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Equipment Performance Evaluations Guidance for Service Companies 

 
SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

 
The Department of State Health Services (the Agency) regulates the use of 

x-ray equipment as identified in Chapter 401 of the Texas Health and Safety 
Code. Persons who are in the business of providing radiation machine 

services are subject to the provisions of 25 Texas Administrative Code as 
specified on their Certificate of Registration with the Agency. 

 
This document provides guidance to service companies registered with the 

Agency to ensure compliance with the Equipment Performance Evaluation 
(EPE) requirements outlined in §289.226(o)(5). 

 
§289.226(o) Responsibilities of assemblers and/or installers. 

 (5) Equipment performance evaluations shall be performed as follows: 

 (A) on all medical, chiropractic or podiatric radiation machines 
within 30 days after the initial installation, re-installation, and after 

repair of a machine component that would affect the radiation output 
that includes but is not limited to the timer, tube, power supply, and 

thereafter, in accordance with §289.227(o)(1) of this title; and  
  (B) on all dental radiation machines and radiation machines used 

in veterinary medicine within 30 days after the initial installation, re-
installation, and after repair of a machine component that would affect 

the radiation output that includes but is not limited to the timer, tube, 
and power supply, and thereafter, in accordance with §289.232(i)(7) 

and §289.233(i)(5)(N) of this title. 
 

(Complete rules can be found at https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/x-
ray/laws-rules.aspx) 

 

Registrants using radiation machines in the healing arts, dental, and 
veterinary medicine are also held to EPE requirements outlined in §289.227, 

§289.232, and §289.233. The intent of the EPE rule for service companies is 
to ensure compliance for the health and safety of the general public and 

radiation workers. Although the facility and the service company are jointly 
responsible for ensuring compliance, only one EPE needs to be performed as 

outlined in the rule.  
 

 

https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/x-ray/laws-rules.aspx
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/x-ray/laws-rules.aspx
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Installation/reinstallation of a radiation machine: 

 
An Equipment Performance Evaluation (EPE) is due within 30 days of the 

installation date. 
 

The Agency suggests the following:  
 

 Discuss the EPE requirement with the facility during the purchase 

phase of a new unit and document who will perform the EPE. 
 

 Obtain the contact information for a person at the facility with 
signature authority.  

 
 If a facility refuses your services for an EPE, notification of the EPE 

requirement and refusal by the facility should be documented and 
signed by the most responsible party at the time of the installation – 

preferably the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO). If the RSO is not 
available, a copy of the signed refusal can be emailed to the RSO by 

the service company. 
 

 A service company should be able to provide documentation upon 
request that a facility has declined their involvement in obtaining an 

EPE. If a service company is unable to obtain a refusal signature at the 

time of installation, it will need to provide evidence of due diligence in 
notifying the facility that an EPE is due within 30 days of installation.  

 
 

Repair of a Radiation Machine: 
 

An Equipment Performance Evaluation (EPE) is due within 30 days after 
repair of a machine component that would affect the radiation output that 

includes but is not limited to the timer, tube, and/or power supply. 
 

The Agency suggests the following:  
 

 Service notes should document clearly whether the repair affects the 
radiation output (e.g. replacement of FDA certified components). 

 

 If the repair has possibly affected the radiation output of the unit, 
document that facility was notified that their physicist needs to 

determine if an EPE is required (see installation guidance above 
regarding recommended signatures and documentation). 
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FAQs 

 
Is a physicist required for dental/veterinary EPEs? 

No, EPEs of dental and veterinary equipment does not require involvement 
of a physicist. These EPEs can be performed by a service company qualified 

to do so.  
 

What is the penalty for an EPE violation? 

The initial violation for not performing an EPE within 30 days of 
installation/repair is a Severity Level III violation, which typically does not 

incur an administrative penalty. Repeat violations may be subject to 
elevation of severity level, which may incur an administrative penalty. For 

more information about administrative penalties and violation severity 
levels, refer to §289.205(j)-(k)  

https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/x-ray/laws-rules.aspx 
 

What needs to be documented on the repair notes of a radiation machine? 
The current regulations do not require documentation but it is recommended 

that the service ticket documentation of the service performed is sufficient 
enough for a physicist to be able to determine if an EPE is required.  

 
My company does work for a large hospital system that employs their own 

physicists to complete their EPEs. Can I obtain a blanket refusal? 

Yes. You may obtain a signed letter from the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) 
that they assume responsibility for obtaining an EPE for any installations 

and/or repairs over a given time frame. It is recommended to review this 
statement periodically to ensure the RSO has not changed. The statement 

must be available to the Agency upon request.  
 

What if the RSO is unavailable at the time of service? 
You may work with the most responsible party available at the time of the 

installation.  
 

What if the customer refuses to name their RSO? 
Every registrant must name an RSO in order to obtain a Certificate of 

Registration from the Agency. This information is public record and can be 
obtained directly from the Agency through an open records request. 

Information about open records requests can be found at:  

https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/open-records.aspx 
 

Can an assembler/installer determine if an EPE is needed? 
An EPE is required following all new installations or re-installations. Whether 

or not an EPE is necessary following a repair should be determined by a 
licensed medical physicist.  

 

https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/x-ray/laws-rules.aspx
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/open-records.aspx
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FAQs Continued 

 
How can a facility locate a licensed medical physicist? 

As the intent of the rule is for the installer to have a role in the completion of 
an EPE, it is recommended that manufacturers develop a list of licensed 

medical physicists  by consulting with The American Association of Physicists 
(www.aapm.org), the Texas Medical Board (www.tmb.state.tx.us), or 

physicists affiliated with local hospitals. 

 
What if a customer in unresponsive to communication regarding EPEs? 

It is recommended that you retain documentation of your attempts to 
contact the customer to provide to the Agency upon request. 

http://www.aapm.org/
http://www.tmb.state.tx.us/

