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Deregistration for Certain Sex Offenders
Council on Sex Offender Treatment Update

(December 14, 2010)
During the 79th Regular Session of the Texas Legislature two companion bills became law, impacting some individuals who are currently registered as sex offenders here in Texas.  H.B. 867 amended Chapter 62, Code of Criminal Procedure by adding Subchapter I Art. 62.401-62.408 thereby creating an opportunity for some sex offenders to seek relief from their duty to register.  Since the close of that legislative session the Council on Sex Offender Treatment, authorized under H.B. 2036, has developed a protocol for the deregistration process that utilizes research supported risk assessment instruments.  The Council will soon begin training qualified Licensed Sex Offender Treatment Providers who want to become Deregistration Evaluation Specialists.  These Specialists will be the professionals who are qualified to conduct the deregistration evaluations that could potentially provide a Registered Sex Offender with an opportunity to seek relief from the court regarding his or her obligation to register.  The training for the Deregistration Evaluation Specialists will be conducted in the upcoming months. This update is to provide information regarding some important components regarding the deregistration process to decrease the potential for any confusion. 
First, it is very important to note that not all Registered Sex Offenders are eligible to pursue deregistration at this time.  The amendments to the Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 62 allow sex offenders who have been convicted or placed on deferred adjudication for the following offenses to pursue deregistration: 
· Compelling prostitution 
· Compelling prostitution (victim under 17 years old)

· Indecent exposure (two or more convictions)

· Unlawful restraint (victim under 17 years old)

· Indecency with a child by exposure

· Possession or promotion of child pornography

· Online solicitation of a minor

· Sexual performance of a child

· Indecency with a child (victim 13 to 17 years old)

· Any attempts, conspiracies, and solicitations of any of the above listed.
Thus individuals who have been convicted of other sex offenses like Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Child, Aggravated Sexual Assault, Aggravated Kidnapping with Intent (adult or victim under 17 years old), Burglary with Intent, Continuous Abuse of a Child, Sexual Assault, Prohibited Sexual Conduct, Indecency with a Child (victim under 13 years old), or any attempts, conspiracies of the latter are not eligible for deregistration at this time.  This determination is mandated under current law which requires the Council to determine the minimum required registration period under 42 U.S.C. Section 14071 (***Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Program) for each reportable conviction or adjudication under this chapter, if the state is to receive the maximum amount of federal money available as described by the law.  
*** NOTE: In July 2006 President George Bush signed into law the federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) The act is cited as the Adam Walsh Protection and Safety Act (AWA) which superseded the 1994 Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act.

Secondly, the following are additional requirements that must be met:

· The sex offender must not being convicted of any offense for which
imprisonment for more than 1 year may be imposed during the required registration period; 

· The sex offender must not have been convicted of any sex offense including misdemeanors during the required registration period; 

· The sex offender must have successfully completed sex offender treatment as defined in 22 Texas Administrative Code, Section 810.2(b)(29); and

· The sex offender must have successfully completed any periods of supervised release, probation, and parole. Any revocation disqualifies the offender.
Thus, sex offenders who are currently on probation or parole are not eligible for deregistration until they have successfully completed their community supervision.  

Finally, the Council wants to clarify its duties and responsibilities in the administration of this program.  The Council is to establish a protocol for deregistration, train Deregistration Evaluation Specialists, and determine whether or not deregistration evaluations have been conducted according to the administrative rules and directives that define the process.  So, an individual who undergoes a deregistration evaluation is not guaranteed that he or she will be relieved from the duty to register.  The final decision whether or not to allow the sex offender to deregister is ultimately determined by the judge in the original court of jurisdiction.
Further updates will be provided as the Council moves forward with the implementation of this program.  Once the Deregistration Evaluation Specialists are trained to conduct evaluations the Council will post another update with more specific information regarding application for an initial review and the deregistration evaluation.

