
8  Texas EMS Magazine March/April 2010

O
n 

D
ut

y
NASEMSO 
issues brief on 
respirators

Looking for information 
and best practices about 
how to protect EMS 
personnel from infectious 
diseases?  We reported 
last issue that the Centers 
for Disease Control and 
Prevention (CDC) has 
developed a website 
about NIOSH-approved 
respirators. The ever-helpful 
National Association of 
State EMS Officials now 
has developed a briefing 
document that sorts through 
conflicting information from 
the scientific community, 
news media and other 
organizations about 
masks and respirators. 
The brief includes best 
practices and links to 
reputable information, 
and has a question and 
answer section that’s very 
helpful. Find it at www.
nasemso.org/Advocacy/
PositionsResolutions/
IssueBriefs.asp.

Grants available for ECA training 
Are you in a rural area that needs 

more EMS personnel? DSHS has a 
total of  $50,000 this fiscal year available 
for EMS training programs, registered 
first responder organizations (FROs), 
coordinators and instructors to conduct 
ECA courses in rural or underserved 
areas of  the state lacking local EMS 
training resources. Grant funds cover the cost of  
instruction and textbooks, as well as other expenses such 
as printing and supplies. OEMS/TS will accept grant 
applications on a first-come-first-served basis until the 
funds run out for the fiscal year. Eligibility requirements 
for ECAT grants: A minimum of  three students; students 
must agree to perform emergency care attendant services 
for at least one year with a local emergency medical service 
provider or first responder organization; and services 
must be provided in a designated rural or underserved 
area of  Texas, as determined by zip code or county. The 
course coordinator must be affiliated with an educational 
program. And give yourself  plenty of  time: It takes about 
60 days for an ECAT grant to work its way through the 
DSHS approval process.  For more information, go to 
www.dshs.state.tx.us/emstraumasystems/TrainingFunding.
shtm or contact Roxanne Cuellar at (512) 834-6700 ext. 
2377 or roxanne.cuellar@dshs.state.tx.us. 

Recently awarded grants:
Coryell County Memorial Hospital Authority 
Rankin Volunteer Ambulance Service 

DNR form changes coming 
The 81st Texas Legislature made changes to Health and Safety Code 166, affecting the Out-

of-Hospital Do-Not-Resuscitate form.  The proposed rules were published in the Texas Register 
on February 12. After a comment period, the rules will go back the Health and Human Services 
Commission before the final rules are published in the Texas Register, probably in late spring. 
That means the new rules – and the new form – may go into effect early this summer. Please 
watch our website and the listservs for information. The new form reflects the legislative changes, 
including allowing a notary public to sign in lieu of two witnesses and the addition of the ability 
to sign the form electronically. The form will still carry the Texas graphic with the words “Stop” 
and “Do Not Resuscitate.” And remember: Any form, no matter which version or when it was 
signed, is still in force until it is revoked or the patient dies. This will be the third revision of the 
form since the law went into effect in 1995. Check our website for the latest version: www.dshs.
state.tx.us/emstraumasystems/dnr.shtm. We’ve also added an approved manufacturer of metal 
DNR bracelets and necklaces, bringing that list to three. The Texas Medical Association is the 
approved provider for the plastic bracelets. 
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Tips may help make 
funding request a success

Has your 
area suffered 
a devastating 
event that might 
qualify you for 
Extraordinary 
Emergency 
Funding?  The 
Extraordinary 
Emergency Fund 
is available to 
assist licensed 
EMS providers, hospitals and registered first responder 
organizations if unforeseeable events cause a degradation 
of service to the community. Situations that may severely 
reduce or incapacitate emergency response capability 
are considered extraordinary emergencies.  You can 
increase your chances of success in requesting funding by 
remembering these simple guidelines:
• Organizations eligible to apply include: licensed 

EMS providers, licensed hospitals and registered first 
responder organizations.

