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ISSUE:  Can a facility in Texas provide medical services, in response to a disaster, 
to persons whose condition requires an overnight stay (more than 24 hours), without 
obtaining a hospital license?    
  
ANSWER: In most cases, unless those overnight services are provided in conjunction 
with the facility maintaining a lab, X-Ray or surgery or obstetrical facility, a hospital 
license may not be required. If these are services are provided and maintained, the facility 
may need to obtain a hospital license or be exempt from licensure as set forth below, all 
of which requires a case by case analysis.  
 
DISCUSSION:  The laws governing hospitals define a hospital, in part, as an 
establishment that provides certain medical services for more than 24 hours, for two or 
more unrelated individuals that require diagnosis, treatment or care for illness, injury, 
deformity and regularly maintains a clinical lab, diagnostic X-ray, surgical or obstetrical 
care facility and other “definitive” medical or surgical treatment.  (Health and Safety 
Code, Sec. 241.003(5)) As a result, during a disaster, a triage unit, temporary medical 
facility (services and stay are less than 24 hours), or medical special needs shelters (needs 
do not reach the care level to necessitate a hospital stay) can be established without 
requiring that the location(s) obtain a hospital license as these do not meet the definition 
of “hospital.”  However, if proposed services do meet the definition of “hospital”, as 
noted above, and if the facility within which they are to be performed is not maintained 
or operated by the federal or state government or agency thereof (Sec. 241.004), the 
facility must obtain a hospital license.  Also, if the facility holds an active license under 
Texas law as a nursing home (Sec. 241.004(1) and HSC ch. 242), or is licensed as a 
private mental health facility under Texas law (Sec. 241.004(1) and HSC ch. 577), it is 
exempt from hospital licensure.  
  
WAIVER OF LAW OR RULES: If a facility is currently licensed by the Department, 
once a disaster is declared by the governor, in order to address surge capacity, any rules 
restricting the number of persons a hospital can serve under its existing licensed capacity 
can be waived by the Governor to increase capacity. The Governor may also suspend any 
other rules or laws than prevent, hinder or delay necessary action in coping with a 
disaster.  
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