Dyslexia Therapist & Dyslexia
Practitioner Licensing Program

Licensure requirements, the
application process, renewals, and
frequently asked questions



Why would someone choose to be
licensed?

o To be identified as a dyslexia remediation
professional who has met the minimum standards
set forth by the state of Texas

o To maintain and upgrade skills and knowledge by
taking the required continuing education hours to
further foster high quality services

o To increase public confidence in the dyslexia
remediation profession by being regulated by the
state of Texas

o To act as a resource for those with questions
regarding dyslexia



What are the requirements for
licensure?

o Licensed Dyslexia Therapists

-A master’s degree (or a more advanced degree)

-Successful completion of an IMSLEC accredited
training program that includes, at a minimum:
- 200 contact hours of coursework
- 700 hours of supervised clinical experience
- 10 demonstration lessons
-Successful completion of the Alliance National
Registration Examination for Multisensory Structured

Language Education Therapist Level administered
by ALTA



What are the requirements for
licensure?

o Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners

-A bachelor’s degree (or a more advanced degree)

-Successful completion of an IMSLEC accredited
training program that includes, at a minimum:

- 45 contact hours of coursework

- 60 hours of supervised clinical experience

- 5 demonstration lessons
-Successful completion of the Alliance National
Registration Examination for Multisensory Structured

Language Education Associate / Teaching Level
administered by ALTA



Where can | find an application?
o www.dshs.state.tx.us/dyslexia
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Welcome to the home page of the DSHS Dyslexia Therapist and Dyslexia Practitioner
Licensing Program, the state program that licenses and regulates Licensed Dyslexia
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What information do | put on the
application?

o Name, preferred mailing address, social security
number, phone number, criminal history
information, etc.

o If you have a criminal history, you must provide
information for all felony and/or misdemeanor
offenses. Please note that most minor traffic
violations do not need to be reported. DWI/DUI is
NOT a minor traffic offense.

9. Have vou ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor? YES NO

Have youn ever entered a plea of nolo contendere (no contest), entered a plea of guilty, or received deferred
adjudication for a felony or misdemeanor? YES NO

If vou answered ves to either of the above, complete this section. Provide the following information for all falonv
and’'or misdemeanor offenses.  Include anv convictions which are currentlv on appeal. Attach additional information

and decumentation or use additional sheets if appropriate.

State offense(s) committed

Date(s) of conviction(s) Sentence(s)

City, County and State where offense(s) was'were committed

Are vou'were vou on probation'parole? Yes No If ves, discharge date




What information do | put on the
application?

o Check the correct line next to
the type of license for which you

are applying.

10. TYPE OF LICENSE FOR WHICH YOU ARE APPLYING

Please mark the space next to the type of license for which you are eligible. You may need to read the
information provided in items 11-14 in order to make this determination.

DYSLEXIA PRACTITIONER - I hold a BACHELOR’S degree (or an advanced degree) from a
regionally accredited college or university and I have completed the additional training. experience, and
examination qualifications for licensure as a dyslexia practitioner. (See item 11 below for more information.)

* DYSLEXIA THERAPIST - I hold a MASTER’S degree (or a more advanced degree) from a regionally
accredited college or university and I have completed the additional training, experience, and examination
qualifications for licensure as a dyslexia therapist. (See item 12 below for more information.)



What do | include on question #77

7. Do you possess any professional or occupational licenses, registrations, certificates, or permits
issued by any state, jurisdiction, or territory? YES NO
If YEZ, state profession or occupation; license or certificate number; natne of the issuing jurisdiction, and date
izsued:

o Check “YES” if you hold any type of professional
license, certificate, registration, or permit issued by
the state of Texas or any other state (i.e. certified
teacher, speech therapist, licensed social worker,
etc.)



What do | send in as sufficient proof
of meeting these requirements?

o All applicants must submit original transcripts
showing the highest degree earned. Photocopies of
transcripts are not accepted.

o If you are a current member of ALTA, send in a
photocopy of your current ALTA card or certificate. It
is not necessary to send in your training program
certificates or proof of passing the required exam.

o If you are not a current member of ALTA, you must
send in photocopied certificates from your training
program showing the number of completed
coursework hours, supervised clinical experience
hours, and number of demonstration lessons. You
must also submit proof of passing the required
exam.