• Your organization must be meeting its Regional 
Advisory Council (RAC) participation requirements. 
Contact your RAC to verify this requirement.

• Requests are evaluated to determine whether there will 
be a degradation in the service you currently provide to 
your community if the request is not fulfilled. 

• Items cannot be purchased prior to receiving a contract.  
This fund is not a reimbursement grant.  Items funded 
can only be purchased during the contract period once 
the grant is awarded.

• In the case of a malfunctioning piece of equipment, 
include with your request the documents showing 
the repair history of the product.  Other helpful 
documentation could include a supportive statement 
from the manufacturer indicating that the product is 
outdated and cannot be fixed.

• Extraordinary Emergency Funding is not available 
for equipment upgrades or enhancement of services.  
Please contact our office or your local EMS regional 
staff about the annual Local Projects Grant for non-
emergency funding opportunities (see page 6 for 
details).
After a request has been funded, your organization 

must send in receipts to verify purchase of the requested 
items/services. You also will be required to send an impact 
statement of how the funding has helped your organization 
and community at large.

Paramedic 
programs face 
January 1, 2013, 
deadline

A big change is 
coming for paramedic 
programs. Beginning 
on January 1, 2013, 
all students who take 
the NREMT paramedic 
exam must have 
completed a nationally 
accredited paramedic 
program. (EMT-I, EMT 
and ECA programs are 
not affected by this.) 
Currently, only 15 of the 
100 or so paramedic 
education programs in 
Texas are nationally 
accredited, but many 
programs are looking 
toward accreditation. 
Luckily, programs have 
more than three years to 
achieve the accreditation, 
which begins with a 
program of self-study 
and evaluation. And 
there are resources to 
help. GETAC’s Education 
Committee will hold 
information sessions 
about accreditation 
throughout the year. For 
more information about 
accreditation, go to www.
coaemsp.org or to www.
naemse.org, or contact 
members of GETAC’s 
Education Committee: 
www.dshs.state.tx.us/
emstraumasystems/
EducationCommittee.pdf.
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Testing for 
NREMT? Take 
identification

Taking your NR 
exam at a Pearson VUE 
testing center? Make 
sure that the name 
on your identification 
matches exactly what 
the testing center has in 
its records. The name 
on the application must 
be the same as the legal 
name on the identification. 
NREMT reports that the 
most frequent reason 
students are turned away 
is that IDs do not match 
student information. 
NREMT recently renewed 
its contract with Pearson 
VUE to administer the 
exams. Based on the 
contract, NREMT projects 
no cost increases for the 
computer-based exams 
through 2016.

DSHS schedules 
“town hall” meetings

Want the latest updates 
on EMS from DSHS? Plan 
on attending one of the town 
hall meetings DSHS EMS is 
scheduling around the state. 
Hear about rules, instructor guidelines, 
approved instructor courses, national registry, 
accreditation and the EMS Agenda for the 
Future. DSHS will also conduct a question and 
answer session. Check the website for current 
locations and times, as additional meetings may 
be added.

Amarillo   March 24 
Harlingen  April 8th or 9th 
Tyler  April 15 
Midland  April 22 

List of stroke 
centers online

DSHS began 
designating stroke 
centers late last year 
and we’ve already got 
42 approved or pending 
facilities who have met 
the requirements for 
stroke designation. To 
find a list of the centers 
or other information 
about stroke 
designation, including 
an application, go to 
www.dshs.state.tx.us/
emstraumasystems/
etrauma.shtm.

