COMPLAINT PROCESS

A person wishing to report an
alleged violation of the Act or
the rules by a licensee or other

person shall notify the

Executive Director.




COMPLAINT PROCESS

Written Notice can be In the form of:

o Complaint Form (website)

¢ Letter

¢Emall




COMPLAINT PROCESS

When a complaint has been filed:

Prior to or during an investigation,
the executive director or his/her
designhee shall request a response
from the licensee or person against
whom an alleged violation has been
filed to gather information required
by the Complaints committee of the

board.




COMPLAINT PROCESS

The licensee or person against whom an alleged
violation has been filed must respond within

15 working days

of the Executive Director's request.




PRACTICE TIP

lgnoring Executive

Director’s letter does not
make It go away!




COMPLAINT PROCESS
Open Meetings

¢ The agendas are published and
the public i1s always

¢+ Names relating to the complaints
are not published at this time




COMPLAINT PROCESS

If It IS determined that there are sufficient

grounds to support the complaint, the
matters In question shall be investigated.




COMPLAINT PROCESS

What happens If...
The committee determines that there are

Insufficient grounds to support the
complaint?
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COMPLAINT PROCESS

What happens If: (con’t)

The committee shall:
¢ dismiss the complaint

& give written notice to:

—licensee or person against whom the
complaint has been filed

—the complainant




COMPLAINT PROCESS

If after investigation a complaint or allegation Is
substantiated by the evidence, the committee
may recommend:

“»»Cease and Desist
“*Information Letter
“*Warning Letter
“*Reprimand
“*Reprimand with CEs




COMPLAINT PROCESS

Violation

“* Administrative Penalty

> Not less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each
violation

»Each day a violation continues = separate violation
“*Probated Suspension
“»*Suspension
“*Emergency Suspension
“*License Revocation




COMPLAINT PROCESS

Factors Related to Schedule of Sanctions

¢ Seriousness of violation

# Previous complaint history

# Severity level necessary to deter future
violations

¢ Efforts to correct the violation
¢ Other extenuating circumstances
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COMPLAINT PROCESS

In the Past Year

oroximately 36-50 complaints

proximately 10-18 against audiologists

¢ No license revocations

+ Multiple violations

+ Multiple administrative penalties in the
form of fines

+ Several letters of reprimand, & probated
suspensions with CEU’s




COMPLAINT PROCESS

+ Failure to maintain proper records;

# Fallure to supervise Intern or Assistant

+ Not upgrading to Full License




If You Don’t Know???

Please Read the Act, Rules, or
contact the Program Office




CONTACT INFORMATION:

C. David Richards
Assistant General Counsel
Office of the General Counsel

1100 West 49t Street, M-525
Austin, Texas 78756
512-458-7236

512-458-7751 Fax




