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May 17, 2016

Dear Texas Vaccines for Children Provider,

Effective immediately, the maximum administration fee that the Texas Vaccines for Children
(TVFEC) providers may charge an eligible TVFC patient who does not have Medicaid or
Children’s Health Insurance (CHIP) coverage will be up to the maximum of $14.85 per dose.

Children (0-18 years of age) who are enrolled in Medicaid as their secondary insurance are
eligible to receive TVFC vaccines. As stated in the Medicaid Provider Manual, providers should
bill their usual and customary fee except for vaccines obtained from the TVFC Program.
Providers may not charge Medicaid clients for the vaccine received from the TVFC Program.
Providers may charge a usual and customary fee not to exceed $14.85 for vaccine administration
when providing immunizations to a client eligible for the TVFC vaccines. Providers are
reimbursed the lesser of the billed amount or the maximum allowable fee.

As stated in the Vaccines for Children (VFC) Operations Guide, the state Medicaid agency may
have the discretion to pay an administration fee up to the regional maximum amount. A provider
must not charge a vaccine administration fee to non-Medicaid VFC-eligible children that exceeds
the administration fee cap of $14.85 per dose. For Medicaid VFC-eligible children, the provider
must accept the reimbursement for immunization administration set by the state Medicaid agency
or the contracted Medicaid health plans.

For more information on Medicaid reimbursement, please refer to the Texas Medicaid Provider
Manual located at:
http://www.tmhp.com/TMPPM/TMPPM _Living_Manual_Current/\VVol2_Children's_Services H

andbook.pdf.

Children (0-18 years of age) who are enrolled in CHIP are eligible to receive TVFC vaccines,
however TVFC providers must bill CHIP for the administration of a vaccine to a CHIP-enrolled
child. For more information on CHIP reimbursement, please refer to the CHIP Provider Manual
located at:

http://www.texaschildrenshealthplan.org/sites/default/files/Provider%20Manual.pdf.

Vaccines are required to be administered to all TVFC eligible children and service cannot be
denied due to the parent’s or guardian’s inability to pay the administration fee. A TVFC
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provider may not send a parent or guardian to collections. A TFVC provider may not charge
penalties for the inability to pay administration fees.

For additional information on the Vaccines for Children (VFC) statutory requirements for the
VFC Program regarding the vaccine administration fee, please go to the following Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) link:
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/programs/vfc/providers/index.html.

Thank you for your continued support of the TVFC Program. If you have any questions, please
contact the appropriate Department of State Health Services, Health Service Region listed below.

PINS Beginning Health Service Phone
With Region Number
1 HSR 1 806-783-6412
2 HSR 2 325-795-5660
3 HSR 3 817-264-4790
04 or 05 not in Hardin, _Jefferson or HSR 4/5N 903-533-5310
Orange Counties
05 in Hardin, Jefferson or Orange
Counties, 06 or 25 HSR 6/5S 713-767-3410
7 HSR 7 254-778-6744
08 or 00 HSR 8 210-949-2067
9 HSR 9 432-571-4137
10 HSR 10 915-834-7924
11 HSR 11 956-421-5552
Sincerely,
Barbara Vassell

Manager, Vaccine Operations Group
Immunization Branch
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