Texas Antibiotic Resistance Laboratory Network


Antibiotic Resistance Laboratory Network

Group Pic 

In the fall of 2016, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) launched the Antibiotic Resistance Laboratory Network (ARLN) to transform national laboratory infrastructure and combat antibiotic resistance. The ARLN is a comprehensive laboratory capacity network consisting of seven CDC-designated regional laboratories, state public health laboratories, hospital and other healthcare facility laboratories. This extensive network is working to generate enhanced testing capabilities for faster detection of antibiotic resistance (AR) and improved public health response.

The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Laboratory in Austin, Texas has been designated as the ARLN regional laboratory for the Mountain Region, which includes Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas. As part of this initiative, Texas DSHS was funded to assist the Mountain Region with species identification, phenotypic and molecular characterization, colonization screening, and antimicrobial susceptibility testing for select microorganisms.


Texas ARLN Laboratory Testing  

Texas HAI Investigation Team 
ARLN Mountain Region States


ARLN Mountain Region Meeting


Facility Security Agreement

User Agreement

Submitter ID Request

For additional information: TexasARLN@dshs.texas.gov  


Testing Offered 

  • Carbapenem-Resistant Pseudomonas aeruginosa (CRPA) 
  • Carbapenem-Resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE)
  • CRE Colonization
  • Extended Spectrum Beta-Lactamases (ESBL)
  • Carbapenem-Resistant Acinetobacter baumanii (CRAB)
  • Drug-Resistant Neisseria Gonorrhoeae
  • Candida species

Last updated August 16, 2018