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In the last issue of Texas EMS Magazine, 
we ran a long interview with Kathy Perkins, 
assistant commissioner for Regulatory Services. 
Perkins had started with DSHS before 
landmark legislation was passed in Texas that 
ultimately created the Texas EMS/Trauma 
System. The interview covered the nitty-gritty 
of how that system began with legislation in 
1989, to the first RACs and trauma facility 
designations a couple of years later, to the 
evolved EMS/trauma system we have today, but 
it left out one important component: Money.

So here is a short history of the EMS/
Trauma System that traces how funding has 
grown the system into what it is today. All 
funds listed below are subject to appropriation 
each legislative session, which means that even 
if funds collect in an account, the Legislature 
has to specify how much of the funds are to 
given to DSHS for the EMS/Trauma System. 

1989 Texas Legislature passes into law 
Chapter 773 of the Health and Safety Code, 
much of which is still in effect today. The 
governing body also passes the Omnibus Rural 
Health Care Rescue Act, which directed DSHS 
to develop a statewide trauma system, but 
no funding was provided. Trauma Technical 
Advisory Board is established. There was one 
staff member dedicated to the development of a 
trauma system.

Funding an EMS/Trauma System
1992 Rules pass the Texas Board of Health 

that divide state into 22 trauma service areas and 
the first RAC is established. There are still no 
dedicated funds for trauma system development; 
staffing funds come out of budget of the Bureau 
of Emergency Management (it became the Office 
of EMS/Trauma Systems Coordination when 
TDH became DSHS). There are two dedicated 
EMS/trauma system staff members at DSHS.

1997 Two million dollars is earmarked for 
the EMS and Trauma Care System Account from 
9-1-1 Surcharge Equalization Funds to be used 
for EMS, RACs and hospitals. (The surcharge, 
which used to be imposed on intrastate long 
distance service, is now imposed at the rate of 
$0.06 per line or connection, per month all 
voice-capable landline, wireless, and VoIP access 
lines that have 9-1-1 accessibility.) 

1999 Texas lawmakers pass HB 1676, 
which establishes the Permanent EMS and 
Trauma Care Tobacco Endowment. The fund 
accumulates interest from a $100 million dollar 
endowment from the state’s tobacco lawsuit 
settlement. The funds now are used for the 
Emergency Care Attendant Training (ECAT) 
program, Local Projects Grants and Regional 
EMS/Trauma Systems Development grants.

2003 The 78th Texas Legislature passed 
SB 1131 to establish the EMS, Trauma Facilities 
and Trauma Systems Fund and HB 3588, which 
established the Designated Trauma Facilities 
and Emergency Medical Services Account. SB 
1131 adds fees for drivers convicted of DWI. 
Like the 9-1-1 surcharge monies, these funds 
go to EMS providers (50 percent), RACs (20 
percent), and trauma facilities for uncompensated 
care (27 percent). HB 3588 created the “Driver 
Responsibility” Program, which adds surcharges 
to certain driving violations to fund designated 
trauma facilities, county and regional emergency 
medical services and trauma care systems. The 
funds are distributed by the following statutory 
formula: EMS providers (2 percent), RACs 
(1 percent) and designated trauma facilities 
(96 percent). This fund is also used to keep a 
$500,000 reserve in an Extraordinary Emergency 
Fund for communities who have suffered 
significant degradation to their emergency 
response system.