First extremely drug-resistant 
TB identified

And here’s another reason 
to learn about respirators: The 
first case of a patient with 
extremely drug resistant TB 
(XXDR-TB) has appeared in 
the United States. Extremely 
drug resistant TB is much rarer 
than extensively drug resistant TB (XDR-TB) 
and has been seen in only a handful of 
patients worldwide. XXDR-TB is resistant to 
both first and second-line drugs for TB. In a 
related event, a patient with XDR-TB was 
able to board a cross-country flight recently 
even though he was on a federal “do not 
board” list. That list was created in 2007 to 
prevent the spread of contagious diseases 
like tuberculosis. Since then, 88 people 
have made the list, all of them infected with 
tuberculosis.  For the history of the list, go to 
the CDC’s website at www.cdc.gov/mmwr/
preview/mmwrhtml/mm5737a1.htm.
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It’s the law: Report abuse

EMS and first responders are in a unique position to help identify and report 
evidence of child abuse by the very nature of the services provided. But did you 
know that EMS personnel are required by law to report any suspected abuse 
encountered while on the job?

The following excerpt from the Health and Safety Code, Subtitle E, Chapter 
261, Subchapter B, regarding abuse reporting requirements details the specific 
mandate:

(b) If a professional has cause to believe that a child has been or may be 
abused or neglected, the professional shall make a report not later than 
the 48th hour after the hour the professional first suspects that the child 
has been or may be abused or neglected. In this subsection, “professional” 
means an individual who is licensed or certified by the state or who is 
an employee of a facility licensed, certified, or operated by the state, 
and who, in the normal course of official duties for which a license 
or certification is required, has direct contact with children. The term 
includes teachers, nurses, doctors, and day-care employees. (Ed. Note: A 
legal opinion includes EMS in this list.)

SEC.261.103. REPORT MADE TO APPROPRIATE AGENCY
A report shall be made to:
(1) any local or state law enforcement agency;
(2) the department (Texas Department of Protection and Regulatory 
Services);
(3) the state agency that operates, licenses, certifies, or registers the 
facility in which the alleged abuse or neglect occurred; or
(4) the agency designated by the court to be responsible for the protection 
of children.

There may be some misconceptions about a first responder’s responsibilities. The 
following list can help you determine the best course of action.

Myth: If one of the responding crew reports the suspicion of abuse, neglect or 
exploitation, that report covers everyone.

Fact: State law requires a report from anyone who has encountered the victim of 
abuse, neglect or exploitation. (Yes, this does mean that multiple reports will be 
made.)

Myth: I can report the abuse to the doctor.
Fact: While you may well want to report the suspicions to the doctor as part of your 

patient report, such a report does not meet the statutory requirements for a report 
to TDFPS or law enforcement.

Myth: The hospital social worker will take care of it.
Fact: Again, such a report does not remove your legal obligation to make a report to 

law enforcement and/or TDFPS.
Myth: I have to have concrete proof of abuse, neglect or exploitation before I can 

make a report.
Fact: Texas Family Code Chapter 261 and Texas Human Resources Code §48.051 et. 

seq requires a report when the reporter believes that abuse, neglect or exploitation 
has occurred.
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Busy hurricane 
season predicted

Two hurricane 
prediction centers have 
issued early season 
projections of more 
storms than last year — 
and more storms than 
an average tropical 

season. WSI, a private 
forecasting company, is 
forecasting 13 named 
storms (tropical storms and 
hurricanes), including three 
major hurricanes. A major 
hurricane is considered 
one of category 3 or higher, 
which is a storm with a 
sustained wind of at least 
131 mph. Colorado State 
University is forecasting 
11 to 16 named storms, 
including six to eight 
hurricanes and three to five 
major hurricanes. The 50-
year average is 9.6 named 
storms, 5.9 hurricanes, 
and 2.3 major hurricanes 
per year. This year’s 
predictions are pegged 
to El Nino, a weather 
phenomenon currently 
active and causing a 
colder and rainier winter, 
at least in Texas. El Nino is 
expected to decline during 
the upcoming summer. 
Here’s where it all comes 
together: When El Nino is 
present during a hurricane 
season, there are typically 
fewer storms. The season 
following an El Nino has 
historically had an average 
or above average number 
of storms.

