• Contact Us

    Tobacco Prevention and Control Branch
    DSHS Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section
    1100 West 49th Street, Mail Code 1965
    Austin, TX 78756

    Phone: 512-776-7111
    Fax: (512) 776-7555

    Send an email

Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program (TYTAP)

If a minor (under 18) has been cited for violating the Texas Tobacco Law (see Senate Bill 55), the court may send him or her to a state certified tobacco awareness/cessation class.  These classes are a total of 8 hours and will be held over two weeks.


    Week 1
    Tuesday and Thursday:  5:00PM - 7:00PM (2 hours each night)

    Week 2
    Tuesday and Thursday 5:00PM - 7:00PM (2 hours each night)

The Worth it? campaign web site contains a list of certified instructors for the tobacco awareness class. Click “Class Locator” on the navigation bar from anywhere within the site. 

Should you have questions or concerns about the class or not be able to use the website www.worthit.org, please contact Offender Education staff at: 512-834-6628, x2910 or 800-832-9623, x2910, or tytap@dshs.state.tx.us.

TYTAP Facilitator Information

Last updated July 26, 2017