Provider Vaccine Information

How to Become a COVID-19 Vaccinator

Thank you for your interest in becoming a COVID-19 vaccine provider. Any facility, organization, or healthcare provider licensed to possess or administer vaccine or provide vaccination services is eligible to enroll. 

The first step to becoming a COVID-19 vaccine provider is registering through EnrollTexasIZ.dshs.texas.gov. Only providers registered through this site can receive and administer COVID-19 vaccine in Texas.

For questions about registration, please call the DSHS COVID-19 Vaccine Provider hotline at (877) 835-7750, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday or email COVID19VacEnroll@dshs.texas.gov.

  • Watch a joint video message from TMA President Dr. Fite and DSHS Commissioner Dr. Hellerstedt on COVID-19 vaccine provider enrollment.

Registration Process 

Each facility or location, including those that are part of a hospital system or clinic network, must register at EnrollTexasIZ.dshs.texas.gov, complete the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) COVID-19 Vaccination Program Provider Agreement and list the healthcare providers at that location that would be responsible for vaccination. 

For example, each hospital in a hospital system must complete a registration separately and list vaccine providers there.

More information on the CDC requirements is below. 

After Registration

After completing enrollment, you will receive an email confirming your registration. Once approved, you will receive another email confirming your status as a COVID-19 vaccine provider.

CDC COVID-19 Vaccine Provider Requirements

All COVID-19 Vaccine Providers must be able to adhere to the following requirements:

1. Providers must administer COVID-19 Vaccine in accordance with all requirements and recommendations of CDC and CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP).

2. Within 24 hours of administering a dose of COVID-19 Vaccine and adjuvant (if applicable), providers must record in the vaccine recipient’s record and report required information to the relevant state, local, or territorial public health authority. Details of required information (collectively, Vaccine-Administration Data) for reporting can be found on CDC’s website.
Providers must submit Vaccine-Administration Data through either (1) the immunization information system (IIS) of the state and local or territorial jurisdiction or (2) another system designated by CDC according to CDC documentation and data requirements.
Providers must preserve the record for at least 3 years following vaccination, or longer if required by state, local, or territorial law. Such records must be made available to any federal, state, local, or territorial public health department to the extent authorized by law.

3. Providers must not sell or seek reimbursement for COVID-19 Vaccine and any adjuvant, syringes, needles, or other constituent products and ancillary supplies that the federal government provides without cost to the provider.

4. Providers must administer COVID-19 Vaccine regardless of the vaccine recipient’s ability to pay COVID-19 Vaccine administration fees.

5. Before administering COVID-19 Vaccine, providers must provide an approved Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) fact sheet or vaccine information statement (VIS), as required, to each vaccine recipient, the adult caregiver accompanying the recipient, or other legal representative.

6. Providers' COVID-19 vaccination services must be conducted in compliance with CDC’s Guidance for Immunization Services During the COVID-19 Pandemic for safe delivery of vaccines.

7. Providers must comply with CDC requirements for COVID-19 Vaccine management. Those requirements include the following:

a) Providers must store and handle COVID-19 Vaccine under proper conditions, including maintaining cold chain conditions and chain of custody at all times in accordance with the manufacturer’s package insert and CDC guidance in CDC’s Vaccine Storage and Handling Toolkit, which will be updated to include specific information related to COVID-19 Vaccine;
b) Providers must monitor vaccine-storage-unit temperatures at all times using equipment and practices that comply with guidance located in CDC’s Vaccine Storage and Handling Toolkit;
c) Providers must comply with each relevant jurisdiction’s immunization program guidance for dealing with temperature excursions;
d) Providers must monitor and comply with COVID-19 Vaccine expiration dates; and
e) Providers must preserve all records related to COVID-19 Vaccine management for a minimum of 3 years, or longer if required by state, local, or territorial law.

8. Providers must report the number of doses of COVID-19 Vaccine and adjuvants that were unused, spoiled, expired, or wasted as required by the relevant jurisdiction.

9. Providers must comply with all federal instructions and timelines for disposing COVID-19 vaccine and adjuvant, including unused doses.

10. Providers must report moderate and severe adverse events following vaccination to the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS).

11. Providers must provide a completed COVID-19 vaccination record card to every COVID-19 Vaccine recipient, the adult caregiver accompanying the recipient, or other legal representative. Each COVID-19 Vaccine shipment will include COVID-19 vaccination record cards.

12. Providers must comply with all applicable requirements as set forth by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, including but not limited to requirements in any EUA that covers COVID-19 Vaccine. Providers must administer COVID-19 Vaccine in compliance with all applicable state and territorial vaccination laws.



Last updated October 23, 2020