
 

 
  

  

  

 

 

  

 

 
 

     
   

       
 

 
  

  

     
   

 
   

 
   

 
 

   
 

 

     
  

     

      
  

 
  

 

  
  

Texas Administrative Code
 

TITLE 25 HEALTH SERVICES 

PART 1 DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 

CHAPTER 157 EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE 

SUBCHAPTER C EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES TRAINING AND COURSE 

APPROVAL 

RULE §157.33 Certification 

(a) Certification requirements. A candidate for emergency medical services 
(EMS) certification shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 
(2) have a high school diploma or GED certificate: 

(A) the high school diploma must be from a school accredited by the 
Texas Education Agency (TEA) or a corresponding agency from another 

state. Candidates who received a high school education in another country 
must have their transcript evaluated by a foreign credentials evaluation 

service that attests to its equivalency. A home school diploma is acceptable; 

(B) an emergency care attendant (ECA) who provides emergency medical 
care exclusively as a volunteer for a licensed provider or registered FRO is 

exempt from paragraph (2) of this subsection. 
(3) have successfully completed a Department of State Health Services 

(department)-approved course; and 
(4) The candidate has completed a state approved jurisprudence 

examination to determine the knowledge on state EMS laws, rules, and 
policies. 

(5) submit an application, meeting the requirements in §157.3 of this title 
(relating to Processing EMS Provider Licenses and Applications for EMS 

Personnel Certification and Licensing), and the following nonrefundable fees 
as applicable: 

(A) $60 for emergency care attendant (ECA) or emergency medical 
technician (EMT); 

(B) $90 for AEMT or EMT-paramedic (EMT-P); and 

(C) EMS volunteer--no fee. However, if such an individual receives 
compensation during the certification period, the exemption ceases and the 

individual shall pay a prorated fee to the department based on the number 
of years remaining in the certification period when employment begins. The 

nonrefundable fee for ECA or EMT certification shall be $15 per each year 
remaining in the certification. The nonrefundable fee for AEMT or EMT-P 

shall be $22.50 per each year remaining in the certification. Any portion of 
a year will count as a full year; 

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=2&ti=25
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=3&ti=25&pt=1
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=4&ti=25&pt=1&ch=157
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=25&pt=1&ch=157&sch=C&rl=Y


   

 
 

   
  

 
  

  
  

  
    

 
    

 
    

 

   
 

 
   

   
 

 
   

     
  

 
     

 
 

     

 
 

 
  

 
 

  
 

  
    

 
 

(6) provide evidence of current active or inactive National Registry 
certification at the appropriate level. National Registry First Responder 

certification is considered the appropriate corresponding certification level 
for an ECA; and 

(7) submit fingerprints through the state approved fingerprinting service 
to undergo an FBI fingerprint criminal history check. 

(b) Length of certification. A candidate who meets the requirements of 
subsection (a) of this section shall be certified for four years beginning on 

the date of issuance of a certificate and wallet-size certificate. A candidate 
must verify current certification before staffing an EMS vehicle. Certification 

may be verified by the applicant’s receipt of the official department 
identification card, by using the department’s certification website. 

(c) Scheduling authority for certification examinations. 
(1) Examinations shall be administered at regularly scheduled times in 

various locations across the state. 
(2) The candidate shall be responsible for making appropriate 

arrangements for the examination. 

(3) The department is not required to set special examination schedules 
for a single candidate or for a specific group of candidates. 

(d) Time limits for completing requirements. 
(1) An initial candidate for certification shall complete all requirements for 

certification no later than two years after the candidate's course completion 
date. The application will expire two years from the date the mailed 

application is postmarked, or the date a faxed, online submission or hand-
delivered application is received at the department. 

(A) The National Registry certification described in subsection (a)(5) of 
this section must remain current until the final requirement for state 

certification is met. 
(B) The applicant shall update the application if any changes occur 

between the time of original submission and the time the final requirement 
for certification is met. 

(2) A candidate who does not complete all requirements for certification 

within two years of the candidate's initial course completion date must meet 
the requirements of subsection (a) of this section, including the completion 

of another initial course to achieve certification. 
(e) Non-transferability of certificate. A certificate is not transferable. A 

duplicate certificate may be issued if requested with a nonrefundable fee of 
$10. 

(f) A candidate may apply for a lower level than the level of National 
Registry certification held. 

(g) Voluntary downgrades. 
(1) An individual who holds a current Texas EMS certification or paramedic 

license may be certified at a lower level voluntarily for the remainder of the 
certification period by submitting an application for the lower level 



 
 

  
 

  
 

 
  

 
  

 
  

   
  

  
   

 

   
      

 

 
 

     

 
 

     

  
 

   

 
 

  

    
 

 
     

 

certification and the applicable nonrefundable fee as required in subsection 
(a)(4) of this section. 

(2) On the date the downgrade is final, the previous higher level of 
certification/license shall be surrendered. To regain the original higher level 

of certification, the candidate shall follow late recertification procedures 
according to §157.34(d) of this title (relating to Recertification), within one 

year after the surrender date. 
(h) Inactive certification. A certified EMT, AEMT, or EMT-P may make 

application to the department for inactive certification at any time during 
the certification period or within one year after the certificate expiration 

date. 
(1) The request for inactive certification shall be accompanied by a 

nonrefundable fee of $30 in addition to the regular nonrefundable fee in 
subsection (a)(4)(A) and (B) of this section. If the final requirement is 

completed during the one-year period after expiration, the application fees 
listed in §157.34(d) of this title will be required. Volunteers are not exempt 

from inactive fees. 

