• Contact Us

    Tobacco Prevention and Control Branch
    DSHS Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section
    1100 West 49th Street, Mail Code 1965
    Austin, TX 78756

    Phone: (512) 776-7402
    Fax: (512) 776-7555


    Send an email

Tobacco Prevention and Control Regional Contacts

DSHS Tobacco Prevention and Control provides eight local tobacco control coordinators throughout the state through the Regional Partnership Program. Tobacco control coordinators are responsible for conducting the following types of activities within their respective health service regions:

  • Community mobilization and training
  • Policy change activities
  • Counter-marketing/educational activities
  • Efforts targeted to diverse/special populations such as minorities, persons in rural areas, and youth in alternative settings
  • Cessation activities

Austin-Based Tobacco Prevention and Control Staff

Name Telephone Email
Barry Sharp, Program Manager (512) 776-3307 Barry.Sharp@dshs.state.tx.us
Mark Boldt, Cessation Coordinator (512) 776-3115 Mark.Boldt@dshs.state.tx.us
Linda Hello, Enforcement Coordinator  (512) 698-5285 Linda.Hello@dshs.state.tx.us
Kelly McCaffrey, Prevention Coordinator  (512) 776-6468 Kelly.McCaffrey@dshs.state.tx.us
Jessica Hyde, Special Populations Coordinator (512) 776-2031 JessicaR.Hyde@dshs.state.tx.us
Chelsea Frand (OSER), Epidemiologist (512) 776-2126 Chelsea.Frand@dshs.state.tx.us
Margaret Potyrala (IST), Information Specialist (512) 776-2703 Margaret.Potyrala@dshs.state.tx.us
Patricia Moore, PhD, Section Director (512) 776-7234 Patricia.Moore@dshs.state.tx.us

Regional Tobacco Prevention and Control Staff

Region Address                         Staff                            Telephone         Email                                               
1

6302 Lola
Lubbock, Texas 79424

Jennifer Hasty, Regional Coordinator (806) 783-6470 Jennifer.Hasty@dshs.state.tx.us
2/3 1301 South Bowen Rd Ste 200
Arlington, Texas 76013
Tammie Harris, Regional Coordinator (817) 264-4671 Tammie.Harris@dshs.state.tx.us
4/5N 1517 West Front St
Tyler, Texas 75702
Lana Herriman, Regional Coordinator (903) 533-5225 Lana.Herriman@dshs.state.tx.us
6/5S 5425 Polk, Ste. 460C
 Houston, Texas 77023
Vacant, Regional Coordinator (713) 767-3483  
7 2408 South 37th St
Temple, Texas 76504
Cheryl Hill-Burse, Regional Coordinator (254) 771-6757 Cheryl.Hill-Burse@dshs.state.tx.us
8 7430 Louis Pasteur
San Antonio, Texas 78229
Rick Meza, Regional Coordinator     (210) 949-2125 Rick.Meza@dshs.state.tx.us
9/10 401 East Franklin Ste. 210
El Paso, Texas 79901
Becky Zima, Regional Coordinator (915) 834-7775 Rebecca.Zima@dshs.state.tx.us
11 601 West Sesame Dr
Harlingen, Texas 78550
Berta Cavazos, Regional Coordinator (956) 421-5580 Berta.Cavazos@dshs.state.tx.us

Last updated March 9, 2016