How do | renew my license?

o It is the responsibility of the licensee to renew
his/her license!

o Renewal notices will be mailed out approximately 30
days prior to expiration

o Failure to receive notice does NOT excuse a licensee
from late fees

o Licensees may submit the online renewal form via
our online system or mail in the renewal form and
fee to DSHS

o Each licensee must complete 20 hours of continuing
education before the license is renewed




Renewal Notice/Form

S o 6 N T0 0Tl 1 1 13 ) 1y —
Texas Department of State Health Services License=: ooon
51‘ d: January 4, 2013 Budget Fund: ZZ107/001

Amount: S158.00
o Duse: Qetober 31,2012
Please indicate changes necessary to keep your records current:

LICENSEE NAME Address:
ADDRESS City St
CITY, STATE 78754 Prmary Place of Emplovment (Address & Phone):

felony or misdemeanor, other than 2 mmer traffic violaton? (Plzase note that Drving Whale Intoxscated

15 ot a mmer wraffie vielaten) ()Yes ()Xo (INA

Have you ::m;ilttec' the contmumg sducshon requirements 25 set outm state law and'or agency rule?
i " i ol

()Yes ()No (INA

Smoe vour last renewsl, have vou been convicted, pled guidty 19, or received deferred adjudication fora

CASH RECEIPTS BRANCH, MC 2003

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
PO BOX 149347

AUSTIN, TX 78714-9347



What do | do if | am “selected for audit”?

S — CUT ALONG THIS LINE ----nnmmemmmmemmmmmm e e e oo —

Texas Department of State Health Services Licenzes: 0000
Bill=d: Januarv 4, 2011 Budget Fund: ZZ107/001
Clisnt Code: 6302 Amount: S158.00
Application=: 0000 Due: Oetober 31,2012
Flease indicate changes necessary to keep your records current:
LICENSEE NAME Address:
GENERIC ADDRESS City 5t Zip:

CITY, STATE 78754 Primary Plzce of Employment (Address & Phone):

Simes your last renswal, have vou been convicted, plad guilty to, of recetved deferrad sdjudicstion for 2
#**SELECTEDFOR AUDIT### felony or misdemeznet, othet than 2 mmer waffic vielztion? (Plezse nets thet Driving While Intexicated
iz pot 2 minet traffic vielation) () Vex [ )Ne [ JNA
Hezve vou completed the contmumg sducstion taquirsments 25 sstoutin stete lew nd'or zgency rule?
PTer (N0 (WA

o~

CASH RECEIPTS BEANCH, MC 2003

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
PO BOX 149347

AUSTIN, TX 75714-9347



What do | do if | am “selected for
audit™?

o You must send in proof of
completion of the required
continuing education hours

o Sufficient proof includes
photocopies of the continuing
education certificates that clearly
show the number of completed
continuing education hours



Frequently Asked Questions

o Are Texas school districts required to employ
licensed dyslexia practitioners and/or licensed

dyslexia therapists?

« No. Texas school districts are currently not
required by state law to employ licensed
dyslexia practitioners and/or licensed
dyslexia therapists. A school district may
choose to require that the district’s
dyslexia educators hold a DSHS license.

o How much does it cost to be licensed?
o Initial licensing fee: $161 for 2 years
« Renewal fee: $158 for 2 years



Frequently Asked Questions

o How many continuing education hours are
required for renewal?

« 20 hours in 2 years; if you are ALTA
certified, you may use the same
continuing education hours.

o Are the dyslexia therapist and dyslexia
practitioner licenses national licenses?

« No. The licenses are valid only within the
state of Texas and do not permit any
special rights or privileges in other states.



Contact Information

Mail the application, attachments, and
licensing fee to:

Dyslexia Licensing Program

Texas Department of State Health Services
P.O. Box 149347
Mail Code 2003
Austin, TX 78714-9347

Phone: (512) 834-6628
Fax: (512) 834-6677

dyslexia@dshs.state.tx.us

www.dshs.state.tx.us/dyslexia




Additional Resources

o IMSLEC - The International Multisensory
Structure Language Education Council

WWW.imslec.org

o ALTA - Academic Language Therapy
Association

www.altaread.org

o TEA - Texas Education Agency

WWW.tea.state.tx.us
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