
 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

   
 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
  

Texas Department of State Health Services 

Animal Control Officer Training 


Basic Course Description
 

The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Zoonosis Control (ZC) offers a 
Basic Animal Control Officer (ACO) Training Courses.  The cost of attending a course is 
$75.00 per student. There is a revised (January 2014) training manual that supports the 
basic training. This manual can be ordered directly from a Regional ZC Office at a cost of 
$40.00. 

The ACO training course and manual are designed to assist the animal control profession 

and to advance the knowledge, techniques, ethics, and attitudes of its members. 


Chapters covered in the revised 2014 manual include: 

• History and Philosophy • Sanitation 
• Animal Identification • Animal Health 
• Capture and Handling • Rabies 
• Animal Transportation • Records 
• Animal Impoundment • Communication Skills 
• Disposition of Animals • Court Conduct 
• Controlled Substances • Animal Cruelty Investigations 
• Shelter Safety • Laws 

Please read this entire document to be fully aware of the course fees associated with 
the manual and course attendance before registering for a course. 

BASIC TRAINING COURSE 

The ACO Basic Training Course consists of lectures, presentations, and demonstrations of 
selected topics by ZC personnel and guest speakers.  A presentation on head removal and 
rabies specimen submission is a part of all basic courses.  Basic course students are 
responsible for material covered in the presentations, demonstrations, and the manual's basic 
chapters and laws. 

Basic Course Prerequisites - Enrollment will be based on space availability. 

Basic course testing consists of two written multiple-choice tests containing general and legal 
questions. In order to satisfactorily complete the basic course, students must achieve a 
grade of 70 or greater on each of the written tests, plus attend the complete course. 

ACO TRAINING MANUAL 

It is strongly recommended that students thoroughly study the ACO Training Manual prior to 
attending a basic course. A student will have difficulty passing the course tests without 
studying the manual. 

Cost of the manual is $40.00. Order forms, plus information on obtaining a manual, are 



 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

available through the ZC Regional Offices or at 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/idcu/health/zoonosis/education/training/aco/manual/. 

APPLICATION FORM 

Information pertaining to upcoming courses and an Application Form are available directly 
through the ZC Regional Offices. Please keep a form on file so that application to a course 
can be made at any time. Cost of attending a course is $75.00 per student.  Information 
on how to submit payment will be provided by the ZC Regional Office in the acceptance letter 
if you are approved to attend the course. 

Do not submit payment with the Application Form. 

A course schedule is available at 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/idcu/health/zoonosis/education/training/aco/courses/. 

By registering for a course, you are acknowledging that you are aware of the course 
attendance fee. 

TCOLE CREDITS 

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) has approved DSHS ACO Training 
Courses for 12 hours of accredited training. 
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