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Texas law (Texas Health and Safety Code § 81.090) requires physicians or others permitted by law to attend a woman during 
pregnancy or at delivery to test her for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), syphilis, and hepatitis B virus (HBV). She 
must be tested for HIV, syphilis, and HBV at her first prenatal visit. She must be tested for HIV and syphilis during the third 
trimester, at 28 weeks or later. She must also be tested for syphilis and HBV at delivery as well as HIV if there is no record 
of HIV testing during third trimester. Expedited HIV testing of infants at delivery is also required if a mother’s results are 
undetermined.

Time of Test Perinatal Tests Required by Texas Law

First Prenatal Visit • HIV, HBV, and syphilis test required

Third Trimester • HIV test required
• Syphilis test required at 28 weeks or later1

Delivery • Expedited HIV test required if no third trimester result2

• Syphilis test required
• HBV test required

Newborn Tests • Expedited HIV test2 required if no record of third trimester or delivery result

1	 CDC recommends testing between weeks 28 and 32. Treatment should begin 30 days before delivery for optimal results.
2	 Expedited test. Test must be expedited and result obtained < 6 hours. For newborn test, blood must be drawn < 2 hours after birth.

Pregnancy Stage Additional Recommended Perinatal Tests and Precautions1

First Prenatal Visit • Chlamydia and gonorrhea screening for women under 25 years and older wom-
en at increased risk2

• Retest 3-4 weeks after treatment for chlamydia

Third Trimester • Chlamydia test for women under 25 years and older women at increased risk2

• Gonorrhea test for women at increased risk2

Newborn
Vaccinations and
Precautions

• First of three HBV vaccinations is given
•	Required prophylaxis to prevent ophthalmia neonatorum (conjunctivitis 

sometimes caused by gonorrhea or chlamydia bacteria)
•	Evaluation of the infant exposed to syphilis as recommended by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Treatment Guidelines3

1	 Recommendations from the CDC and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecology (ACOG).
2	 Increased risk means new or multiple sex partners, sex partner with concurrent partners, or sex partners who have an STD.
3	 Born to mothers with reactive non-treponemal/treponemal labs: Quantitative nontreponemal serologic test (RPR or VDRL) performed on the neonate’s serum.

Why test pregnant women?

Testing and treatment for HIV, syphilis, and HBV prevents infected infants. Left untested and untreated, a mother with HIV 
has about a 25 percent chance of transmitting HIV to her unborn child. When pregnant women with HIV are diagnosed 
and provided with appropriate care and treatment, including treatment for the newborn, the HIV transmission rate can be 
reduced to 2 percent or less. Even when medicine is not started until labor and delivery, transmission rates are reduced to 10 
percent.

Therapy includes antiretroviral medicine as well as cesarean delivery for women with high HIV viral loads (>1,000 copies/ml). 
Testing and treatment also decreases rates of syphilis and HBV infection. Perinatal syphilis screening allowed Texas clinicians 
to identify 367 cases of congenital syphilis in 2018, enabling them to provide 
treatment and follow up. For infants born to women with infectious HBV, 70-95 
percent will not be infected if they receive HBV vaccine and treatment within 
12 hours of delivery.
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https://www.cdc.gov/std/tg2015/congenital.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/std/tg2015/congenital.htm
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Perinatal Hotline 
Call 888-448-8765 for free 24-hour 
clinical consultation and advice on 

treating HIV-infected pregnant women 
and their infants as well as indications 

and interpretations of rapid and 
standard HIV testing in pregnancy.

Records Retention 
Clinicians must retain a report of each 
client case for nine months and deliver 
the report to any successor in the case.

Confidential Test 
A confidential test means the test 

result is in the medical record.

Anonymous Test 
An anonymous test means that the 

patient’s name is not used.

Visit gettested.cdc.gov  
to find an HIV or STD testing site.

Call 211 or (800) CDCINFO  
to find an HIV/AIDS service provider in 
Texas or locate other patient resources.

Texas HIV Medication Program 
Refer patients unable to pay for HIV 

medications to (800) 255-1090.

TDSHS HIV/STD Program

(512) 533-3000 
www.dshs.texas.gov/hivstd
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Consent and Information Distribution

Before testing a patient for HIV, syphilis, or HBV, the clinician must 
inform the woman that the tests will be performed unless she objects 
(HIV only). Separate consent forms are not required and verbal 
notification is acceptable. Most women give consent to be tested.

If a woman objects, the clinician should refer her to an anonymous HIV 
testing site. In addition to the referral, the clinician can discuss testing 
with the patient. Women refuse testing for different reasons. Listen to 
the patient and provide information about risk factors, advantages of 
testing, ease of testing, and HIV-related resources if the result is positive. 
A clinician cannot test a woman for HIV without consent. Medical 
records should reflect that the test was explained to the patient and she 
consented.

All women, regardless of consent, must receive printed materials about 
HIV, syphilis, and HBV. Materials must include information about disease 
transmission and prevention, frequency, infection consequences for 
the child, and available treatment. When possible, material should be 
provided in a language and literacy level patients understand.

Appropriate materials are available in English and Spanish from the 
Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS). Medical records 
should also note the patient received printed materials.

Positive HIV Test Results

If a woman receives a preliminary positive HIV result for an expedited 
test at labor and delivery, CDC and ACOG recommend starting 
prophylaxis treatment for the woman and her infant. When a pregnant 
woman has HIV, syphilis, or HBV, the clinician must provide disease-
specific treatment information she can understand. The clinician may 
also refer her to another clinic for appropriate treatment.

Clinicians must provide the opportunity for individual, face-to-face 
counseling to each pregnant woman with a positive HIV test result 
immediately upon revealing her test results.

Post-test HIV counseling must include the:

•	 Meaning of the test result;
•	 Possible need for additional testing;
•	 Measures to prevent transmission of HIV;
•	 Benefits of partner notification;
•	 Availability of confidential partner notification services through local 

public health departments; and
•	 Availability of health care services, including mental health social and 

support services, in the area where the patient lives (refer patients to 
211).

Post-test HIV counseling should:

•	 Increase understanding of HIV infection;
•	 Explain potential need for confirmatory testing;
•	 Explain ways to change behavior to prevent HIV transmission;
•	 Encourage the patient to seek appropriate medical care; and
•	 Encourage the patient to notify her sex or needle-sharing partners or 

access partner notification services.

For more information, additional resources and a list of free patient 
education materials, please visit www.dshs.texas.gov/hivstd/info/
pregnancy.shtm.

http://gettested.cdc.gov
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/hivstd
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/hivstd/info/pregnancy.shtm
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/hivstd/info/pregnancy.shtm

