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Gyms and exercise facilities and classes may operate up to 75% of the total listed occupancy of the gym or 
exercise facility.  Employees and contractors of the gym or exercise facility are not counted towards the 
occupancy limitation.  All employees and customers must wear a face covering (over the nose and mouth) 
wherever it is not feasible to maintain six feet of social distancing from another individual not in the same 
household.  The following are the minimum recommended health protocols for all gyms and exercise facilities 
and classes, whether indoor, outdoor, individual, or group, choosing to operate in Texas.  Gyms and exercise 
facilities and classes may adopt additional protocols consistent with their specific needs and circumstances to help 
protect the health and safety of all employees, contractors, and customers. 
The virus that causes COVID-19 can be spread to others by infected persons who have few or no symptoms.  Even 
if an infected person is only mildly ill, the people they spread it to may become seriously ill or even die, especially if 
that person is 65 or older with pre-existing health conditions that place them at higher risk.  Because of the hidden 
nature of this threat, everyone should rigorously follow the practices specified in these protocols, all of which 
facilitate a safe and measured reopening of Texas.  The virus that causes COVID-19 is still circulating in our 
communities.  We should continue to observe practices that protect everyone, including those who are most 
vulnerable. 
Please note, public health guidance cannot anticipate every unique situation.  Gym and exercise facilities and 
classes should stay informed and take actions based on common sense and wise judgment that will protect health 
and support economic revitalization.  Gyms and exercise facilities and classes should also be mindful of federal 
and state employment and disability laws, workplace safety standards, and accessibility standards to address the 
needs of both workers and customers. 

Health protocols for your employees and contractors: 

 Train all employees and contractors on appropriate cleaning and disinfection, hand hygiene, and 
respiratory etiquette. 

 Screen employees and contractors before coming into the gym or exercise facility or class:  

 Send home any employee or contractor who has any of the following new or worsening signs or 
symptoms of possible COVID-19: 
- Cough
- Shortness of breath or difficulty

breathing
- Chills
- Repeated shaking with chills
- Muscle pain
- Headache

- Sore throat
- Loss of taste or smell
- Diarrhea
- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature

greater than or equal to 100.0 degrees Fahrenheit
- Known close contact with a person who is lab

confirmed to have COVID-19

 Do not allow employees or contractors with new or worsening signs or symptoms listed above 
to return to work until: 
- In the case of an employee or contractor who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual

may return to work when all three of the following criteria are met:  at least 3 days (72 hours)
have passed since recovery (resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing
medications); and the individual has improvement in symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of
breath); and at least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared; or
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- In the case of an employee or contractor who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and does 
not get evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual is assumed 
to have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual has 
completed the same three-step criteria listed above;  or 

- If the employee or contractor has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to 
work before completing the above self-isolation period, the individual must obtain a medical 
professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis. 

 Do not allow an employee or contractor with known close contact to a person who is lab-
confirmed to have COVID-19 to return to work until the end of the 14 day self-quarantine period 
from the last date of exposure (with an exception granted for healthcare workers and critical 
infrastructure workers). 

 Have employees and contractors wash or sanitize their hands upon entering the gym or exercise facility. 
 Have employees and contractors maintain at least 6 feet of separation from other individuals.  If such 

distancing is not feasible, other measures such as hand hygiene, cough etiquette, cleanliness, and 
sanitation should be rigorously practiced.  

 If a gym or exercise facility or class provides a meal for employees and/or contractors, the gym or 
exercise facility is recommended to have the meal individually packed for each individual. 

 

Health protocols for your facilities: 
 

 Space workout equipment to provide for at least 6 feet of separation between patrons. 

 Regularly and frequently clean and disinfect any regularly touched surfaces, such as doorknobs, tables, 
chairs, restrooms, and shower and locker room facilities.  Ensure spacing in showers and locker room 
facilities by, for example, closing off certain lockers and/or showers.   

 Disinfect any items that come into contact with customers. 
 Provide equipment cleaning products throughout the gym or exercise facility or class for use on 

equipment, including dead weights. 
 Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available to 

employees, contractors, and customers. 

 Consider placing readily visible signage at the gym or exercise facility or class to remind everyone of best 
hygiene practices.  

 For facilities with more than 10 employees and/or contractors present at one time, consider having an 
individual wholly or partially dedicated to ensuring the health protocols adopted by the facility are being 
successfully implemented and followed. 
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https://www.dshs.texas.gov/coronavirus/toolkit/print/WhatToDo-EN.pdf



