Certification Policy 03-A, Application Eligibility Period for
EMT, EMT-l and Paramedic Levels

October 2002

Background: Utilizing the National Registry (NR) exam as the state exam requires candidates who
complete a Texas-approved course to follow EMS certification rules and NR guidelines. Until EMS
rules can be revised to coincide with NR guidelines, we will follow this policy when considering
eligibility for state EMS certification.

Statute Reference: HSC §773.050. Minimum Standards

Rule Reference: 8§157.33 (d) Time limits for completing requirements.

(1) A candidate shall complete all requirements for certification no later than one year after the
candidate's course completion date.

(2) A candidate who does not complete all requirements for certification within one year of the
candidate's initial course completion date must meet the requirements of subsection (a) of this section
including the completion of another initial course to achieve certification.

Policy: Initial Application Eligibility Period

1.) State Application Eligibility Date- will be 2 years from course completion date for applicants
completing a Texas-approved course and taking the National Registry exam. Applicants completing
the state exam process will continue to have one year from course completion date to complete
testing and achieve state certification.

2.) State Application Definition and Duration

(a) Application = completed current EMS state certification application form submitted to the
department.

(b) Applications from applicants taking the NR exam are considered eligible for two years past
the postmark (submission) date or course completion date when available. Course
completion date will always override the postmark date.

(c) If the course completion date is over two years old at the time all requirements for state
certification have been met, the applicant will have to apply for NR reciprocity. The state
certification expiration date will be 4 years from the calculated NR issue date. This will
require submitting another state application form and fee, if applicable.

3.) It will be the applicant’s responsibility to meet all EMS rules and NR guidelines in order to achieve
state certification, i.e. NR guidelines state, the passed portion of the examination, either written or
practical, will remain valid for a 12 month period from the date of the examination.

Beginning February 1, 2003, this policy will be applied to advanced level applicants who have completed a
Texas-approved course.
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