New DSHS website debuts in March
It’s true we’ve been talking about a 

newly redesigned website since last fall, 
but this time the debut date is fairly firm. 
If  you log onto the DSHS website after 
March 24, you’ll see a completely new 
DSHS website. The OEMS/TS did not 
have a lot of  input on the design, so we can’t tell you what to 
expect. However, if  you have trouble navigating the new site 
or find something is missing from the EMS/trauma pages, just 
drop us a line and we’ll do our best to get it fixed.  

Parkland approves 
plans for new 
structure

Parkland Memorial 
Hospital in Dallas has plans 
to build a $1.27 billion 
facility to replace the current 
structure, built in 1954. The Level I trauma 
center is a public hospital, supported by tax 
dollars from Dallas County property owners. 
The hospital currently receives about one 
million patient visits per year, including a 
large number of trauma patients. The new 
facility will include an 862-bed, full service, 
17-story acute-care hospital that includes 
1.7 million square feet, an outpatient center 
of 380,000 square feet, a 275,000-square-
foot office center, parking for 6,000 vehicles, 
a utility plant and other support facilities. 
The new facility is scheduled to open in 
2014.

Looking for stories 
of saves!
Have you had a call that made a 
life-changing impact on a patient? 
We’re looking for stories of 
patients who survived the odds 

– thanks to EMS and the trauma system – and 
want to tell their story. Send your stories to Kelly 
Harrell at kelly.harrell@dshs.state.tx.us. Please 
give us the basic story plus the patient’s name and 
contact information. We’ll take care of the rest! 

Texas EMS Week
page 7

2009 Preconference 
Classes
page 16

Calls of a Lifetime
page 26

CE: Patient Consent 
page 32
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Coordinator Update 

On January 1, DSHS began 
federal background checks on all 
initial applicants (an individual who 
doesn’t currently have a Texas EMS 
certification). Now, in addition to 
the regular processing time of four 
to six weeks, applicants need to 
figure in the time it takes to undergo 
an FBI fingerprint criminal history 
check. (See page 30 for more information about 
the process.) Coordinators can help by encouraging 
students to submit their initial EMS certification 
applications early – ideally just after beginning 
the course. Once they submit their applications, 
students should submit their fingerprints through 
the Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas (FAST) 
for Texas/FBI criminal history check by L-1 Identity 
Solutions (www.L1id.com). By submitting the 
application and fingerprints early, the applicant 
will cut down on the processing time once the 
course is completed. An application is good for two 
years; once fingerprints are submitted, they do not 
need to be submitted to DSHS again. If DSHS has 
received the criminal history and the application, 
once we receive notification from the National 
Registry that the student passed their exam, staff 
should be able to complete the department’s 
certification process much more quickly. See our 
website for more information: www.dshs.state.tx.us/
emstraumasystems/CrimHxJan2010.shtm
 – Maxie Bishop, State EMS Director       

Governor 
appoints and 
reappoints 
GETAC members

The Governor’s Office 
notified the Office of  EMS/
Trauma Systems in February 
of  the following appointments 
to the Governor’s EMS and 
Trauma Advisory Council:

Vance L. Riley, LP
Victoria, Texas
Reappointed, term expires 

January 1, 2016
Representing fire chiefs
Will serve as GETAC chair

Donald G. Philips, DO
Weatherford, Texas
New appointment, term 

expires January 1, 2012
Representing medical directors

Michael Click, RN
Brownfield, Texas
Reappointed, term expires 

January 1, 2016
Representing rural trauma 

facilities

Linda Dickerson
New Braunfels, Texas
New appointment, term 

expires January 1, 2014
Representing general public

Exhibit hall hours changing … 
again

We heard you! The exhibit hall hours for 
Texas EMS Conference are sliding back 
to Tuesday. We won’t be shortening the 
number of  hours we’re open – you will 
still have 15 hours to peruse the exhibits, 
the same number you’ve had for years.

Sunday   2 – 7 pm
Monday  11 am – 6 pm
Tuesday  8  – 11 am


