COVID-19 Expert Vaccine Allocation Panel

COVID-19 header image

Texas has convened a team of appointed external and internal subject-matter experts (SME) into the COVID-19 Expert Vaccine Allocation Panel (EVAP) to develop vaccine allocation strategies as recommendations to the Texas Commissioner of Health. 

The panel will develop and apply guiding principles in their recommendations. Some of these principles may include equitable distribution across urban and rural communities, and considerations of application of ACIP guidance for vulnerable populations. The guiding principles are under development and will be finalized by the EVAP. 

The recommendations from the EVAP will be sent to the Texas Commissioner of Health for final approval.

COVID-19 Expert Vaccine Allocation Panel Voting Members: 

  • Chair, Imelda Garcia, Associate Commissioner for Laboratory and Infectious Disease Services, DSHS 
  • The Honorable Lois Kolkhorst, Texas Senate District 18 
  • The Honorable Eddie Lucio, Jr., Texas Senate District 27 
  • The Honorable Stephanie Klick, Texas House District 91 
  • The Honorable Senfronia Thompson, Texas House District 141 
  • David Lakey, M.D., Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Chief Medical Officer, University of Texas System 
  • Gerald Parker, M.D., Associate Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Texas A&M University 
  • John Zerwas, M.D., Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, University of Texas System 
  • W. Nim Kidd, Chief, Texas Division of Emergency Management, Texas A&M System 
  • Stephen Williams, MPA, Director, Houston Health Department 
  • Casie Stoughton,RN, MPH, Director of Public Health, City of Amarillo 
  • Paul McGaha D.O., MPH, Local Health Authority, Smith County, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler 
  • David Gruber, Associate Commissioner for Regional and Local Health Operations, DSHS 
  • Manda Hall, M.D., Associate Commissioner for Community Health Improvement, DSHS 
  • Stephen Pont, M.D., Director of the Center for Public Health Policy & Practice, DSHS 
  • Jennifer Shuford, M.D., Chief State Epidemiologist, DSHS 
  • Ryan Van Ramshorst, M.D., MPD, Chief Medical Officer, Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program, Health and Human Services Commission
Last updated December 28, 2020