(2) Period of inactive certification. 
(A) The inactive certification period shall begin upon date of issuance of 

the notice of inactive certification and remain in effect until the end of the 
original active certification period for those candidates who are currently 

certified. The candidate's active certification is surrendered upon issuance of 
the notice of inactive certification. 

(B) If the candidate is within the final year of active certification and 
chooses to renew with inactive certification, the inactive certification begins 

on the first day after the expiration of the current active certificate and shall 
remain in effect for four years. 

(C) If the candidate applies during and/or completes the final 
requirement for inactive certification within one year after the expiration of 

active certification, the inactive certification period shall remain in effect for 
four years from the date of issuance of the notice of inactive certification. 

(3) While on inactive certification, a person shall not practice other than to 

act as a bystander rendering first aid or cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR) or the use of an Automated External Defibrillator in the capacity of a 

layperson. Practicing in any other capacity for compensation or as a 
volunteer shall be cause for denial of reentry and decertification. 

(4) An individual shall not simultaneously hold inactive and active 
certification. 

(i) Reciprocity. 
(1) A person who is currently certified by the National Registry but did not 

complete a department-approved course may apply for the equal or lower 
level Texas certification by submitting a reciprocity application and a 

nonrefundable fee of $120. 



     
   

 
    

  
       

 
   

       
 

 
    

 
 

     
 

 

     
      

 
 

    
 

    
 

 
     

       
 

   
       

  

 
   

   
 

  
    

 
       

 
      

 

(A) Applicants holding National Registry AEMT certification may be 
required to submit written verification of proficiency of AEMT skills from an 

approved education program. 
(B) National Registry first responder certification is not eligible for 

reciprocity at the ECA level. 
(C) A candidate will not be eligible for reciprocity if the National Registry 

certification expires prior to the completion of all requirements for 
certification as listed in this section. 

(D) A candidate who meets the requirements of this section shall be 
certified for four years beginning on the date of issuance of a certificate and 

wallet-size certificate. 
(E) The candidate has completed a state approved jurisprudence 

examination to determine the knowledge on state EMS laws, rules, and 
policies. 

(2) A person currently certified by another state may apply for equal or 
lower level Texas certification by submitting a reciprocity application and a 

nonrefundable fee of $120. 

(A) The candidate must pass the National Registry assessment exam. 
(B) Applicants holding AEMT out-of-state certification must submit 

written proof of proficiency on all of the AEMT skills signed by a Texas 
certified EMS coordinator or instructor. 

(C) All applicants shall submit fingerprints through the state approved 
fingerprinting service to undergo an FBI fingerprint criminal history check. 

(D) The applicant has completed a state approved jurisprudence 
examination to determine the knowledge on state EMS laws, rules, and 

policies. 
(E) Reciprocity is not allowed for the ECA level. 

(F) A candidate will not be eligible for reciprocity if the out-of-state 
certification expires prior to the completion of all requirements for 

certification as listed in this section. 
(G) A candidate who meets the requirements of this section shall be 

certified for four years beginning on the date of issuance of a certificate and 

wallet-size certificate. 
(3) Personnel receiving department issued certification through reciprocity 

must recertify prior to the expiration of the certificate by following the 
requirements in §157.34 of this title. 

(j) Equivalency. 
(1) Candidates meeting the following criteria may apply for certification 

only through the equivalency process as described in this subsection: 
(A) an individual who completed EMS training outside the United States 

or its possessions; 
(B) an individual who is certified or licensed in another healthcare 

discipline; 



     
 

          
 

     
      

  
  

     
 

  
    

 
       

    
    

 

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
   

 
 

    

 

    
    

  
 

    
 

   
 

 

(C) an individual whose department issued EMS certification or license 
has been expired for more than one year; or 

(D) an individual who has held department issued inactive certification 
for more than four years. 

(2) A candidate applying for certification by equivalency shall: 
(A) submit a copy of the curriculum and work history completed by the 

candidate to a regionally accredited post secondary institution approved by 
the department to sponsor an EMS education program for its review; 

(B) obtain a course completion document that verifies that the program 
is satisfied that all curriculum requirements have been met. Evaluations of 

curricula conducted by post secondary educational institutions under this 
subsection shall be consistent with the institution’s established policies and 

procedures for awarding credit by transfer or advanced placement; 
(C) the candidate may then apply for initial certification with the 

department as described in subsection (a) of this section; and 
(D) The applicant has completed a state approved jurisprudence 

examination to determine the knowledge on state EMS laws, rules, and 

policies. 
(k) For all applications and renewal applications, the department is 

authorized to collect subscription and convenience fees, in amounts 
determined by the Texas Online Authority, to recover costs associated with 

application and renewal application processing through Texas Online. 
(l) Responsibilities of the EMS personnel. During the license period, the EMS 

Personnel responsibilities shall include: 
(1) making accurate, complete and/or clearly written patient care reports 

including documenting a patient’s condition upon the EMS personnel’s 
arrival at the scene and patient’s status during transport, including signs, 

symptoms, and responses during duration of transport as per EMS 
provider’s approved policy; 

(2) reporting to the employer, appropriate legal authority or the 
department, of abuse or injury to a patient or the public within 24 hours or 

the next business day after the event; 

(3) following the approved medical director’s protocol and policies; 
(4) taking precautions to prevent the misappropriation of medications, 

supplies, equipment, personal items, or money belonging to the patient, 
employer or any person or entity; 

(5) maintaining skill and knowledge to perform the duties or meet the 
responsibilities required of current level of EMS certification; and 

(6) notifying the department of a current and/or valid mailing address 
within 30 days of any changes. 



  
 

 

 

Source Note: The provisions of this §157.33 adopted to be effective 
August 31, 2006, 31 TexReg 6739; amended to be effective February 12, 

2017, 42 TexReg 430 


